Go

2001 Toyota Prius

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.0
Out of 10

Based on 137 Ratings for the 2001 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.3/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.1/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next

AWESOME, BEAUTIFUL, SAFE, ECONOMICAL

By on Tuesday, October 8, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything"

Cons: "Nothing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After just a few months with it I have put 3162 miles on it. My car is averaging at 40 mpg. I had previously owned an Accord. Now that I have my car I think I hate my Accord. Buy this car. GOOD JOB TOYOTA."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Monday, July 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This car has been trouble free. It is solid and has a high quality feel when driving. It is silent in steath mode and drives great. I get close to 50 mpg in normal driving, but if I try I can get mid to upper 50's mpg. The car has pletty of power due to the high torque from the electric motors. The CVT transmission does not shift like most cars, adding to how smooth and quite this car is. It is hard to go wrong with a Toyota."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great in most respects

By on Sunday, July 20, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"The good: mpg winter: 42ish, mpg summer 49ish great visibility due to window configuration room for four tall adults turns on a dime The not so good: not great on winter roads w/ stock tires stock tires-Bridgestone Potenza wear fast requires minute steering corrections center console arm rest too low cupholder in back seat is an afterthought Despite its idiosynchracies, we love our Prius. It's easy to drive in the city due to its size and turning radius etc. We had an electrical drivetrain issue but it was completely covered under warranty and no problems since."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, June 24, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"46 mpg at 177,000. hasn't needed any major mtnc. A good ride."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great little car -- reliable fab mileage

By on Monday, December 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "great mileage, feel good about yourself driving it"

Cons: "radio tuning not so easy -- obstructed view"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Maintenance costs way lower than our Subaru Outback. Mileage better than advertised -- consistently about 45 in city; 50 to and from beach or NYC on highways. Three teenagers can fit in back seat. Trunk is surprisingly roomy. Love the instant feedback on leadfootedness - it gives immediate mpg indication, as well as in five minute blocks of time, plus average for trip."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

good vehicle

By on Sunday, October 23, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "great fuel economy, easy to drive"

Cons: "average reliability"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Easy to drive, great around town and commuter car, hybrid technology works well, actual lifetime fuel economy averages 40 mpg. Ours has 135,000 miles on it, but as the car aged we have had some problems, had to replace computer and catalytic converter, both cost us more than a thousand dollars (special hybrid catalytic converters are expensive). We always have maintained it carefully, regular oil changes and service have been a priority for us, it never has suffered from neglect. Overall we have have been very happy with the car but we don't anyone to think it has been completely trouble free. As reliability goes it is on par with the other vehicles we have owned, no better."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

We Purchased Used 5 Years ago!

By on Monday, October 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 178,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Mpg, handling, reliability, comphy seats"

Cons: "Left foot block, OEM tires"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Love this car. We're at 178K and we put 88 of those on since we bought the car used. We've needed no major repairs and love the low mileage. Also, finally got rid of the OEM tires, they wore too fast for the amount of driving we do. We just purchased a set of Michelin Integritys. We're counting on them lasting at least 4-5k."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

amazing MPG and saved me serious $$ on fuel

By on Saturday, May 22, 2010

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I own a 1005 Impala SS, and a 2004 Silverado SS. I drive the prius as a daily "to work" vehicle. It would cost me $400 a month in fuel for either of the other vehicles. The Prius costs me roughly $80 a month / based on 1600-1800 miles a month driving. Its reliable and hasn't given me one problem in the 2 years I have owned it. It has 230,000 miles. Yes , I said 230,000 miles. And gets 52 MPG every tank full. Nuff said."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great car

By on Sunday, March 8, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"what is not to love about a prius. great gas milaedge, runs great, quiet and never any issues"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Monday, June 23, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"a 2002, bought in 2004; had 28,00 miles on it. Drovew it from Jacksonville, Fl. to New Orleans & aroud that town and back on three tanks of fuel. Drove to outer Banks, N.C. twice. Avg. 48 mpg, spouse did 42 mpg. Actually did better on the road than in Jax. city traffic. Beware repairs. Too many things only Toyota can supply/repair. replaced a small "standard" sized battery; cost $342.00. Three dealerships could not "replicate'' a steering problem, even with dash lighs as a guide. Might buy another if the price was right. Does no good to save on fuel if the initial car cost and repairs eat up the "savings". Recommend safety. Tub/interior of car had no damage from a 70 mph head on collision except what I did clibing out of passenger side door. I walked away with a concussion and lost 30 minutesof memory."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 14 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Prius near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.