Go

2011 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.4
Out of 10

Based on 368 Ratings for the 2011 - 2018 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next

I love my wagon!!

By on Saturday, January 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Interior lay out, clean exterior style, fuel econo"

Cons: "no push to start :( hard seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car suits my needs that is the main reason I got it. I have a kayak, mtn bikes, and a dog. It has ample cargo space for all of my outdoor fun activities and the premium pkg definitely steps it up so that it looks just as good in the city as it does in the state park parking lot. My only complaint is that a vehicle in this price range didn't come with a dual climate control, auto dimming rear view mirror, and push to start. That option was added for the 2012, guess i'm a bit jealous.... all and all I love my car. The seats could be a bit more comfy but overall it is a great driving experience. precise crisp steering... ample power with 236 lbs of torque. I get great fuel economy and i have never felt that the 140 hp engine is underpowered for the size of the car. The brakes are amazing also... my room mate says its like braking on a cloud... not sure what that means but I'm sure its a good thing."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Very nice.

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very nice ride, good handling, very good fuel milage 42 to 45 Highway 35 in town. Pricey car."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Hard to beat!

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 7,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Power, features"

Cons: "Some materials sub par"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The new Jetta is great. It drives really well and has sufficient power. There are neat features such as the touchscreen radio, auto up/down on all windows, trunk opens on its own. I think the price is right compared to what else is out there. It could use a few nicer materials on the interior but it looks good overall. I wanted the 5 spoke wheels but couldn't justify the extra money for them."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Exceptional German Built Car

By on Saturday, November 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great mpg that delivers snappy peformance."

Cons: "Soft rear suspension and useless center armrest."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my 3rd VW diesel. This car has more zip to it than the 2006. The ride is the same, the interior fit and finish are good. The center arm rest is useless and the rear suspension is soft. However, this is the best Jetta yet in my possession. I am a daily commuter of almost 30 miles one way on the interstate. Consistently 49-50 mpg from this car. I like the leatherette seats. I appreciate the layout of the console, instrumentation and the bluetooth. I could list my few minor faults with this car, but the reason I bought another Jetta was because I had exceptional longevity on the first two vehicles. The 2000 and 2006 Jettas were recycled in the family, the 2000 model has over 200K on it and driven daily, the '06 has 102K on it and is driven by my son in college. My wife loves this car because of the handling. I think it handles as well as her Audi and we just got back from a 600 miles round trip on one tank of gas. For 22K this was a good investment. I do not know if it will last like my other two, but I am also a firm believer your car will last as long as it is cared for, treated well, serviced as needed and keep the daughters boyfriend from gettng behind the wheel. I highly recommend this car for those that want a good, dependable, comfortable commute. The satellite radio is top notch, the seats are firm and supportive, the 6 speed manual is flawless and the turbo is responsive with pleny of zip to it for 50 mpg. Oh, and by the way, my daughters Prius cost us more to buy, has much less room, has fewer options and gets the same gas mileage, sometimes less on trips. And I know I will get 200K out of it, and I dont have to worry about that huge cadmium battery that I wonder if can be recycled at all???"

34 people out of 35 found this review helpful

I'd buy it again in a heartbeat!

By on Thursday, January 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Near Prius MPG with Cool Dad driving appeal"

Cons: "DSG transmission takes some getting used to"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"So to start I've driven trucks more often than anything else but recently moved to a much more urban area and couldn't see myself commuting or even parking my 4 door Tundra in this mess. We had been using my wife's 2003 Corolla as the family car when gas mileage was an issue. I had been eyeing the TDI Sportwagen for about 6 months. I wanted maximum cargo space, performance and over 30 MPG. I test drove the Outback thinking I needed AWD because I was replacing a truck. The 4 cycl maxed out at something like 32 MPG (when you're nursing it) and I wasn't impressed with the power. The next day I test drove my TDI Sportwagen. HOLY SMOKES! The DSG transmission takes some getting used to, especially at low RPMs, but when you put your foot in the pedal it does exactly what you want. Doesn't matter what speed you're at either. I recently drove to Texas with my wife and 2 kids, all of our luggage, plus a full size cooler in the back. We even picked stuff up on the way without any issues or luggage racks. I was averaging 39 MPG while doing 9 MPH or more over the speed limit at all times. I nursed it the first 550 miles and got 46mpg but I got tired of being in the slow lane. When I wanted to pass a truck while doing 80, I blew past them with no problem. I had to watch myself a little bit because you can hit 100mph in no time. (I know I'm a horrible person, blah blah) The steering is very responsive, the 4 wheel disc brakes stop on a dime, the diesel engine is quiet and purrs only slightly louder than a gasoline engine. Not like the old school diesels. The Panoramic sunroof was a huge selling point for me. My kids can look at the sky while I'm driving and see things they never could before. It's gianormous. I've never run into an issue where I needed to haul something too large for the cargo space, and I've hauled vanity's, toilets, 7 ft long boards, IKEA boxes, you name it. I'd say the only thing I'm not ecstatic about is a slight buzzing noise coming from the center console that is going to get looked at by the dealer at my 10k checkup. Did I mention that maintenance intervals are 10k miles and are free for the first 30k?"

