To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2005 Volkswagen Jetta

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 1498 Ratings for the 1999 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 58 59 60 | Next

im in love !

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"the car is the best for the value & styling! VWoA needs to improve the reliability factor.... laters, ~A"

Great little car

By on Tuesday, August 14, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Excellent performance at any speed; cruises effortlessly at 80 mph. Better handling than a Lexus, better quality than a Mercedes. No major repairs after 80,000 miles (oxygen sensor and broken spring). Looks great and behaves like it was a larger German car. Manual transmission makes it fun to drive, even on long trips. Good highway mileage (30 mpg) on regular gas."

Great Car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"We bought my wife a brand new 1997 Jetta and love it so much, that I bought myself a new 2001 Jetta. My wife's car now has 135,000 miles on it and it is still running strong. My 2001 has 81,000 and has not had one problem. We love our Jetta's and will only replace with another Jetta when these ware out."

Great little car

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Wipers & defrost don't handle slush well, but the handling is great! 30+mpg highway."

Reliable no matter what year!

By on Sunday, August 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had an 88, 90, and 99, haven't had time to even upgrade because it runs great. Just change the oil and put gas in it and it will run forever. Have over 350,000 miles on my 88, and my 99 which my daughter drives now to college has over 200,000 on it and still feels new. I recommend the Jetta to all!!!!!"

love my baby

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Biggest problem that have with the vehicle, is that I wish it had the GLI front and rear valence. They make the car so much sharper looking."

good, economical, reliable transporation

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"An excellent automobile in nearly every respect. The diesel engine is very snappy and gets nearly 45 mpg. Has lots of space. Only possible negative is not really confortable for 6'2" driver. Has very short turning radius."

Love my VW

By on Saturday, August 11, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"The only negative thing that I can say about this vehicle is when you are on long trips your legs tend to get tired easily due to the lenght and width of the seat bases. Other that that I have had my VW for almost 7 years and I love it. I can't bring myslef to sell it and I have had plenty of offers. I have a Tahoe as well and I can't decide which one to drive when I walk out the door. Take a test drive and see for yourslef."

Great Value

By on Friday, August 10, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"No complaints!"

Solid Quality Car

By on Thursday, August 9, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We absolutely LOVE our Jetta! Our 2004 Jetta replaced a 2000 Mercury Cougar that was nothing but trouble. Within 3 weeks of owning our Cougar there were so many dents in it from car doors banging into it that we couldn't count them all! We have had our Jetta for 3 years and I can count the number of dents in it with one hand! My wife was rear-ended in our Jetta by a guy going about 25 MPH and it didn't even scratch the paint! The acceleration is amazing, the look is impressive and the quality is top-notch. The only downside to a Jetta is the passanger compartment size. It was perfect when there was only 2 of us, but when we added our daughter to the mix, we were troubled for room while she was in a rear-facing car seat. Once she moved to a forward facing car seat we had room again. But now that we are expecting again, we have to find a replacement. We will probably just keep it and trade in our other vehicle instead."

By on Thursday, August 9, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 8, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Add the turbo

By on Wednesday, August 8, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been reliable, fun to drive, and met every expectation I have had for it. It gets fantastic MPG too - I usually average around 30 in a combination of city and highway driving! The only thing I would have done differently is splurged and gotten the turbo on the motor - the extra juice would be fun!"

A fun car to own

By on Wednesday, August 8, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"The Jetta 1.8 Turbo is a great car to own. We have the sports package and premium sound system, which I highly recommend. The car is comfortable with almost all of the features you could want, is good on mileage and looks better than most cars out there! Ours is a 2003 with almost 85k miles and we have had no problems with it. I would recommend this car to anyone, as long as you don't need a lot of room in the back seat."

Don't Buy

By on Tuesday, August 7, 2007

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
2/10

"Reading some of the other reviews, I thought they were driving my car. The engine light is always on. I've been back to the dealership 3 times... it's still on. If you're driving, it's comfy; if you're riding, good luck. It looks good but I occasionally have a hard time starting it and it transitions weirdly. It's probably because Jetta's shouldn't have V-6's. Hope to trade it soon."

By on Friday, August 3, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, August 1, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is a great little car. It's easy to drive in heavy freeway traffic. I love all the luxury car features, whithout the luxury car price tag."

So far so good.

By on Wednesday, August 1, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I previously had a Jetta 99 loved it! This one I had taken to the shop 4 times(same problem), still like it though.. will change it for GTI.."

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Tuesday, July 31, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Great car

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2004 1.8 Turbo GLI the day it rolled onto the showroom and I love it. I do a lot of driving and I avg 29 mpg everywhere I go. It has great get up and go, tons of low end torque, great corner handling, etc. My only issue with it is the backseat legroom. Other than that, this car is awesome. I have one friend that bought the same model and did the aftermarket upgrades (computer chip, cold-air intake, etc) and he has had nothing but problems with the car. I have not done any aftermarket upgrades and the thing runs great. 62000 miles and I can still cruise comfortably at 120 mph."

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
5/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 58 59 60 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Jetta near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.