To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1999 Volvo S70

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 213 Ratings for the 1998 - 2000 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.6/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next

Great But Expensive to Fix

By on Monday, January 31, 2011

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Well first of all I love the s70. Great ride, very comfortable seats, and well just cruises wonderfully. The 2.4 L 5 cylinder has ample power to get you where you need to go, but does lack the pep you get with the turbo. The s70 is a gas sipper though I usually average about 26 mpg combined between city and highway. The FWD winter driving setting conquers in the MN snow. I have had 80,000 miles behind the wheel and the car has 170,000 miles on it. Which brings me to sad part. It is darn expensive to fix. I have no doubt that the motor, transmission, and all moving parts will last forever! Unfortunately that doesn't include wear and tear. Here are a few for example: tie rods, brakes, shocks and struts, motor mounts and bushings, ball joints, strut mounts. Best advice: Don't buy if you don't have a good Volvo mechanic that appreciates the value of using "lightly" used parts, because volvo parts are expensive!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Out did the Energizer bunny!

By on Wednesday, August 5, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We've had our 99 S70 AWD for 10 years and have over 265,000 miles on it. Other than a few electronic problems in the early years, this car has been phenomenal. I'm now getting it ready to sell and in taking a hard look at the car while cleaning it up has reminded me of the great features it has and how well the seat & fabrics have lasted. Even realized today that the steering wheel telescopes!! Duh!. At 200,000 miles Volvo did an upgrade on the software so ours now has 205 HP instead of the 195 HP it came with. The engine is still very smooth running and I can go between oil changes without adding oil. Really think I'm going to miss it. It has class, quality, and certainly long term reliability."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Volvo For Life!

By on Saturday, October 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have driven my Volvo S70 for the last seven years and have loved every minute of it! The car's engine provides peaks performance and excels quickly. Even though it is classified as a "sedan," the S70 is extremely stylish, classy - friends who have driven my car consider it a sports car - and since it has four doors, there's plenty of room for people and groceries! Fold the back seats down and you've got plenty of room for a Home Depot shopping spree. My favorite thing that I love about my S70, is when it rains - push the "W" button and off you go! Turn corners at 20 MPH with wet, slick roads and you have become "one with the road" - absolutely no slipping and sliding! I LOVE MY VOLVO! I have now become a "Volvo for Life" driver."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Well Built Swedish Car - SOLID

By on Thursday, August 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent value for the money, solid heavy car with a powerful engine due to the TURBOCHARGER"

Cons: "I can't honestly think of any."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This 1998 S70 GLT is a well built and solid car. Built for the tough Winters back in Sweden, it has performed in an excellent manner in California. The dual overhead cams with TURBOCHARGING makes this car accelerate very well onto the freeways. Its materials and workmanship is superior to any other car I have owned in my life !! Mechanically it is SUPERIOR !! I have maintained my car according to manufacturers specifications and my major purchases have been one new set of tires, one new set of brakes all around, and it rides as well now as the day i drove it off the new car sales lot. EXTREMELY HAPPY with my purchase as SAFETY has always been a major concern. This car is well ahead of its competitors in safety features. It has full time running lights which some 2012 models of cars still do NOT provide ( i.e., Lexus, BMW, Mercedes, Infiniti, Acura ). It was built WAY ahead of its time and I plan on keeping it for a long time !! If you can get your hands on one, grab it immediately. Great for transporting kids and animals. The TRACS feature which is awesome has helped me in the snow up in the mountains. Greatest investment in a car that i have ever made !!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Still Happy After 13 Years!

By on Saturday, November 20, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I purchased my Volvo S70 brand new in 1997. It is a 1998 model year. I have 260,000 miles on it. I have faithfully done all of the regular maintenance and changed the oil every 3k miles. It is a great car!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S70 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.