Go

2005 Toyota Tacoma Double Cab

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 1499 Ratings for the 2005 - 2015 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.2/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next

Best mid-size truck and four wheel drive vehicle!

By on Monday, March 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 61,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Security in knowing the Tacoma will get you there."

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Nothing breaks, can't get it stuck, quality outstanding, it just doesn't get better."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great

By on Wednesday, March 12, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"even better"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

best truck I have owned

By on Thursday, January 2, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Easy riding, good looking truck"

Cons: "1 recall. 1 minor factory defect."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"In 55,000 miles I have had only 1 minor problem in which the dealer incorrectly diagnosed but which I figured out. It cost me nothing to repair it. All routine maintenance has been followed but nothing beyond that. I have owned 2 Nissan trucks prior to this. This Toyota has them beat."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck!!!

By on Monday, December 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "style, size, power, interior comfort, reliability"

Cons: "Gas mileage could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"absolutely the best truck I've ever owned. I've had other Toyotas and have never had a bad experience"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Its a really good truck specially if you custom

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 40,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive"

Cons: "Alot of ugrades you can do to it"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"At first it looks bad with that ugly 15" wheels i upgrade mine with a 3" lift and bigger tires plus a sony tomtom navigation system towing packing fog lights and i add an outlet on the bed it looks so good oh plus new hid headlights it looks amaizing and its stilll really goood in gas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, December 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "relaible, sturdy, dependable"

Cons: "poor gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Great truck, sturdy, handles great, great acceleration and enough power for towing a large boat"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

awesome truck

By on Saturday, November 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 158,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "work horse, reliable, powerful"

Cons: "interior room, faded headlamps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been an awesome truck. Bought it new in 2005 and havent had any problems with it at all. I'm concerned that my next vehicle will not meet the expectations that my '05 Tacoma has given me. I'm a big Toyota fan. Looking at the Tundra now because I need the interior room."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Can'tbeat the quality!

By on Friday, August 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 260,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "high quality"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Although this truck had over 250K miles when we purchased-it was very tight and ran very smooth :)"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

greatest truck ever

By on Tuesday, August 6, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reiable and confortable"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"2005 toyota 4 door prerunner sr5 270000 miles runs and drives like new I have enjoyed driving this truck like no other it does everything I need done always ready too go reliable and low normal maintance I will buy same truck in 2015 I use in my job traveling state of new mexico have driven more than 1 million miles in toyotas"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great truck. Never once let me down

By on Sunday, July 7, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "OH, what a feeling."

Cons: "I have base truck so no intermittent wipers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very very dependable. 21 highway mpg and 17 around town with the six cylinder and 6 speed manual. They could have had the 5th speed as an overdrive and the 6th speed as an extra overdrive. This truck has super torque. Can drive at 30 in 6th gear. I often go from 1st to third to 6th with no problem. Is great in the snow. Can't say enough aout this truck."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Excellent Overall Vehicle

By on Wednesday, May 8, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 36,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great vehicle. Good for family trasnport and for typical hauling to dump, towing boats..."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

This is a great small truck!

By on Saturday, May 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 69,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintainence, great design"

Cons: "Sensor indicators, lack of molding, no ashtray"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Never having a truck before I decided to buy the 2006 Tacoma regular cab. I wanted something that I could fit into (6'4" and 260lbs) but not spend alot on gas with the bigger models. I've had it for 7 years now and keep up on the routine oil changes and suggested lifetime maintainence. I've only had a few inconvienences. Those being *Floor matt* and sprial cable recalls. Two things that are minor that I don't care for or wish was different would be 1)molding on the sides of the door to stop knick/dents from others doors 2) not have the tire sensors. It's aggravating to have the light come on without a real indication of what the problem is. It could mean that you need air in the spare (a pain), oil change reminder to something more serious. Plus you have to turn off the light manually. I've gone in for an oil change and the techs either forget or don't know how to turn it off. I live in the desert where the sun is a killer on most cars interior. My dash and other plastics look almost as good as the day I got it. Smokers beware...there is NO ashtray! The gas milage is around 15/23 mpg. If you're looking for a great smaller truck I'd recommend this one!"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Unmatched in reliability,

By on Friday, April 12, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,012

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable reliable reliable"

Cons: "Trans downshifting at slow speed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Probs with trans downshifting at slow speeds! Very annoying to shift into first gear unnecessarily and be thrown forward. Thats the only con! And that says a lot. This truck is going to last 300k easily. I can tell already since my 4runner has and my 1st Tacoma did. Toyota is all I've ever owned and they all destroy the comp in reliability."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love This Truck

By on Monday, February 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought the Baja addition and threw a supercharger in it. If you use it for what its ment for you can't go wrong. However, if you are looking to tow heavy weight or for a road trip vehicle, then this is not the truck for you."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

reliable, functional, retains value

By on Sunday, May 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,300

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "functionality, looks, resale value, reliability"

Cons: "mpg, initial price, frame rust"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"have a 2007 double cab 4x4. very practical/functional for off-road, camping, snowy/icy roads, etc. no mechanical issues after 5yrs; however there is significant surface rust on the frame down below, something tacomas are notorious for. just recently sold my 2007 for about $1800 less than i bought it for 5yrs ago--didn't realize it when i bought it, but resale value is actually the best feature of this vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I Love my Tacoma it is such a reliable truck!

