Go

2008 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1514 Ratings for the 2005 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next

Easilt the best small pickup I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 9, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 42,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Engine power, fuel economy, solid construction"

Cons: "Seating position awkward"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Although this is just a plain old small pickup, hats off to Toyota for putting thought into the redesign. While it might be slightly overpriced, everything youd come to expect from Toyota is delivered. It drives like a car, with the center of gravity and handling being a huge component. The braking system is near flawless and engine power is greatly improved with their 2.7 liter four-cylinder. The 5-speed manual transmission shifts flawlessly. Interior convenience features are all easy to operate and reach. The seatback is a little further recessed, so it can make the reach to the pedals more challenging if you dont have long legs, and the seating position sometimes feels slightly congested at the mid-torso. Luckily, the telescoping & tilt steering wheel help with that to some degree. Love this truck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best mid-size truck and four wheel drive vehicle!

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Security in knowing the Tacoma will get you there."

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing breaks, can't get it stuck, quality outstanding, it just doesn't get better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"even better"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best truck I have owned

By on Thursday, January 2, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy riding, good looking truck"

Cons: "1 recall. 1 minor factory defect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 55,000 miles I have had only 1 minor problem in which the dealer incorrectly diagnosed but which I figured out. It cost me nothing to repair it. All routine maintenance has been followed but nothing beyond that. I have owned 2 Nissan trucks prior to this. This Toyota has them beat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!!!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, size, power, interior comfort, reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolutely the best truck I've ever owned. I've had other Toyotas and have never had a bad experience"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "relaible, sturdy, dependable"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck, sturdy, handles great, great acceleration and enough power for towing a large boat"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can'tbeat the quality!

By on Friday, August 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "high quality"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Although this truck had over 250K miles when we purchased-it was very tight and ran very smooth :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

greatest truck ever

By on Tuesday, August 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reiable and confortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2005 toyota 4 door prerunner sr5 270000 miles runs and drives like new I have enjoyed driving this truck like no other it does everything I need done always ready too go reliable and low normal maintance I will buy same truck in 2015 I use in my job traveling state of new mexico have driven more than 1 million miles in toyotas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck. Never once let me down

By on Sunday, July 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "OH, what a feeling."

Cons: "I have base truck so no intermittent wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very very dependable. 21 highway mpg and 17 around town with the six cylinder and 6 speed manual. They could have had the 5th speed as an overdrive and the 6th speed as an extra overdrive. This truck has super torque. Can drive at 30 in 6th gear. I often go from 1st to third to 6th with no problem. Is great in the snow. Can't say enough aout this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Overall Vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 8, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicle. Good for family trasnport and for typical hauling to dump, towing boats..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable, functional, retains value

By on Sunday, May 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "functionality, looks, resale value, reliability"

Cons: "mpg, initial price, frame rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"have a 2007 double cab 4x4. very practical/functional for off-road, camping, snowy/icy roads, etc. no mechanical issues after 5yrs; however there is significant surface rust on the frame down below, something tacomas are notorious for. just recently sold my 2007 for about $1800 less than i bought it for 5yrs ago--didn't realize it when i bought it, but resale value is actually the best feature of this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, reliable, could use improvements

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Light, fast, great 4X4, cool design"

Cons: "cup holders, rear view mirror, driver comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Tacoma. My 2002 was completely reliable with 80K miles on it, but I wanted a 4 wheel drive, so I treated myself to a new Tacoma in 2007. Overall, it is a great vehicle....oil and air filter changes pretty much sum up the routine maintenance. However, the brakes have had to be changed twice, and the original plugs were fouled, and when checked I was told by the mechanic that the plugs were not the usual Toyota plugs, but a cheaper brand. Also, the use of a LOT more plastic, particularly outside the vehicle, is disappointing on a truck like this....scratches easily, and expensive to replace. Fuel economy is pretty dismal for a six cylinder, in my opinion...I would think that Toyota would be able to at least achieve over 20 mpg minimum when the big boys are doing it with V8s pretty routinely now. Interior wise, the drivers side is smaller than the passenger side by inches (I do not understand this), the rear view mirror is too low, and the cup holders make no sense. HOWEVER...after 76000 miles of pretty much trouble free driving on the highway for 1800 mile road trips, in Vegas summer heat, in bad bumper to bumper stop and go traffic, I have to say that I love this truck. Yes, there are improvements design wise that could be made, but overall this is a great, reliable truck, and I have no doubt that I could put 150-200K miles on it with very little repairs or breakdowns."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great PU with low mileage.

