Go

2010 Volkswagen GTI

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 73 Ratings for the 2010 - 2012 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.4/10
    Styling
    9.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next

Great driving experience

By on Monday, December 1, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 14,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "exellend handling, fun to drive, power"

Cons: "requires premium fuel,easily scratchs door panel"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchase our 2012 GTI in Savannah, Ga. over two years ago and we love how it rides. The handling feels firm and solid on the road. My wife drove it from GA to TX and she loved how it drove on the highway. The sound system sounds excellent and the Bluetooth works well with my Phone. I would definitely buy another GTI and highly recommend it. Inexpensive to maintain, we had it serviced at a VW dealership and on average the price has been reasonable to maintain."

10 people out of 19 found this review helpful

What a blast!!!

By on Friday, February 6, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 13,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Performance, quality, handling, comfort...... FUN!"

Cons: "None so far!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love this car! What more can you ask for....performance, build quality, comfort, MPG, handling. It's the complete package. Whenever I get in the car it puts a smile on my face..... Which is exactly what I bought it for. My only complaint is the interior could have more little storage pockets for all those little things that wind up in your car."

15 people out of 30 found this review helpful

great car fast fun and great on gas

By on Thursday, May 15, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,123

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun fun and fun"

Cons: "Not sexy looking."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Well made car from Germany. Fast ,fun to drive ,easy around town or fast on the twisties.Zero to sixty in 6.5 seconds."

7 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Fun, sporty, economical hot hatch great for DDing

By on Friday, March 4, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, economical, ages well"

Cons: "carbon build-up issue, rear brake pads"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought this car new in 2010 with HID headlamps and a moon roof (1st model year for the MKVI and the options were a la carte). This has been a fantastic vehicle. More reliable than my previous Honda Civic Si (1999) and my Acura Integra (1998) and has been a blast to drive for the near 6 years I've owned the vehicle. Other than the usual oil changes and routine maintenance the only issues I've had were the passenger side electronic module going bad (covered under warranty at 18k miles in the 2nd year of ownership) and the carbon build-up issue that affects all direct-injected motors (not just the VW GTI of this model year, but spans across all makes/models with a direct-injected fuel system). This caused issues with the engine's breathing ability and showed symptoms around 50k miles. I drove it to 83k miles before addressing the issue myself. After cleaning the intake ports myself the car has been running flawlessly and I'm currently at 95k miles. The 17-inch wheels make for cheaper tire replacements, but 18-inch wheels became standard on the 2011 models. The OEM rear brake pads are really soft and wear quickly, when you replace them definitely go aftermarket. The fuel economy has been great (about 28mpg average over its lifespan). Rear seating is fantastic and the cargo area should be sufficient for most people. After 6 years and 95k miles the interior is still in fantastic shape."

5 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Great car. Fun to drive

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 5,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Transmission may give problems later in cars life"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is great. Its a real joy to drive. The pick up is pretty good for a 4 cyl engine and the suspension is very tight so cornering is a joy. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a cheaper fun to drive car than a bmw."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Is this a Porsche?

By on Sunday, October 2, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 300

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value sports car, style, performance, comfort, practicality"

Cons: "There are lots of options we don't get here that are available in Europe"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Remember when Porsches had VW engines? I have a 2012 GTI Autobahn DSG. Well, this car would sell well with the Porsche name on it and a $10,000 price premium. It could be. This car is just an amazing value. There are many comparisons online with the Audi A3 and the GTI wins them all. The best part is the $7,000 you save on a better car. They are pretty rare too. Used to be that you would see them everywhere, or at least a Golf. Now, I can go all day in the city without seeing one. There were only 2 others configured like mine on the ground in the US when I bought it. People stop and stare at it every time I take it out. Are we turning into a third world country, now that Volkswagens are exotic? Yes, it is fast, fun to drive, and comfortable like all the review say. No need to go on about that. Google GTI review and see what I don't have to say here."

1 person out of 2 found this review helpful

Over 35 or have back problems, DON'T buy!

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 32,300

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
Not Rated
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "maybe fun to drive, but not worth back issues."

Cons: "extremely small and tough gettin in and out of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I purchased this car along with another VW. This car has bucket seats and about a month after purchasing I began to have back issues. This car is so uncomfortable it's not funny, and after trying time after time to resolve this issue with VW, I have to trade it in."

11 people out of 26 found this review helpful

Lots of fun

By on Tuesday, December 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 550

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Good looking, compact, sticks corners well, fun"

Cons: "iffy breaks, mpg is questionable, want more HP."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My 2005 benz C230 Kommperssor (lol) was flooded during Sandy and the GTI really impressed me with the speed and agility. I drive in nyc, and the stock rims on the GTI are 18"...really hurts when you hit a bump. Regardless, the wheels on this car are beautiful and they came with all season Pirelli's!(I also purchased the wheel and tire insurance) The breaks don't instill a lot of confidence, seems like they lag a bit. It's not high on amenities but still very cool cockpit feel to it. Also, I've had the car for only two wks and on my day to day drive I'm not getting more than 18mpg. Overall, I am happy with my purchase."

2 people out of 5 found this review helpful

What can I say....

By on Saturday, July 11, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "solid driving experience, great interior, fun!"

