Go

1997 Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1629 Ratings for the 1995 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.4/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.6/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 326 | Next

She just keeps going!

By on Friday, February 3, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 220,073

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "the MOST relabel longest lasting truck"

Cons: "Not a lot of power shell get you there"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My grandfather gave me this truck as my first car. it was at around 180k miles and was my first experience with a manual. An inexperienced driver who knew nothing about the third pedal, i thought that i would kill the poor thing. 5 years, 8 oil changes and 40k miles later she still runs like a dream. i have never had a problem with it. No leaks, quick start up, and nice gas. besides the normal maintenance like tires, oil, filters etc, NOTHING has been changed. Same engine transmission diff and CLUTCH. the only thing i washed it had more of was power but its a 150hp S4 cant really expect too much haha"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Never should have put a 4-cylinder in this truck

By on Monday, July 7, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable beyond belief, will likely run forever"

Cons: "4-cynlinder, odd placement of components"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My biggest complaint about this truck is the four cylinder engine. This is not a large truck, but four cylinders is not large enough for the truck. The exceleration leaves much to be desired; a problem I think could be fixed with a six cylinder engine. Maintance can be difficult due to odd placement of several components, including: oil filter, O-2 sensors and belts. Reliable beyond belief. I bought it used in 2008 with 76,000 miles. Several cross country trips and 59,000 miles later, she still runs like new"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Excellent Truck, Very Reliable and easy to drive!!

By on Saturday, June 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Very Reliable, Easy to drive, also fun to drive."

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great vehicle. I bought new and have owned 11 years with no problems. A/C still blows 47 degrees. Only basic maintenance has been needed such as tires and oil changes."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Very reliable and economic; very few repairs in 4Y

By on Thursday, May 1, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 172,638

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this truck; it has served me well. Very reliable, with hardly any problems. Just routine maintenance."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

My second Toyota truck great dependable vehicle

By on Saturday, February 8, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 170,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable holds its value"

Cons: "gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Toyota truck and i can always depend on it. you keep regular maintenance on it it will serve you well. worth the value and trade in value too. one downside is the mpg. you would think its time for a truck to have the same gas mileage they are making cars these days. why do mfg hold back when we know its possible? other than that i love my Toyota and would buy another if i didnt care about gas mileage"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 4 5 6 ... 326 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Regular Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.