To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.

2016 Volvo XC90 Consumer Reviews

The Fair Market Range for this car in your area is $46,053 - $49,216.

look up another car

Look Up Another Car

See this week's price for a:
Go

e.g. Honda e.g. Accord

Alert: Your internet browser is out of date Upgrade to the latest version to get the most out of KBB.com
MSRP $50,795

Fair Purchase Price $47,635
Fair Market Range ($46,053 - $49,216)

Invoice $47,807

Upgrade your browser for free to get the most out of KBB.com

Looks like your Internet Explorer (IE) is out of date. For better performance, stability and security, we recommend upgrading to a newer version of IE or trying out a new browser.

Click on an icon below to access that browser�s download page.

  • Internet Explorer

  • Firefox

  • Google Chrome

Valid for ZIP code 96801 through 03/30/2017

Advertisement
Advertisement

KBB Expert Rating 9.4 of 10

10/9.4

Buyer's Resources

Calculate your monthly payment
Advertisement
Advertisement

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 9 Ratings for the 2016 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    9.4/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10

Outstanding vehicle in almost every respect

By on Sunday, October 30, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Outstanding in ride, interior and exterior styling"

Cons: "A few software bugs - successfully resolved"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We love the 2016 XC 90 Inscription First Edition. This is our fourth Volvo -- including the XC 70 we still own. The ride is impressive, the interior layout and functionality are excellent, and the exterior styling is unmatched. The touch screen controls are easy to use once you become familiar with the technology. We did experience some initial software bugs however once the dealer did a total replacement we've been fine.We attributed that experience to the fact we were early adopters. We've traveled extensively (hence the almost 30K miles in a little over a year) and love the highway and local handling. Highly recommend the rear air suspension stabilizer option. We've had the vehicle in all types of weather from a Northeast winter (prior to relocating) to the hot summer -- and recent high water due to Hurricane Matthew. We just raised the ride with the selector. Volvo has a winner in the technology and performance category leadership of this SUV. I'd rate it a full 10/10 but for the initial bug workouts. In each case the NJ dealer was great."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Hard to believe from an X5 BMW to this!

By on Thursday, January 12, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Interior design solid feel pilot assist nav disply"

Cons: "Verbal nav,prem gas, options expensive st/stop off"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really am in the minority to exit a two year old X5 for this "old man" Volvo, but I don't regret it yet! The Beamer was decked out with Y spoke run flat tires which I never cared for at that premium price. The 21" on the XC 90 aren't much cheaper or easier to find but now I can at least rotate the same size wheels on this baby. Don't worry about power or speed pick up. The turbo 4 cyl. does a great job and only .1 seconds slower in qtr. mile. I'm convinced exterior paint chips easier and styling may lack one quick glance but this is a fine machine. Air suspension is a great option and the pilot assist is almost flawless. Great on long trips. Super standard radio sound but navigation speaks another language from me. I hope that improves. Quality on interior is ahead of BMW and wheels are better styled with detail throughout. I'd recommend you drive this 316 hp model. You wouldn't know it's a four except for more noise when it kicks in and slight less jump off line. The start/stop function is a pain and should be shut off, stay off option. More room and wifey feels extremely safe as it isn't least bit top heavy on bends. I hope they survive to keep making parts for this fine looking auto. No making up for those Beamer headlights. Thor headlights are a little boring, but I'm an "old man""

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Love it and hate it

By on Friday, August 26, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, comfortable, fun to drive, beautfiul"

Cons: "Software is horrible & unreliable for $$$$$ car"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Love my new 2016 Volvo XC90 when it starts. Beautiful inside and out, lots of great safety features, and a pleasure to drive. However, there have been severe software issues and most recently battery draining for no apparent reason when it sits. Each trip to shop has been 2 - 3 days, because their technicians are not fully up to speed and/or the software is too screwed up. They generally have to do a remote consult with Volvo engineers.. As I write this I am about to jump start it to take it back to the shop again, just a month after the last battery episode (they did a battery reset and then installed a new battery last time, but never did find the cause). Do a Google search and you will find dozens of other people with the same problem. My recommendation. Do not buy this car yet. Perhaps wait a year until Volvo gets their act together. I have the Inscription T6, my first purchase of a luxury car and likely my last. My Chrysler minivan had fewer problems in its 10 years and is still running strong for my son. Wish I'd kept it!"

29 people out of 32 found this review helpful

Luxry redefined!

By on Wednesday, April 20, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 9,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Detailing, style, technology, comfort"

Cons: "No power tilt,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I previously owned a 2010 Volvo XC60 3.2 AWD with all package options. I didn't have one single issue and planned to keep it. Once I saw the 2016 XC 90 being advertised I changed my mind. I placed an order in May of 2015 and it arrived in August of 2015. I'd like to point out that another review does say you need to get the inscription level (it is very nice) however the air suspension is an option without that also. I decided not to go with the inscription because of the ventilated seats. The dealer agreed saying with spills it would be much harder to keep clean. Instead I upgraded to the Momentum Plus package added all the other packages as well as air suspension, HUD, and the bowers and wilkins sound system. The total price was just over $62,000 which comes in at a higher price than an inscription without any or most of those options. My advice is if you can add it all plus inscription which would be $68,000+ then go for it. However getting all the packages and options without inscription was great for me. I agree air suspension is a must and the ride is the best I've experienced. The B&W sound system is also a must have if you spend much time on the road. Everyone who gets in is blown away but the sound experience! The only issue I've had is with the backup camera/360 camera, sometimes it fails to work and then once I turn the car off and back on it works again. This has happened a few times but I noticed it's usually when I don't get the car time to load up. It takes less than a minute for the computer system to load but sometimes you don't have that time to wait. Overall I'd highly suggest this car at this point and hope I can report the same thing in several years."

55 people out of 63 found this review helpful

Huge Leap Forward for Volvo

By on Monday, April 11, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,100

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Styling and interior finishes are exceptional!"

Cons: "Only 1 USB, no power tilt on the steering wheel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"As for all the hype and awards for this vehicle, all I can say is go drive an Inscription trim with the air suspension (this is an important option). To make it comparable to a BMW, Audi, or Mercedes, you need to step up to the Inscription trim with the optional air suspension. Without it, the ride quality is average; with it, the ride is outstanding. I had no intention of buying a Volvo, but was very surprised. I have driven all the competition extensively and bought an XC90 First Edition so it has every available feature. The interior is amazing, the safety tech is unparalleled, and infotainment is great for me. I quickly got used to the touch tablet style interface. I personally love the heated/ventilated seats. As for the competition, the X5 from the driver’s seat is a great vehicle, but it is a smaller vehicle and the Volvo kills it in 2nd and 3rd row functionality and utility, which is what we wanted. The Lexus GX (keep in mind I really like Lexus and owned an RX for over a decade) feels heavy and sluggish compared to the Volvo. The new Audi Q7 was not available when I bought and the older version was surprisingly tight in the 2nd and 3rd row. The Acura is a strong value proposition, but the infotainment system is not user friendly. The Merc GL is a bigger vehicle but when I optioned it out to match my Volvo First Edition from a feature standpoint it was over $92k. I hope the long term reliability is above average. LOVE the Bowers and Wilkens stereo. Truly feels like a much smaller vehicle than it is while driving. Eats up highway miles. The turbo and supercharged 4 cylinder does a great job. My wife and I fight over who takes it each day. NICE JOB Volvo, a huge leap forward!"

54 people out of 64 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10
Advertisement
Advertisement
 
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.