To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2008 Toyota Yaris

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.1
Out of 10

Based on 795 Ratings for the 2007 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next

Super get about town or medium distance drive car

By on Saturday, August 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 68,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Price ok but rising, great mpg, good handling, so ugly it's cute"

Cons: "Not for long distance travel - never intended as such"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Look, you're not going to get the ride or bells and whistles of a BMW, Mercedes or Cadillac. I bought the Yaris (in '07 at 12K) as a second car, for my work as a volunteer driver for the American Red Cross. On average, I pick up blood donations 4 to 8 times a month in the Buffalo, NY area and drive them to Rochester, NY. These trips average 140 miles round trip. Living in NY, the extortionist tax state, gas prices are always 20 plus cents more than the national average. My Yaris is a miser on gas, averaging 40 /- mpg on the road, depending on weather/traffic conditions, as expected. It now has over 68000 miles and the only things I replaced were front brake pads and plugs (myself - they're easily accessible) at 50000 miles and front tires (shoulda rotated). Now the muffler is grumbling like my beloved wife) and I am going to buy a new one. My Yaris is a 5 speed manual, base car. It served its intended purpose well. Quick manuevering, sporty ride (that's "stiff" to those wanting a marshmallow ride), drives well in snow (I live in Buffalo), reliable - has always started and gone even being non-garage housed, and the hatchback provides all the room I need to transport the coolers and boxes of blood I deliver. I would not venture on a cross country trip in it but that's what I have my Dodge Grand Caravan for - to tow my utility trailer, my mini popup camper and to drive my 5 granddaughters around. If you are looking for a zip about town, economical vehicle, buy this guy!!!!"

25 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Can't kill it

By on Sunday, October 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "low gas milage"

Cons: "not for tall people"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Gets 36-38 mpg ave just change the oil it just keeps on running and running i will die before my toyota does."

18 people out of 18 found this review helpful

Best little Pick-Up Truck I ever owned!! LOL

By on Monday, December 28, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 79,291

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Gas mileage, PARKING!, Price, Surprise...Comfort!"

Cons: "Roll up windows"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My 2009 Yaris Farm Truck! LOL

"I walked onto the lot in 2009 and told the guy I wanted the best gas mileage car on the lot. I didn't care what it was or what it looked like or what options it had with the exception of a/c and a radio. At the time my commute was 80 miles one way and two hours at best. I was filling up every other day and it was killing me. At 35 to 40 mpg life became a breeze but as the Gods would have it 6 months later I was offered early retirement!!! 2 months later and knowing nothing about horses I was offered a job on an Arabian Show Horse farm. My car was then transformed into my farm pick up truck! With the back seat folded down I have packed this vehicle with every tool and screw needed. I can carry up to 8 two by fours 8 foot long. I've carried ten by ten 10 foot long posts. Iv'e carried over 20 60 pound bags of cement! Here's a pic of the back of this vehicle packed with my saws, lumber, tools and chain saws!! I have beat the heck out of this little clown car. I have driven through the horse fields and over dirt and gravel roads. It has never let me down a single time! I change the oil ever 3 thousand miles and fix what I break but it won't die! Imagine a horse farm parking lot filled with huge F-150's and 250's and this little bug!! But unlike those guys I have no monthly payments and I can go 400 miles on 10 gallons of gas!!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

My 2009 Yaris Farm Truck! LOL

Best car ever!

By on Friday, January 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 49,680

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "GREAT price, drive, easy to park,GREAT on gas!"

Cons: "no mud flaps, leg room in front"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have no power ANYTHING! No rear defrost and a 5-speed. Car was brand new and inexpensive!!! Have been rear ended and the car held up pefectly! No engine trouble ever. A little noisy inside the car. Perfect for a single person or a couple with no kids. No real trunk space but the back seat folds down for lots of room!!"

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Not meant for the family

By on Friday, July 27, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

"I am a 23 year old mother of a 4 year old with special needs. I was the first person to buy a Yaris sedan at my local dealership March of 2006. My car gets an average of 38 miles to the gallon, after I used slick 50. The unique styling still makes people look at me when I drive by and people still ask if its a hybrid. I love the sport shifter and believe it or not, it only takes a few days to get used to everything in the center console. In fact when I use my husbands' camry, it feels awkard. Cons- If you are a long commuter, the seats are not that comfy. Car seats can fit in the rear, but do not put them in the center because your childs feet will be squished. The trunk can accomadate a stroller and a walker, but nothing else."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

love love love love

By on Tuesday, February 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "best ever"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i got my yaris as my first car when i was 17 as the first owner and i have always loved it and still do, the acceleration isnt crazy but who cares. i freakin love my yaris and still have it. theyre cheap to fix if there is ever a problem and you save loads on gas. i just absolutely love my car. i want a new one in the future but toyotas last forever and i know my car has alot of life left in it. I will only ever get another yaris."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Toyota knows how to build cars!

By on Monday, October 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 60,122

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price. Easy to drive. Much room inside."

Cons: "Absolutely NONE!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used in 2009. I fell in love with it as soon as I drove it! It has lots of leg room in the back seat. Lots of places to put "stuff" and drink holders on the door instead of in the middle of the car. It has much better pick up for a small car than any Ford, Mercury or Chevy I've ever owned. I like the conciseness of the speedometer, a/c, heat, fan, etc., at the middle of the front console. I am one who keeps my car maintenanced on a regular basis. This car will last me forever!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

this is one hot mama

By on Friday, February 29, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"wow i never thought in a million years this car would be able to tow my boat to the U.P of Michigan but it really did, I welding a hitch to the back and hauled er' up der. This baby has some nice power for a little guy and enough room for all my firends. I get a few funny looks when im towing my boat and wearing my stormy kromer but hey im saving lots of gas money you know? This car is just great and i would recommend it to anyone"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Safety, Economy, and Reliability

By on Thursday, December 6, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my Yaris in May 2007 and have loved it. It handles beautifully, and I get 38-39 mpg. When I insured it, my insurance rate was actually lower for the brand new Yaris than it had been for the four-year-old Dodge Neon. My insurance agent explained that this is because of the Yaris's high safety rating. I had the opportunity to test out the Yaris's safety features two days ago. Another driver hit ice and slammed into my car at a good speed. My air bag deployed, and the front of my car was completely demolished. HOWEVER, the inside of the car looks as though there was no collision at all. I walked out of the wreck with nothing more than some pretty ugly seat belt bruises and air bag pain. Nothing broken! Needless to say, I'm in the process of purchasing my second Toyota Yaris. I'd highly recommend the car to anyone who is looking for quality, safety, and reliability at a reasonable price."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

LOVE THIS CAR!

By on Sunday, April 3, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 90,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun, reliable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Perfect for me, a short person. Driving position and comfort excellent. Great acceleration. Easy to get a speeding ticket. My 6'2" son fits in the front passenger seat just fine. Lots of cargo room for its size. Convenient placement of controls, cup holders, lots of nice compartments. Only routine maintenance in 1st 90,000 miles. Handles like a go-cart, loves curves up and downhill."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 80 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Yaris near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.