Go

2012 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 355 Ratings for the 2011 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next

2017 VW Jetta SE Manual - Pure White/Titan Black

By on Tuesday, December 13, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfort, Road Noise, Features, Fuel Mileage, Price"

Cons: "Horsepower/Torque.. but thats asking for a lot"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I ended up buying this car for under $17,500 new. For the price, it was a great decision. Many fault the Jetta for the lack of design appeal, but it looks as sharp as any compact car in my opinion. The leatherette seats are comfortable, and as an SE it has all the options I could ask for. Even some I don't use (blind spot indicators, Sirius XM radio, etc.) could appeal to others who would use them. I drove from central Pennsylvania to southern North Carolina on 15/16ths of a tank. It only cost $27.00 to completely refill the tank. What a great investment for a commuter car. It is comfortable, up to date, and sips fuel. You cannot beat this car for what I paid. Hands down the best decision I made all year long."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Great for a first car!

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "great car! Reliable! good on gas! comfortable ride"

Cons: "no backseat air vents"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"If you are looking for a car for a car for just yourself or for your child, I highly recommend! They drive so smooth and make for a good ride! The only con I would have to say about this car is that there are no air vents for your passengers in the back seat, which is pretty odd. There is vents at their feet but that is all. Also if you are looking for something good on gas you're looking in the right spot! The price for these cars are very reasonable. I have owned one for nearly a year, a family friend recommend them and I have truly fell in love with it! This car is more so for a college student or someone who doesn't plan on having a pile of people ride (just because of the air in the car)."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Loving Every sMile

By on Thursday, September 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "clean, easy to drive, smooth ride"

Cons: "fuel economy"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car used and have put 40k miles on it. AC Fan went out, replaced under warrenty. That's been the only major issue in the car. It runs great, cool AC, nice leather seats. Very sporty. Not the best get up and go, but it's a good balance between fuel economy and power. I didn't get the loaded options so display from the onboard computers is limited. This is easily solved by OBD2 sensor connected to an android cell phone for only $25 versus the $1000 or so it would cost from the VW."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome to drive very comfortable

By on Monday, October 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great off the line great in stop and go traffic"

Cons: "to much cabin noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My last two cars were Civic's and I thought they were great until I purchased this car. I am very happy with this investment. I look for reasons to take long drives. I would rather have this car than a Silver Cloud."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very happy with purchase - 2015 Jetta SE 1.8T

By on Monday, February 20, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 46,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"No regrets on this purchase. Purchased new and gets driven about 2500 miles per month. Acceleration is above average for this class of car and the interior is very well put together and comfortable. I am 6-1 and 230 pounds and I am very comfortable in the car. A couple of nits, it would be nice to have automatic headlights and power driver seats as a typical option on the SE. keyless entry is a little clunky compared to other cars I own. One of the most impressive things is the mileage this car delivers. In a combination highway/city (5:1) the car consistently gets high 30s sometimes low 40s MPG. I recommend this vehicle for heavy commuters."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

2017 Jetta S

By on Wednesday, February 1, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value"

Cons: "heat and a/c"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have owned this car for 4 months now. Car seems solidly built.Gas mileage has been up to 42 on the highway and I have averaged 36 mpg overall.Sits a little low for me but maybe fine for most people.Seems roomier than a lot of other smaller cars.The factory tires do not look like they will be good in snow probably more for gas mileage.Not sure about the HVAC maybe the cars weak point.Takes sometime to really heat the interior and with little experience yet I think a/c may be weak also.Considering the price I paid I feel it was one of the better values for a new car."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

awesome and fun

By on Friday, October 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I got this car mostly for the mileage. It says 42 highway but I got my average up to 48. I enjoy the handeling, theaudio and just about everything else"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lost German dynamics in its American conversion

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "VW phylosophy in the way they desing and build car"

Cons: "Would like it to handle like my old Jetta"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Does not handle road as well as our previous Jetta, but still superior to Toyota or Honda and definitely better than Nissan."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Lots of Torque - Great Fuel Economy

By on Friday, November 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,400

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good fuel economy"

Cons: "No ACC position on iginition, no engine temp guage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So I purchased this car in July and have already put over 10,000 miles on it. I have driven the car from Washington to Michigan and back to Washington then out to Wisconsin. I have seen 50mpg while driving the long roud trip and I usually get around 35mpg in town and 45 on the highway. This diesel has a lot of torque for its size and the 6m trans is really nice. Easy gear shifting and good ratios. I would recommend this car to someone who does lots of highway driving or just wants a relaiable engine with good fuel economy. Oil changes are every 10,000 miles (after the warrenty is up I will be doing them every 7,000) but that is still better than most vehicles out there."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

my fourth VW JETTA,BY FAR THE BEST ONE YET

By on Wednesday, March 22, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "roomy, safe, huge trunk,awesome mpg,solid feel"

Cons: "base model seats are little thin,kinda off stiff."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I have driven VW CARS FOR MANY YEARS NOW. The 2017 Jetta is a well engineered German automobile. Do not let the price suggest this is a budget car, its not ! If you get a feel for the powerband this car is very zippy and sure footed.All the other stuff like a huge trunk, high safety ratings,roomy cabin with usable options are just icing on the cake....and VW is offering some great deals lease or purchase....I dont miss my MZB or BMW anymore..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 36 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.