To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Volkswagen Routan

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.2
Out of 10

Based on 132 Ratings for the 2009 - 2014 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    6.6/10
    Quality
    6.4/10
  • Reliability
    6.4/10
    Performance
    6.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.5/10
    Styling
    7.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next

The Routan is very economical, roomy, and

By on Tuesday, June 7, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable ride, handles well, economical."

Cons: "second row seating flexibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"comfortable to drive, it handles well and drives very smoothly. The only complaint that I have, is the second row seats do not fold flat into the floor, like it's Dodge and Chrysler counterparts."

2 people out of 9 found this review helpful

By on Wednesday, October 14, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
4/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

worse car ever

By on Monday, January 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,900

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
4/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"i understand this car was made by dodge and so you can imagine how inferior they made it compared to their grand caravan. If you are a user start thinking fast. The worse part is the value you get for trade in."

1 person out of 7 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, June 5, 2010

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

1 person out of 8 found this review helpful

worst vehicle ever!

By on Tuesday, April 15, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: too many problems!

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "very nice looking..."

Cons: "not realiable car...."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"The car had too many electrical problems, it consumed too much gas, the interior was made with cheap plastic, the shift gear timing was off all the time. Bad choice - DO NOT BUY IT!"

By on Sunday, March 20, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Not Good.

By on Monday, October 18, 2010

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"We bought this van a little over a year ago. At first, I was pretty happy. I really wanted a GM Traverse after having a Trailblazer, but we needed something with better gas mileage. I liked it a first, and was fairly happy, but now things are starting to fall apart. The transmission slams after turns, there have been SIX recalls or "Customer Satisfaction Campaigns". There is intermittent moisture in the right headlamp which the dealer says they don't have a fix for unless they actually see it. They even ran a garden hose over to see if it leaks!!! Very high tech. Now, I describe the car as "driving a tin can". It's not solid, the left sliding door rattles and the seat moves when you accelerate. I have about had it with this car, but it's not worth what we paid for it now so we are stuck. I will never buy another one again. Our next car, we are going back to GMC-never had a problem with the Trailblazer. Our Camry's engine exploded. Buy American!!!!"

By on Tuesday, February 17, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Friday, January 28, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, November 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

My Routan

By on Sunday, October 4, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Volkswagon has always made good vehicles. I have to say the new Routan is excellent!!! I absolutely love it!! Never have any problems with it, smooth ride, very comfortable. This van will be with us for many years to come. Way to go VW!"

best vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, July 27, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 63,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive luxurious"

Cons: "NOTHING!!!!!!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"love it stylish and all awsome car"

fun

By on Friday, July 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,600

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very convenient, fun to drive and quiet"

Cons: "city fuel consumption, and third row legroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love my 2010 routan mine is silver,its the se with dvd package, it has very good power and a nice steering feel, and very easy brakes. I can see everything around me when I'm driving it. And have had one small problem, the problem was the right power door was not sounding right i took it to the dealer and they fixed it at no cost has acted up since and its been awhile. we have traveled with it about 15 times to different places and its very quit on the highway and the fuel consumption is good about 27mpg ,but in the city i avg 13mpg . I love my minivan"

Nicest minivan i have ever seen...most amenities..

By on Monday, January 30, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 21,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "more toys than you can ask for..."

Cons: "sticker shock..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"SEL premium package has more toys than any minivan I have ever seen...in my work I deal with all high end cars (Mercedes, Bentley, Rolls Royce, etc...)and this van is just as nice on the interior...both side doors are power open/close 3rd rows seat power folds into floor, 3 screens for dvds, moon roof, remote start, sun shades built into side doors, huge storage area in the floors, heated front and rear seats, the list goes on and on..."

Best van we've ever owned!

By on Sunday, January 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "With dealer discount was actual cheaper than T/C."

Cons: "Not as many VW dealerships around if needed."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Previous has 3 T/C and a Ford. This one is great!"

What a Minivan Should Be!

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, lots of room, excellent visibility"

Cons: "Not a sports car!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned two other minivans and this is by far the best one I have ever owned. The steering and suspension make the car fun to drive. The interior has creature comforts galore and the auto sliding side doors make getting in with groceries a snap. Autostart and heated seats take the edge off the Alaska winters. Mine has 25K miles on it, had a pinhole in an AC hose when I got it and one repair to the electronic traction control when it was brand new. Otherwise the only time it's been to the dealer is for the free oil changes. Hard to say about a minivan, but I love this car!"

Love this car!

By on Sunday, November 6, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,800

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car! Creates ease when hands are full with children or groceries etc. Lots of bells and whistles which I love but some are starting to not work. Like blue tooth. Not necessary things."

Fantastic Family Vehicle

By on Thursday, November 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very comfortable on long drives, love the Nav syst"

Cons: "headrests on seats lean forward too much"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very comfortable on long drives, love the Nav system and bluetooth, work great! The kids love the dual dvd so they can each watch what they want."

german suspenion make all the diffenence

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Husband didn't like our KIA Sadona, so I thought we were done owning a minivan. We test drove the Routan and husband really liked it! It is a really smooth drive in the city and highway!"

For a Van, Its nice!

By on Monday, October 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Awesome Interior and design."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"First Van and love it. I never thought i would own a van."

good for the price

By on Tuesday, September 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "3rd row seating uncomfortable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"3rd row seating not comfortable"

Love to drive it

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 29,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "drives nice"

Cons: "many recalls can be a pain in the neck"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very happy with my car, good seating for my bad back, has been recalled but service has been excellent! Electric glich with back seats but repair still under warrety. Drives so nice , good in rain and snow, actually better than my subaru. leather seats beautiful. have the SEL version with tow package, uses as much gas as the subaru too."

Love it!

By on Tuesday, April 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"We have had our Routan for almost 2 years and absolutely love it! It has great styling and great features, which make traveling with our family very enjoyable. The amount of storage is incredible, with under floor storage, as well as a 2 glove compartments. The rear back-up camera is great, as are so many of the other features. The video system allows the rear seat passengers to watch a different movie than the middle seat pasengers. Decent gas mileage, we get around 22 mpg on the highway."

Big Mistake

By on Monday, April 11, 2011

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"First minivan and not at all impressed. We should have known the minute we raised the hood and saw Chrysler. Vehicle spends more time in the dealer for repairs than in my driveway. Now filing for Lemon Law. Horrible resale value. Big dissapointment."

By on Thursday, March 3, 2011

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"I also have had multiple brake problems. I am still having break problems. My brakes have been replaced, front and back. I have not enjoyed having to take my van in for more than 10 different recalls. The dealership does not offer a rental car, so you must sit and wait for the recall to be done. I would not recommend buying one. I just received another recall notice this week."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Routan near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.