Go

2000 Volvo V40

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 61 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next

Love this car

By on Monday, September 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought his car used, fell in love at first site and drive and haven't regreted it since. Looks good, gets great comments and above all, lives up to the Volvo reputation. Turbo has the power you need when you need it. Not many around, but that is ok by me. I love the unusual styling used in these years by Volvo. When I get in any other car, including the really high priced competitors, I am happy to have this."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Wont't buy another!

By on Monday, February 4, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
3/10
Comfort
3/10

"I bought this car used. In the second year I ownd it the front left coil spring broke and ruined a new snow tire. Had both replaced under extended warranty. Year and a half later left rear coil spring broke out of warranty replaced both rear coil springs. Today replaced the front left coil spring again and new snow tire again. Also had to replace an engine mount today.This car accelerates nicely for a 4cyl. Thats about all the nice things I can say about it."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

great family car

By on Saturday, October 13, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This car is pretty amazing. If you are looking for something more upscale than the usual domestic or japanese small wagon, but you can't afford a 3 series BMW wagon or Audi A4, then this is the car for you. It doesn't handle like a bimmer or have an upscale interior like an Audi, but this little wagon is a handsome sporty looking car that has a great ride, peppy turbo engine, and gets an amazing 30 mpg on the highway. (for real) I have owned it for 3 years now, and it has been very reliable. Although the similarly priced Passat wagon is a bit larger, this volvo rides like a larger, smoother, more luxurious car thanks to the better sound proofing and smooth suspension. The 5 speed auto is a great shifting tranny also. It never wanders and always shifts at the time you want it to."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

I LOVE my V40

By on Saturday, September 1, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned my V40 for almost 7 years...a first for me. Previously, I'd only keep a car for 3 years, max. The car drives like a sports car and is extremely comfortable and reliable. On the down side, the brakes wore out at under 20,000 miles. Both cupholders have broken and the CD player skips when I hit a bump in the road which is extremely annoying. Also, the cupholder design wasn't well though-out as you cannot put in a CD if you have a cup in it! Having said that, overall, I've been very happy with this vehicle and it has maintained its value incredibly well."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

zippy and practical

By on Tuesday, February 23, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"this volvo has done me well. i have taken it on road trips and also use it as my daily commuter. i love that the seats fold down and i can use the back to haul stuff and still get 30 mpgs!! the turbo engine gives me power to accelerate when i need it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 13 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo V40 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.