To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1992 Volkswagen Cabriolet

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 28 Ratings for the 1992 - 1993 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next

Best Vehicle Ever

By on Friday, February 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I would recommend this car to anyone. I have owned several throughout the years and I would NEVER buy a different vehicle. It is sporty, fun, reliable, peppy, gets great gas mileage and will last forever. It is a pretty rare car in the midwest so if you find one buy it because the value is ony going to go up. I wuold also recommend getting a manual transmission if you can. They are much more fun and have a lot more get up and go. The only reason I have had more than one is because I bought one wrecked and didn't have the money to fix it and the other was involcved in a legal dispute and I lost it. AWESOME LITTLE CAR."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

This a great car

By on Sunday, July 20, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"They are great daily drivers and great on gas............."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Really fun, Great car

By on Tuesday, April 22, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I bought one of these about a year ago at age 20. It was my first car that was MINE. I loved it. It had great gas mileage and only cost me about 2,300.00. It is a great car that combines style, comfort, coolness, and practicality. most convertibles aren't good for much else besides holding two people. The manual version is alot of fun. Unfortunately, someone ran a stop sign and hit me, totalling my car. They are hard to come by in Indiana, so I'm stuck driving a dodge caravan in the mean time, but I'll never stop looking until I find another one."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Fun, cheap, reliable, cool

By on Monday, November 5, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Had this car for 46,000 miles now, currently has 171,000. Bought the car for $2,500 with an electrical problem. Once that was solved it has never failed to start, never failed to get me where I wanted to go. Cruise all day at 80 and it doesn't get hot. Parts are available everywhere though can be expensive from the dealer. For example, I needed a catalytic converter to pass smog, the dealer wanted $150. A universal fit costing $40 worked fine. Wish I had bought the 5-speed, the 3-speed auto is boring and slow to roll onto the freeway. Rear seating is cramped for 6-footers. Because of the built-in factory rollbar, I've been able to use this car like a truck, carrying box springs, chests of drawers, etc. A lot of fun to cruise Malibu with the top down on a summer's afternoon."

21 people out of 22 found this review helpful

A strong fun car

By on Monday, May 24, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought a 1990 cabriolet from the second owner. I have had the car for two years and have only put $69.00 in it for a new top I bought from Ebay and put on myself. The engine runs as smooth as silk and always starts. Good gas mileage, good "German feel" and people seem to love the car. Great on gas mileage too. The rollbar looks good and is a good safety feature. This is the first four person convertible I have owned. Too bad cars now aren't as good or as fun to drive."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 6 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Volkswagen Cabriolet near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.