Go

2007 Toyota Matrix

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.8
Out of 10

Based on 563 Ratings for the 2003 - 2008 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.9/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.9/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next

I LOVE THIS CAR

By on Friday, August 17, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned just about every size car from a Toyota Celica (which was my mid-life crises car) to a Dodge Caravan. But I LOVE THIS CAR. The size is perfect for keeping a large dog kennel set up and still have plenty of room for packing up and going off to the beach. Of course, I do not use the rear seat, except as cargo. The styling is attractive, it handles well, I love the brakes and there was minimal damange and no personal injury at all when I was rear ended by a Lincoln Navigator. When I have used the rear seat for adult passengers, they were pleasantly surprised by the large amount of space they had. Gas economy is good, but could be better. Overall, this is a great all around car. Not the quickest car on the road, but adequate for most situations. Only reason I gave comfort a 4 instead of a 5, is that the drivers seat took a little time to get used to. I only wish that I could get this car with heated seats. I would trade mine in on a new one in a heart beat!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great car for the money

By on Friday, August 3, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I AM 6'2" TALL AND HAVE BACK PROBLEMS. THIS IS ONE OF THE FEW SMALL CARS THAT I'M COMFORTABLE SITTING IN. GREAT CAR, BUT A LITTLE ROUGH RIDING OVER SMALL POT HOLES AND BUMPS IN THE ROAD."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fun to scoot around in

By on Monday, July 30, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I fell in love with this car when I first saw it. I was looking for a bigger and more expensive car. I drove it and had to have it. I had several extras put on it and waited for four months for the car to be built. It was well worth the wait. I would recommend this car to anyone who drives a lot and needs to haul "stuff". The back seats lay down and give you lots of room for carrying large items. Lots of head and leg room too, in both the front and back seats."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

so much room

By on Tuesday, October 18, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "lots of space, great family car, good gas mileage"

Cons: "outside noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I love this car. The number one thing I always brag about is all the space in this car. Lots of head room. The trunk space is nice but the real show stopper is when you lay the back seats down flat. I have literally fit a dining room table and 4 chairs in the back. I would say the biggest negative I have to about the car is the exterior noise. Outside noise, like driving on the highway, is so loud inside the car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car!

By on Monday, August 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 136,800

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a great car. I bought it used and have ran this car all over the country. Not one single problem, ever. I love the great gas milage it gets, the comfort, and the room it allows. I recommend this car for anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Saturday, May 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 78,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun, gas mileage, lots of storage,holds its value"

Cons: "stock ride height, wheel gap"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

summer mode

"My favorite vehicle that I have owned. Not a real fast car, but feels sporty, and handles well with a few minor mods. Extremely reliable with no problems up to this point at 78,000 miles. Very easy to do all of the maintenance yourself at home too. Car has never been in for repairs or maintenance. Highly recommend this car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

summer mode

Beware and do your research

By on Thursday, April 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
Not Rated
Quality
1/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
7/10
Comfort
3/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"Had to replace the clutch on this 2006 model in 2011, at about 50-60,000 miles. Cost $1,000. Three years later (when the odometer has just crossed the 100K mark), the clutch is slipping again. There are a lot of similar cases written about in online forums; just a quick search will show that this is a common problem with this vehicle. Such a serious and expensive design flaw from a maker with a reputation for quality and reliability. Not. Aside from the clutch, it has been a pretty good vehicle, with a lot of space for hauling doggies or other stuff. Brakes were replaced for the first time two months ago ($700); tires were replaced early on. I believe Toyota has a reputation for shabby tires. The heat shield came loose several months ago and a 'temporary' repair is holding. Without the clutch issue, I'd have a very positive report on this car...but the clutch is a deal-breaker, cost, safety and reliability-wise."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

White Steed

By on Saturday, March 29, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Taught handling, durability, winter prowess"

Cons: "Ride can be harsh, large blind spot, rear legroom"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

