To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2000 Volkswagen Golf

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 274 Ratings for the 1999 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.2/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

150,000 and strong

By on Monday, October 1, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"bought the car new in '03'. replaced only the water pump and a battery. lacks horsepower but the gas mileage makes up for it. sounds great with intake on it and looks fantastic after 4 years. i would recommend a vw to anyone looking to buy a new car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good enough car, but should be better

By on Monday, August 13, 2007

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Nice small hatchback. Looks great, especially the interior finish ... as good as an Audi. Had several warranty issues, so a bit annoying. One warranty issue led to premature break replacement at my own cost after warranty expired. Needs more power (the '07 Rabbit should have this problem fixed). Seems to hold its value well. I just hope that the electronics don't start failing me. So far, so good. Fingers crossed."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome Car

By on Friday, July 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car is awesome. Super fast and a blast to drive. Test drive one and you'll buy it. I've owned mine since 50k and is now at 80k with no problems. Definately suggest this car to anyone interested in it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

An old reliable friend.

By on Friday, May 12, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and cheap to maintain."

Cons: "A 4-cyl engine should be getting more than 27mpg."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought my 2004 VW Golf 4-dr black GLS in 2005. It had 7,500 miles. It had a 4-Cyl 2.0 liter gas engine. Practically new. Pretty much fell in love with the boxy contours. I have never had any major problems in the twelve years I have owned this vehicle. It is 2017 and it now has 105,000 miles. Battery died at 60,000 miles and replaced that for 170. Changed all four tires twice for around 350. Changed the 5W30 oil at every 5,000 miles for 30. Replaced temperature thermostat for 30. The biggest expense has been the timing belt and water pump replacement at 105,000 miles....that was 600. I am thinking about getting a newer car, but I wont trade or sell this car. This vehicle always starts and does not quit. Excellent vehicle."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Two owner vehicle just had a major service

By on Sunday, August 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 189,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fuel economy with performance"

Cons: "Higher mileage but in very good condition no rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"Just had major service performed Timing belt and tensioner serpentine belt and tensioner"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Golf near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.