To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 274 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 49 50 51 ... 55 | Next

SOLD

By on Wednesday, November 21, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought one I'm ready to buy another.(C)"

By on Tuesday, November 20, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had my 2004 golf for over two years now, no problems with it at all! The one thing I can complain about though is the horsepower. I thought it would be a zippy little car, but it's not so zippy (especially going into the mountains). I have heard that once VW's hit 75k they start to break down a lot, so I'm getting a little worried about that, but I've still got 23k to go! Oh, and it's not so bad in the snow."

Aside from one or two things...

By on Monday, November 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"It has been good. I buy it used with 55,000 miles. Now with twice that number, I've only had a major issue with the car, can't even remember the details but it cost about $600 and a small link. Over all, I'm happy with it."

Good Purchase

By on Monday, November 19, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have had this car for almost five years, and nothing too serious has ever gone wrong. It does have some occasionial electrical issues, but very reliable otherwise."

Fun to drive

By on Tuesday, November 13, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"What can I say? I nearly started a lemon law return on this vehicle after I had it a month. It was in and out of the shop and then was in the shop for a whole month until they finally found the problem - which was in the wiring. It's a love/hate relationship. I love the car and love driving it, but the quality needs to be drastically improved. The check engine light comes on and off repeatedly...I don't pay any attention to it any longer as what the dealer did to "fix" it under warranty...never fixed it. The car is fun to drive and gets great fuel mileage - it is a diesel. It's not all that comfortable as far as the seats are concerned...they could have put a little more padding in them...they are hard. Would I recommend someone else buying this car? Probably not, and I am sure I will not buy another VW. Too bad, love the car, don't love the quality or the treatment I received from VW when I was having so many problems. I called them repeatedly and told them I wanted the car replaced or I was going to make them replace it through the lemon law. I decided not to go through with the lemon law suit even though a lawyer I contacted assured me it would definitely qualify. I really wanted the car and so decided to keep it when VW offered to make my car payment for the month it was in the shop."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 49 50 51 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.