To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2008 Volvo S40

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 284 Ratings for the 2004 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next

Solid

By on Thursday, May 28, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Me and my girlfriend love the car. The 5 cylinder engine was kind of weird to us in the beginning until we noticed we got 6 cylinder power at 4 cylinder fuel use. It has a nice quiet comfortable ride, handling is very good, sound system is solid and no mechanical problems at all to speak of. People love the looks of the car especially the turn signals on the mirrors."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

love my volvo

By on Friday, October 3, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The only reason I'm on KBB is because I was in an accident yesterday with my S40. I will definitely be purchasing another if mine is totaled. Yes - chances are my S40 is totaled - AND I WALKED AWAY! The only thing I can fault Fergie (I named my S40, because she's not quite a princess, she still had to work) is the head rests. They are a little too far forward, however never caused discomfort. Only annoyed when I wanted to pull my hair back into a ponytail. I would recommend this Volvo 100 times over!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Converted for life

By on Sunday, September 5, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my first Volvo. Always admired the design. Purchased a used 2007 S40 last year. Fantastic, sporty, safe, responsive, reliable and fun! Will never own another brand again as long as Volvo maintains this level of quality. I'm converted for life."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Thursday, August 12, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This is my third S40. I won't drive anything else. I feel completely safe in a Volvo. I was looking at new but this was just one owner with low miles and had extra features. I had looked quite a bit before I bought the first one and I truly feel that you can't get a better value."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Amazing!!!!!

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have been a volvo owner for about 2 years now. I purchased a used 2005 S40 T5 AWD with 45,000 miles on it and loved it. The handling was amazing on it as well as the performance. I recently traded it in for the 2010 S40 R-Design. I wanted the few extra features that my 05' didn't have like Nav, Ipod and USB hook-up and upgraded sound. I love this car so much and I feel safe in it every time I drive in it. I would recommend this car to anyone for both the safety and reliability that I feel no other car company can compare."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 57 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S40 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.