Cons: "mediocre gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I tend to be pretty harsh, but only have good things to say about this vehicle. We'll see how long that will last, but the first 30k miles have been EXCELLENT."

5 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Unreliable and full of hassles

By on Wednesday, December 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
Not Rated
Performance
9/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
Not Rated

Pros: "It looks great when parked!"

Cons: "Unreliable, outdated technology, inconvenient,"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"In the first few months the radiator leaked twice and a pump failed. VW only loaned me a car once, and that was after a lot of unnecessary nonsense. That alone should steer the reader away from VW. Also, the stereo is supposed to be Bluetooth, but the control panel will not fast forward songs, select songs or select folders using my smartphone which is a Galaxy III. So if you want to function your phone, you still need to drive with your knee and operate the phone, which is so backwards compared to hands-free system of the Focus ST and other 2012s. Basically the "fancy German engineered" head unit is no better than just plugging an audio cable directly into your phones headphone output. The Bluetooth is also a pain to reconnect every time I start the car. It uses a little button on the turn signal behind the steering wheel to function the limited phone options, such as dialing. And entering the numbers takes so long you might as well just wait until you arrive at your friend's house and skip the call altogether. There is no text option. The key locks are a joke, usually only one door unlocks and VW won't change it even though I know they could. The gas cap will be locked but when you unlock it the car honks at you and locks you out while you are pumping gas. Sometimes I think it's locked when it's not. You never know. The power for my GPS turns off when the car is off, so if you stop for gas, or a drink, then restart the car you have to wait until the GPS turns on, hit OK, then reprogram your destination. The USB port is nice, but cost $40 to convert if you don't use Apple (which I don't), unfortunately you cannot change the USB while driving because of it's location so you might have to just listen to what you have plugged in already. And remember you can't choose what song is playing on your phone. The Audio input is in the drink holder so you have to choose either a drink or audio device. So overall it is very frustrating and inconvenient for commuting. If you are a grandma and need something for going to the store and aren't going to put alot of miles on this then it's ok, I guess. But if you want something more fun and reliable to commute in, I would look at the Focus ST. Check out the Recarro Seats."

4 people out of 33 found this review helpful

GTI

By on Sunday, January 16, 2011

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

"Seats are way too hard. Performance is very poor my 2011 golf tdi feels faster than it. way over priced definitely would not recommend to a friend!"

By on Sunday, October 24, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Wednesday, April 13, 2011

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, April 11, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

By on Monday, April 4, 2011

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

24 hours in...

By on Wednesday, October 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 6,450

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "FUN!!!"

Cons: "Plaid?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for all of 24 hrs, and am looking for excuses to drive it. 2012 4dr 6-spd man w/ Conv + sunroof, bought used - only 50 of those 6450 miles are mine. So happy with my decision -- I find myself smiling every time I shift...or accelerate...or round a curve. Love it. Did not rate reliability, because I have no basis yet to do so."

2012 GTI 4 Door Autobahn

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "DSG, Sport Mode, Leather Seats, Great Sport Car"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Excellent car, very powerful- turbocharge....The LED DLR and Serron Wheel 18" are super cool. The Handling is phenomenal very fun/sport car to drive. Getting like 29 mpg."

By on Saturday, February 19, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

This customer did not provide a text review.

Overall: a great car to own

By on Monday, April 3, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 57,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Owned a 2012 GTI (original owner) with a little over 57,000 miles in it. Likes: - Styling. Love the looks and design. Not overly loud, but attractive - Performance. The 2.0 turbo engine is strong enough for daily use. Dislikes: - Fuel economy. Im averaging 23 MPG. There are a lot of cars out there, some more powerful, with a much higher MPG - Reliability. Being a direct injection, carbon build up is a big headache. My car is having misfire issues now and the BG induction cleaning is not helping. I wish VW will address this issue with their future cars. Overall, I am happy with my GTI. Other than the carbon build up, it would have been a near-perfect auto."

My dream car for under 35k

By on Thursday, April 12, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 3,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, Fun, Fun, Safe and ergonomic."

Cons: "None."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I look forward to my morning drive just to get behind the wheel of my GTI. I love the sound of the turbo. With 207 lbs of torque passing on the freeway is fun and easy. The reviews on YouTube and online are accurate. The GTI is a well balanced machine. Go test drive a GTI and you will buy one."

Love this car

By on Sunday, February 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 17,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Good price, fun to drive"

Cons: "Adjusting the manual seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Best car I've ever owned"

Really fun to drive, very quick!

By on Wednesday, October 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 1,200

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, agile, well appointed."

Cons: "None!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought a Jetta for the gas mileage and was impressed with the quality of the car. I stopped by the dealership for service and saw the GTI on their lot. It was a two door, Autobahn edition with the DSG transmission. On a whim, I took the car out for a test drive. What a blast to drive! It is very fast and has great handling. I am getting about 28MPG, I am really impressed with this car..."

nice one again

By on Sunday, September 26, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I traded 2008 Rabit and got 2011 gti 4dr. Still under 1000 mile, still like it alot. Love handling conners. I got manual shift, it is a supper fun. Bluetooth and Navi is pretty easy to use and buttons of steering is also handy."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen GTI near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.