ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2004 Volkswagen R32

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.8
Out of 10

Based on 72 Ratings for the 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.7/10
    Quality
    9.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.9/10
    Performance
    9.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.8/10
    Styling
    9.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next

Packs a Punch

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Most amazing car I've ever owned. Its not JUST a VW...It is actually an Audi TT with a golf Body. Same 3.2 Engine, Same drivetrain, Same platform. The R32 is truly an all-season runner, Its' AWD system out performed my 4x4 truck in snow. It actually made driving during the winter a pleasure. So much control, pair it with a set of winter tires and it becomes even more responsive and predictable. During warmer months, the power it puts out is mind blowing. For such a small car, its 240hp 3.2L VR6 surges from a dead stop and launches you into the leather racing seats. And the seats are another thing. You dont sit ON them...You sink into them and as soon as you grab onto the thick leather wrapped wheel, you know you're in for a treat. In the year I had it so far, I've had no issues whatsoever. This thing has been solid from the get-go. Only little tiff I have with it is if you live in an area that the roads arent in the "best condition", the 18s with 40 series tires will bounce you a little hard and you will notice a few small rattles and vibrations that seem to come out every now and then. Theres nothing more I enjoy than coming home from work and washing it. Its lines are so smooth, its looks are amazing. The interior quality is fantastic. Stereo may not be the best, but When you fire up this monster, the Volume knob gets turned all the way down. The R32 lets out a rumble like nothing youve ever heard before. With its sophisticated exhaust system, it has a flap (or bypass) that when you hit 45mph at 3200RPM in 3rd gear or higher, the flap opens up to let out a sound that is music to your ears. Pure performance. No rasp. Search on Youtube for video clips to hear for yourself. Its bliss. This car gets an Overall 5 star rating from me. It doesnt feel like your typical "VW". I am more than happy with everything. I wasnt hesitant one bit paying $30,000 for this vehicle and would never regret it. At only 5,000 units available in the Country, You truly own something you dont see everyday."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

One of a kind!!

By on Saturday, October 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Best car I have ever owned. The most fun to drive of any car I have ever driven. Best exhaust sound I have ever heard. Must see and drive to appreciate what a fine piece of engineering this auto is. Marvelous."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best 'All-rounder' Ever

By on Wednesday, January 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Nearly 5 yrs., 71K and 17 track day events and still going strong! Amazing car that can do everything well. Only problems encountered were a brake light switch and battery (to be expected). Original US spec suspension was weak and not up to the performance potential (Euro spec much better). With proper maintenance interior and exterior are holding up very well. A well designed and crafted hot-hatch that feels as fun to drive as the day I bought it (not too many cars that you could say that about). Very versatile in the city, acceptable comfort on long trips and a blast to flog on twisty roads."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Practical Hot Rod

By on Monday, October 15, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"There are certainly faster cars out there, cars that are more comfortable, cars that are more economical, cars with better all-road capability. What sets this VW apart, is that it does some of everything, with no great compromise in the process. It has enough power to keep up with cars costing 3 times as much. It will out-brake all but a handful of production cars in the world. It's all weather capability is only stopped by deep snow. With almost 40 cubic feet of cargo space, an easy load hatchback design, and roof rack capability, it's practicality is enormous. My R32 mileage averages 28 city, and 32 highway. This is in real world driving, with judicious use of the gas pedal. With 236 lb/ft of torque on hand at just 2800 rpm's, power delivery is guaranteed with just a hint of right foot pressure. On the other hand, with a horsepower peak at 6200 rpm, keeping the revs up, the R32 is a tough match on the race track, with its permanent all wheel drive helping. The seats are designed for people of the slender build, and wrap you like a cocoon. Great for day trips, and commuting, but tiring on cross country jaunts. The low aspect tires and 18'' rims, coupled with the low ground clearance, make this a car best used for smooth roads. Without a plethora of wings, fins and scoops, this car is the epitome of stealth. A perfect gentlemans hot rod."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best "FUN" car ever made!

By on Friday, October 5, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned some of the finest sports ever made, Porsches, Lambos, MB, Ferraris dollar-for dollar, this may very well be among the best cars ever made. We'll see that one day, the 2004 R32 will be among the most sought cars ever. They will also start appearing in magazines as among the best in history. If you ever are so inclined, and have the opportunity, at least for some period in time in your life, you should own the R32."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 15 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen R32 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.