All waxed up, shining in the sun

"Fourth owner of this particular 'trix. Very satisfied. Had it two years and have put over 35k miles on it. No complaints. Only major part I've had to replace is one wheel bearing, and I'm pretty sure that was my fault for taking it off road in the hills near where I live and trouncing through mud and rocks. That was fun. It's a great dog car, and takes a beating. It handles snow with aplomb, which is great for me and my wife, since we travel over mountain passes frequently, especially during the holidays. A nice buy, it's held its value pretty well, and I intend to keep it as long as I can use it to rack up miles on long trips. A good little pony that can go the distance."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

All waxed up, shining in the sun

I love the Matrix

By on Wednesday, November 13, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great to drive, good gas mileage"

Cons: "Can't think of any cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car used with 12,000 miles on it in 2008 for a bargain price. I love the size, handling, and great gas mileage. Never a single thing wrong with the engine in 5 years except lost a couple of hub caps. I closely follow manufacturer's recommendations for maintenance, oil changes and have those done by my Toyota dealer. Keep it washed inside and outside regularly. Has all the basics nothing fancy. If you want an all around car good on the interstate or in town, this is it. I'm not sure they are making them like this one any more but it is a winner."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great reliable car

By on Friday, August 23, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "I like the way it handles."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful mpg. Winter driving has been no lower than 29 mpg and is usually upwards of 33 mpg. In good weather I have gotten up to 40 mpg. I do routine maintenance through the Toyota dealership and that's it. I changed the battery for the first time recently. I also bought actual snow tires for the winters here and traction has been great since then."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good Mileage, Good Road Car, Spacious Rear

By on Saturday, August 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 134,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Comfortable Road Car, Good Highway Power"

Cons: "4WD decreases mileage about 5 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Very good value, especially for a 4WD. Driving ergonomics are excellent. Folding rear seat yields large cargo volume. Versatile, Comfortable, Economical to Drive."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

roomy, reliable, great gas mileage

By on Thursday, February 28, 2013

I owned and sold this car
Reason: sold to a relative who needs a good car

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "lots of space; 33/36 MPG highway safe"

Cons: "get the XR with upgrades-worth it!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I've had the full XRT model with all bells and whistles, and this stripped down model. Both are safe (I walked away from an accident that totaled the car), good value, and get good MPG, but I recommend the upgraded version, it will be worth it in the long run. Handles well in the snowy icy backroads. Dont expect quick acceleration. You can fit ten 8' long 2x4 in this vehicle, or bags of feed, camping gear, etc. Handles decently on curves and hills for a car of its class. Excellent commuter car for country-to-city."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car, Bad Hubs!!

By on Saturday, December 29, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,100

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great on gas, Lot's of room and comfortable."

Cons: "What's with the Hub problems?"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"I don't know what's with this Matrix I have but I have changed out the front hubs 3 times! I replaced the front hubs once at 43,000 miles,then again at 60,000 miles and again at 85,000 miles!! Yes 3 Times because they have broken or rusted out. Mechanic couldn't understand it either. Overall the car is wonderful but I wouldn't buy another one due to the hub problem."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love my matrix!

By on Monday, November 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Roomy, back folds down to carry a ton of items"

Cons: "Don't like the fabric seats."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this car four years ago and have put 100,00 miles on it. It has been the best car I have ever owned."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very dependable!

By on Sunday, November 13, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 227,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "dependable, good on gas"

Cons: "hard to get up big hills"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Since I have had my Toyota Matrix XR I have only had to replace the front brakes. My car has 227000 miles on it and I wouldn't think twice about taking it on a long trip. Very dependable car. I plan to keep this car for years to come and if I am to buy other vehicle it will be a Toyota. I recommand this car to anyone wanting a vehicle that will last."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

NO COMPLAINTS!