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and is very reliable."

Cons: "Don't have a need for a 4-wheel drive vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This PU is probably the best 2007 you can buy. Well taken care of by original owner. Reason for selling: Want to purchase a new vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

1st time truck owner

By on Tuesday, February 7, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "nice freeway driving."

Cons: "turning radius(not bad tho)"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've always been a jeep guy, this is a fun truck to drive. I do however miss the small turn radius, this truck is fast, handles well, accelerates quickly, and has alot of room and vision for the driver."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

realy good truck

By on Tuesday, January 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "trd package makes a big diffrence"

Cons: "cant put the top down like i can in my jeep"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"best truck i have ever owened"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love this Truck

By on Thursday, December 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 4,458

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive worth the price tons of cup holders"

Cons: "Driver seat does not raise up."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The 2011 Toyota Tacoma is a top choice in the midsize pickup segment thanks to its highly capable nature and wide array of configurations. Engines offer a good balance of power and fuel efficiency; wide variety of body styles and trims; strong safety scores; impressive build quality; well-appointed interior."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Sunday, December 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very fun to drive, gets compliments frequently!"

Cons: "Leather trim 3rd party only."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wouldn't buy any other truck!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "everything"

Cons: "nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"drives like new!!!!!!!! a beast off road and on. so much space and good on gas, whats not to love!!!!!!!!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

The only truck I will ever buy

By on Tuesday, November 15, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, reliable, great resale value"

Cons: "lack of color choices."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Tacoma, and my experience with this vehicle has been superb. Other than oil changes, all I have to do is gas it up. On my first Tacoma, I put more than 250,000 miles on it and it was still going strong, I only bought this one because the new style is just too hard to resist. I know I will be driving this one for a long time..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Best Mid-Size truck - No Contest

By on Friday, October 28, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Sporty Styling, Great for road trips"

Cons: "Squeeky blower motor, terrible cruise control"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This truck has done everything I have needed! It is a great compact truck with plenty of power and capability and has not let me down. I have over $100K miles and have done only regular oil changes and tire rotation. The truck gets respectable gas mileage and is a comfortable truck to drive on long road trips. This has been my favorite truck to own and drive and plan to keep on driving to at least 200K. My only complaints are the squeeky blower motor most notably in the winter months and the cruise control is jumpy when you start climbing a hill. I always have to take it off cruise control when encountering a hill. Overall this truck has been great and would buy another Tacoma. Have actually considered buying my wife one. I have a tonneau cover and makes for a great family vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

AWESOME!!

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 80,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perfect Do Anything Vehicle"

Cons: "Pricey - not good for commuting"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good to carry people - light to medium work load - comfortable - roomy - perfect for less than fair weather conditions - handles amazing - rugged - durable"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great little truck that could..

By on Sunday, October 16, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Perform as expected?"

Cons: "Light traction on rear wheels"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This little truck could do everything I toss at. I don't know how Toyota is going to improve this truck to be better when they need to perform full model change.. I can’t wait to see next generation Tacoma! How are they going to tell me next generation Tacoma are better then mine to me?"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Found my forever truck!

By on Friday, October 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 23,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "styling, safety, adaptability"

Cons: "Tailgate strength"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Overall best truck I have owned. Work or play, it has what I look for in a truck. Power is impressive for a mid-size truck, breaking is powerful, towing capacity is higher than advertised and very smooth. Only criticism of this truck is the low quality of the tailgate. It is hollow with very thin sheet metal on exterior with bedliner wall on the inside, making it difficult to place weight on. Specs say it can handle 200lbs and I find that anything over 100lbs creates a sense of caution before continuing to load. Overall however, it is a high quality and ultimately reliable truck. The Nissan Frontier, Ford Ranger, Honda Ridgeline or any other similar midsize truck doesn't compare to the quality and value retention."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome Truck

By on Wednesday, October 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive and fast"

Cons: "no fold out cupholders/arm rest in the backseat but are on back of console"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The truck is good on gas, its fast, impressive horsepower for a mid size. It never gives me problems and i could drive it anyway anywhere i want. The resale value is nice also."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

good truck

By on Sunday, September 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
4/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "easy to work on"

Cons: "not much horse power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"very good truck"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 61 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.