24 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Had this car two weeks today

By on Monday, May 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, interior, sleek exterior"

Cons: "Slow response on throttle"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my jetta to replace my 2010 Jeep Wrangler 4dr. I needed something safe and better on gas. I am pleased with the gas mileage. I used to get 400 miles on my 22 gallon jeep. Now I get around 415miles on my 14 gallon VW! So much better. I am averaging around 30 MPG city, on the interstate I was pushing 45 MPG. I got the SE edition (Black w/ tan leather) with bluetooth, Sirius Radio, heated seats and ipod hook up in the glove box. I am pleased with my purchase and got the special VW financing 1.6% interest. I would recommend this to anyone in the market. The only complaint I have is it has a little slow response time on the gas. Im not a speed demon so it doesn't bother me. But it looks so nice on the inside and even better on the outside. It reminds me of the Lexus models. The blinkers on the side mirrors are a nice luxury feature. Also, I bought the extended warranty 6yr/60,000 miles."

20 people out of 21 found this review helpful

TDI is exceeding expectations!!!

By on Sunday, January 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 20,500

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "MPG, Looks, Stereo"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased my 2011 Volkswagen Jetta TDI about a year and a half ago. I had not paid attention to this vehicle in a lot of years because I was not a fan of the body lines/persona that it had. So, when I decided to get rid of my 2008 Pontiac Gran Prix GXP it was not in the front of my mind. I had decided that I needed a car that 1. Got good gas mileage. 2. Looked good. 3. Had a manual transmission. 4. Had an awesome stereo and 5. Was economical to do maintenance on. I drove all of the econo cars out there, even ones that I didn't think I'd buy.. just because I didn't want to miss out on something. After 2-3 weeks of test driving/research I'd gone through over 10 cars and had narrowed it down to the Jetta and the Mazda 3. Both had smooth manual transmissions, both had good MPG ratings(was looking at gas Jetta at this time) and both looked good. I looked at pricing on both cars and it was obvious that the Jetta was going to be a better bang for the buck. I ended up deciding on the TDI based on the fact that the fuel mileage/trade in value was far superior to the gas engine. I now have over 20k miles on my Jetta and could not be happier. No problems, averaging over 42 MPG. Thanks Volkswagen!!!"

19 people out of 20 found this review helpful

Worst vehicle ever

By on Wednesday, January 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "Has alot of power and great miliage"

Cons: "not dependable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Purchased this car brand new and have had to have it towed to the dealership 4 times for no start issues. Volkswagen does provide a customer service rep to assist with continued issues with the car. Never totally fixed - given different cause for same problem each time. In addition, the windshield washer pump seized up when car only 1 1/2 years old.(Covered under warranty. Lost all confidence in vehicle - looking to trade in and don't care that I will lose money."

18 people out of 19 found this review helpful

A whole lot of car for the money

By on Saturday, September 3, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 2,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "1.4L TSI engine, great gas mileage, comfortable"

Cons: "I couldn't afford to buy a second one for my wife."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

Day 1, 30 minutes after driving it home.

"I've had this car a little over a month, but I am in love with it! Base spec comes loaded with a ton of features. The new 1.4L TSI gas engine with the turbocharger is quick and lively. While most compacts are noisy, this engine is quiet. I test drove a Corolla and a Kia Forte and not only were both cars more expensive, they felt CHEAPER inside and out. I know some magazines hate the styling both inside and out. In my opinion, the body styling reminds me of what I like about AUDI (VW's upscale sister company); understated and elegant. In 10-20 years, the Jetta will still look relevant, where a lot of more "stylish" cars with their extra folds and krinkles will look dated. The interior is boring, but comfortable and functional. The controls are simple, easy to figure out, and non-distracting. The connectivity for both iPhone and Android Auto make this a really great work car. The trunk is bigger than anything else in its class. The ride is smooth and firm and the car feels confident on the freeway. I've averaged 28-34 MPG with mixed city/freeway driving. I went for the 6 speed auto over the manual, but it does have a sport mode and a tiptronic mode, which I'll take any day over a CVT (*cough* *cough* Toyota) and it uses an honest-to-goodness lever to select gears, instead of the easy-to-break looking knob (*ahem* Ford and Chrysler). I may still be in the "honeymoon" phase with this car, but I legitimately can't find any complaints with it. VW is selling cheap because of the Diesel scandal, but this new 1.4 TSI might be one of the best small car engines out there. I tend to keep cars a long time and drive them into the ground, so resale doesn't mean that much to me because I'll have it a good decade or more. Forget the haters, this VW is great value if you want a good, brand-new, entry level car with a warranty. Buy now while they're affordable, because when we get on the other side of Dieselgate, prices will go up. Remember when Hyundai and Kia used to be cheap before their reputation got better?"

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Day 1, 30 minutes after driving it home.

TDI is a great car

By on Sunday, January 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Getting 50 MPG on the highway."

Cons: "Arm rest is about worthless!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very impress with the power of this car. I have a 2005 TDI and this car has 40 more HP! Yet the milage is even better than the 2005 TDI! Some say the ride is not as good in the 2011 as the 2005. I do not see/feel any difference. I have the NAV and all the bells and whistles, except for the DSG, as mine is a manual. The only things I do not enjoy is the arm rest in the 2011! The roof line is lower and it is a little harder to get into than my 05. Yet the ride appears to be softer than the 05, which I like. I have VW diesels since 1980 and drove them all over 200,000 miles before some one else got it. I gave up my 81 VW Rabbit (it had only 54 HP and averaged 42MPG) for the 2011 Jetta, it lasted me 30 years and I think that this 2011 should last me 40!"

17 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 37 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.