By on Thursday, July 29, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Like the title says,,,NO COMPLAINTS! You want more comfort? Buy a Mercedes. You want more power? Buy a Ferrari. You want more styling? Buy a BMW. I paid under $15,000 out the door for a Brand New 2005 Matrix with automatic and with power accessory package. ABS? No, one less thing to break. I've survived 35 plus years of driving without them. I still have the original Battery and brakes. I knew exactly what I was looking for in a car. I found it in the Matrix. Reliability, ease of maintenence, affordability, and economy at a great price. Plenty of hauling space with the rear seat down.They even put a timing chain instead of a timing belt on the engine. No more belt replacement at 60,000 miles. I can't kill this thing! Try to beat that for under $15,000!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Thursday, January 28, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Purchased the car used in '08 with 22k miles, currently has 43.5k...besides replacement of a worn belt, the car has been flawless. Nice styling which has grown on me, great interior room...I'm 6'2" and I fit quite comfortably. The car is capable of hauling a lot of cargo...loads of room. This Matrix can easily handle the daily duties of a small and mid-size suv/cuv minus the towing. The only low point is the power off the line, but the MPG more than makes up for it....31MPH average in suburban driving. I would highly recommend the Matrix if you're looking for an spacious, economical, and reliable vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

56000 mi transmission

By on Friday, December 11, 2009

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought my Matrix new in 07. After 56,000 mi. check engine light went on: "torque convertor clutch malfunction" After bringing it back to Toyota several times. Toyota replaced my transmission. At almost exactly 56,000 mi AGAIN the transmission failed. (Two transmissions in 115,000 miles). I have never seen a transmission this unreliable and I TEACH AUTO TECHNOLOGY! This is obviously a defect in the E.C.T. transmission, installed in 2006, But toyota will not admit a faulty part. I will never own another Toyota, as I put 55,000 miles a year on my cars and need RELIABILTY"!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great Vehicle

By on Friday, November 13, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"Bought new in late 2002. Love the car, very versatile with folding seats, (Ithink the seats on newer models are more comfortable for long trips,but not too bad)good for hauling,camping ect. Just the standard stuff, new tires ,oil changes, installed one new starter at 100,000 miles. (no big deal,cold winters are hard on a starter)Good consistent gas milage. I think the newer ones have a little more performance but isn't bad. Roomy, and is always there for me. Grandkids call it the blue hornet and the little toodley car. I have taken them many places with it especially trips into the Rocky Mountains. I would def. reccommend and buy another. 182K and hope to get 250 to 300K out of it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

My Baby

By on Friday, January 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have only had this car under a year but with my 3 kids and always traveling it has been the best car ever. She is my baby and I wont change her for anything. I recomend this car to everyone I know and family and friends have bought them too. We love the Matrix! Thanks Toyota! Its roomy, beautiful, good on gas, easily matained, easy to learn where everything is, comfertable and do I need to go on?!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I will Never Get rid Of My Matrix

By on Tuesday, January 27, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I absolutely LOVE my car and will never get rid of it. It is the perfect size for our family and very versatile."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Crash Tested

By on Thursday, September 11, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"We've owned this car for about two years, and haven't had any major problems, other than a computer problem that was covered under warranty. Yesterday my 17 mo. old son and I were hit driving our Matrix and the car rolled once and landed on its side. We were completely safe - neither of us were more hurt than seatbelt burns. So anyway, I feel like we just personally crash tested this vehicle, and for accidents around 40-45 mph, it's a pretty safe car. I would buy another one in a heart beat."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

No Problems - EVER

By on Friday, February 29, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had this vehicle for 3 years now and have had absolutely no problems with it. It's got more cargo space than my previous vehicle (Jeep). ANYTHING fits in the back! I've hauled things you can't imagine. The gas mileage is more than acceptable for an all wheel drive vehicle. The ONLY bad thing I have to say is that the stereo speakers are TOTALLY LAME!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love it so far...

By on Monday, January 28, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've only had this car for about two weeks now...but I LOVE it thus far. It's peppy, fairly comfortable (I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars for comfort because I am short and its hard to reach the petals with my seat all the way up, lol). The only reaon complaint I have is that coming from a Honda Civic to this car...the gas mileage is WAY less. Other than that, I am VERY happy!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love my Matrix

By on Thursday, December 13, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This car is like an SUV without the price tag and gas consumption. I can fit my kayak in the car with the seats folded down. The custom made pet barrier accomodates my 65 lb dog and keeps him safely confined in the back compartment. This is the first car I plan on keeping for as long as I can."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 23 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Matrix near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.