ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2010 Volkswagen New Beetle

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
6.9
Out of 10

Based on 1135 Ratings for the 1998 - 2010 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.3/10
    Quality
    7.0/10
  • Reliability
    7.2/10
    Performance
    7.7/10
  • Comfort
    7.6/10
    Styling
    7.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 227 | Next

Fun, zippy, great mileage

By on Tuesday, December 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 126,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "mileage"

Cons: "cramped in the backseat"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I love the TDIs. I get about 47mpg highway in this, no major problems with it at all. The two door is sometimes a hassle, but it's a sporty, fun car with great gas mileage. Handles much better than a Prius, too!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Not worth the money

By on Friday, May 29, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"Not only is the car more expensive to fix than a BMW, I had one problem after the other. I put new breaks (front AND back), a waterpump, ball joints, and more into it in less than six months. I put about $1,000 into the car, and I still have problems. VW's are known for electrical problems and it has proven to be true in my case. It does get pretty good mileage, about 32-34 MPG but it is not worth all the trouble and money when I only owned the car for two years."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

On the fence

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I loved my 2001 GLX Silver Turbo Beetle when I bought it. I have also read many of the reviews here. I too have had several visits to the shop for various things. From the reported Airbag module fault (replaced), some Turbo valve (replaced), the manual transmission had a loose klunk sound almost since new and I never did anything as they said the whole transmission would need to come out to fix it. When my car was nearing the end of the extended warranty I bought (came with 2 year warranty only), I decided to get it fixed. Due to how they designed the transmission, the flywheel which was the problem was attached to some other piece which basically meant they had to replace the whole transmission. Which was a bonus for me, but scary that if i have a problem later, will be expensive due to how they design stuff. Also of course, the expensive headlight replacement as it was too hard to change myself, not like older american cars which was simple. I love the car, the idea of the car, but VW should focus more on reliability of the components."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

THE WORST CAR EVER BUILT

By on Sunday, October 28, 2007

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

"Bought the car brand new. Now with 40,000 in 6.5 years. VW was great with their handicapped driver program. The car got great safety ratings. So, it was a no brainer. Well, that was the END of the satisfaction. Poor gas mileage, that has never improved.(15city/19hwy) Many electrical problems, WAY TOO MANY RECALLS!!!(15 so far) Some for the same issue. Poor engineering, quality, & reliability. Dealerships are not equipped to take care of the problems.(I have tryed 4 in my area.) Every plastic piece on the car that could possably fall off, HAS. AND, what is up with the "Stewart Little" sunvisors??? I think they should have kept this car on the drawing board. This is definatly NOT a Volkswagen like I remeber. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE CARS!!! NEW OR USED."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Little Car in Texas

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"When the 80 year old woman at our church bought this car back in 2000, I thought to myself that this would be a perfect school car for my then 11 year old daughter. Sure enough, 5 years later, just in time for her 16th birthday, the lady lets me know she's ready for new car. While I paid a little bit more than I wanted to at the time, this has been a perfect car for my daughter and suits her to a T. I did have to get the window motor replaced on the driver's side and a reflector on the back side disappeared and I had to get that replaced. The remote control quit working and it wasn't cheap to replace at the dealer. I found an independent mechanic who specialized in VW's and is very, very reasonable. We love this car and are very happy with it's performance and durability. Remember, it was 5 years old when we got it. Keep on Buggin!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 227 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen New Beetle near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.