To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2000 Volvo S40

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 190 Ratings for the 2000 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.9/10
  • Reliability
    7.9/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next

Very well-built solid car....prob saved my life

By on Sunday, April 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "180k miles safely driven"

Cons: "cup holder, expensive to replace exhaust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After driving this car for 10 years and getting it up to 180k miles...it prob saved my life in a car accident recently. In an accident that would have probably totaled most cars and sent most people to the hospital...I was lucky to only have minor damage on the car and I left with very minor scrapes and bruises. Being able to walk away from a very bad accident without any major injury is why the safety Volvo always highlights is absolutely true."

22 people out of 22 found this review helpful

Solid perfomance

By on Sunday, January 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "No longer make as of 2011"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car used (17k)and has hand zero issues and performs as well as the newer Volvos today. Handles very well at high speeds and the gas milage is about 36 mpg for me right now. Like this one so much purchase an almost same car for spouse."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very Safe

By on Wednesday, October 24, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Had a Front end accident at about 45MPH, the car absorbed the impact, the passenger compartment was undisturbed. No injuries, thanks Volvo. This is my wifes car, after the accident, she wanted the exact same car, said she liked the power, the comfortable seats and how they adjusted. Great gas Mileage. Cons: Lights need to be replaced often, poor visibility based on the head rests. Finding tires that provide low noise level is not easy, finally went with the Kumho Ecsta asx, that did the trick. the stock tires were terrible. Synopsis: Styling, handling, gas mileage and safety is great. I like the body style better that the new boxier S40. Oh yeah, adding the spoiler and the mudflaps sure make this car look even better."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

A good buy - a fun car.

By on Saturday, February 9, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I purchased my 04 s40 1 year ago. I put lots of miles on a car and this has been reliable, fuel efficient, tight and really fun to drive. It has lots of torque to pass anything on the road with little effort. The car is light so when the turbo kicks in, you really feel it. It corners well too. It rides a little rough on uneven pavement but I think thats a result of the tight suspension (which makes it corner well) and its overall low weight. I'd recommend this car and I plan on keeping it for another 4+ years."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

The Best Car I've Ever Had!

By on Thursday, December 1, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 244,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "A sweet drive with great handling, great in snow!"

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I originally leased this car, new, right after the model was introduced. I drove for a living and it got me around the mid-atlantic in style and comfort. I loved the car so much I purchased it at the end of the lease! I had no problems other than routine maintenance for the first 175,000 miles. Since that time I have had to periodicaly replace parts because of normal wear and tear, afterall, it now has over 244,000 miles on it! I've kept it in good shape and plan on keeping it as my 2nd car, indefinitly. I would recommend a Volvo to anyone! Even my boat has a Volvo outdrive!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 38 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volvo S40 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.