ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1997 Mercury Sable

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 324 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

solid performer

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

""I bought my 1997 sable in 2006, as a second vehicle for my son. . It has started without any problems on these cold mornings and the heater works awesome. It's roomy and comfortable and the ride is smooth. I was surprised at all the technical engineering that went into the car such as struts in the rear gives it a real solid road hugging feal. Inside is very quiet...cant hear the motor purring. Lots of power from the 3.0l v6 even at 2 valves. Very responsive steering. I would definitely buy another sable!""

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good Cars with bad Trans

By on Sunday, February 8, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned two '99 sables. one was perfect through 150,000 till I sold it, and the other had a transmission problem at 115,000 miles. 2nd gear started shifting hard. Headlight lens get dull and work poorly. other than that I like the car."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Long lasting, durable and not expensive to own.

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have owned vehicle for 11 of it's 12 years. Other than standard maintenance ( tires, brakes, and shocks) have not really spent a ton of money on it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Monday, October 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1996 Sable in 1999 with 25,000 miles on it. I had it for 9 years then the motor failed last week with 230,003 miles. I got more than my money's worth. It serve me for 7 years and my college age son for 2. My largest maintenance was replacing the alternator about 2 yrs ago. Plenty of room. I have a tall family (5'10" +) never felt cramped. Smooth ride. 26mpg avg. Hope newer models are as good."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, February 3, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

"This was my second car the I got on a trade-in. It had a prior salvage title (they had done work on the doors) and had 96,000 miles. I never had a problem with it (besides the 6-disc changer jamming up occasionally), it was a good car for my long commute. However I moved out to Los Angeles and ended up rear-ending someone at 25MPH. I had to replace the windshield and radiator, and 2 months later started having transmission problems. It started lurching when upshifting and downshifting and the overdrive went out. It got me back to Des Moines when I moved again, but got worse and started stauling out and lurching when I shifted in reverse. I know a lot of Ford/Mercury transmission go out, so I don't know if the accident sped it up or was the sole cause of it"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Sable near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.