By on Saturday, May 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,100

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is the best!!! This is my 4th and I've had this one for 6 years and I am still loving it... Need I say more???"

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Love to drive this truck! My favorite vehicle.

By on Sunday, April 1, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Solid, good looking, comfortable, positive driving truck. Well built."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Good solid off road truck off the lot.

By on Thursday, March 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 700

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Good long term value on a great truck."

Cons: "Trucks all around need better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The TRD off road pkg is often written up as a harsh ride, but I find it to be very good all around. Nice looking, useful offroad truck that I expect to last for a very long time. Bought a new Tacoma because the used ones were basicaly the same price range; obviously hold up their resale value very well."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Awesome little truck

By on Wednesday, March 28, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 56,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, Quality, Fun, Off Road"

Cons: "Towing MPGs, Interior a little plastic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I can't say enough about this truck (2005 V6 Access Cab TRD Off Road). It's everything I wanted from my 1988 and 1999 Tacomas, plus modern style and power. It looks good, reliable, feels quality (door sounds good when it shuts, if you know what I mean), and off roads with the best of them. I've had it off road extensively. This little truck would climb a tree if you let it. I put it up against my friends F-150 and Silverado in the hills of WV. They couldn't keep up, too big and slow. Several of my friends liked it so much that 3 of them bought Tacos of their own. Only con I have found is towing. It's a powerful V6, however with a heavier load, even the slightest grade will cause it to kick down a gear, killing gas. If you are on the fence about getting one of these...just pull the trigger and get one. You will not regret it."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great Truck

By on Tuesday, March 27, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 30,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Holds value, looks great."

Cons: "Not that great on gas, small bed"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Ive owned three trucks, Ranger, Silverado, and now the Tacoma. I love the truck, its the perfect size. I love the four dour, and it has great power."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great vehicle, reliable, could use improvements

By on Tuesday, March 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 76,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Light, fast, great 4X4, cool design"

Cons: "cup holders, rear view mirror, driver comfort"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is my second Tacoma. My 2002 was completely reliable with 80K miles on it, but I wanted a 4 wheel drive, so I treated myself to a new Tacoma in 2007. Overall, it is a great vehicle....oil and air filter changes pretty much sum up the routine maintenance. However, the brakes have had to be changed twice, and the original plugs were fouled, and when checked I was told by the mechanic that the plugs were not the usual Toyota plugs, but a cheaper brand. Also, the use of a LOT more plastic, particularly outside the vehicle, is disappointing on a truck like this....scratches easily, and expensive to replace. Fuel economy is pretty dismal for a six cylinder, in my opinion...I would think that Toyota would be able to at least achieve over 20 mpg minimum when the big boys are doing it with V8s pretty routinely now. Interior wise, the drivers side is smaller than the passenger side by inches (I do not understand this), the rear view mirror is too low, and the cup holders make no sense. HOWEVER...after 76000 miles of pretty much trouble free driving on the highway for 1800 mile road trips, in Vegas summer heat, in bad bumper to bumper stop and go traffic, I have to say that I love this truck. Yes, there are improvements design wise that could be made, but overall this is a great, reliable truck, and I have no doubt that I could put 150-200K miles on it with very little repairs or breakdowns."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

compact truck small inside goes anywhere

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,458

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "keeps its value..wont let you down..decent on fuel"

Cons: "small..price.."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Bought brand new..i have until i die..want bigger truck like tundra..but like most..you pay for the vehicle..should have bought the tundra instead of the tacoma..but wont let go of my little guy..just going to get his bigger brother in a few more years or if i find one for the right price.."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Great PU with low mileage.

By on Monday, March 19, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Fun to drive and is very reliable."

Cons: "Don't have a need for a 4-wheel drive vehicle."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This PU is probably the best 2007 you can buy. Well taken care of by original owner. Reason for selling: Want to purchase a new vehicle."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

I love this truck!!

By on Sunday, March 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 8,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Value for the money"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the first pick up I've ever owned myself, have driven many over the years. Purchased as a third car so we would have something to haul with and my wife could use it as a winter car with the 4 wheel drive system. We have owned it for two years and will look forward to keeping it for many years to come."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

great truck

By on Wednesday, February 22, 2012

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed v8

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "quality driven"

Cons: "bigger guys, 6' and above, not a good fit..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"needed a bigger truck.... its been the best truck ive owned in my lifetime."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 60 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Tacoma Double Cab near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement