ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Chevrolet S10 Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 1377 Ratings for the 1994 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 276 | Next

Best vehicle I've ever owned.

By on Monday, November 28, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good gas mileage, dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Still running strong at 170,000 miles and the AC is still blowing cold air...in Florida...with no work done to it. I used it in my daily commute 25 miles each way for 11 years, plus to my farm 60 miles each way on weekends, hauling hand tools, etc."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

The Best Truck For The Money

By on Monday, February 13, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 235,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fast, reliable, easy to maintain, comfortable"

Cons: "interior quality"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have a 1995 S10 with 235,000 miles, been driving it daily since 1999. Its a base model regular cab with 4.3 TBI V6 engine, manual transmission and 4x4 with manual shift transfer case. This is certainly one of the best values you can get in a truck. The parts are very inexpensive and easy to find and its fairly easy to work on. Its a fast truck with the V6 engine. Modern trucks are a complete joke in comparison. New trucks are catered to middle aged women to haul child seats and groceries. The weak spots would be the cooling system, Ive replaced the heater core twice. The interior is not the best quality, lots of cheap hard plastic. The suspension on the base model is weak and mushy. I fixed this by adding an extra leaf to the springs and stiffer shocks, it handles great now."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, October 30, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Good little truck.

By on Friday, August 12, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 128,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "OEM parts+fuel cost, dependability, multi-purposed"

Cons: "2.2L engine,height,p.steering pump(noisey),bench"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I got my 98' second-hand from my grandfather with 101k. He/I were lucky to get it off a guy from Arizona, so it had the first 10 years with no salt+snow. Overall, they're really pretty good little trucks if you keep up with the maintenance. As other's have stated, you can abuse them hauling and towing for a long time before they give out. I replaced the clutch myself a couple years back (which I'll never on an S10 again), and just did all the wear-and-tear stuff this summer: battery, break+fuel lines, pads+rotors, power-steering pump w/rack+pinion, first replaced cat., 2nd muffler, and cab-corners, and 4-goodyear's; ~$1200 (w/o clutch) in work all said and done, but it ought to go another 8 years without question. Would definitely recommend it to someone that doesn't mind working on their own vehicles and is prepared to work a 2.2L. If you treat it right it'll repay you many, many times over what a "newer," full-size truck could ever do with the same money invested."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Fun to drive, good gas mileage and plenty of power. Mine's a 2 wheel drive with a five speed. Sometimes I miss the four wheel drive in the winter."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 276 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Chevrolet S10 Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.