To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2002 Toyota Highlander

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.2
Out of 10

Based on 865 Ratings for the 2001 - 2007 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.2/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.5/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    9.2/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next

Solid Toyota

By on Wednesday, April 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,121

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "fun to drive,"

Cons: "problem with headlight/running lights lens"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our family uses this vehicle daily for work and play. Change the oil and put on a new timing belt, water pump and hoses at 100,000 and you are good for another 100000. We are a Toyota family"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car , one of the best I have owned

By on Saturday, March 30, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything you want a car to be"

Cons: "I would like better gas mileage."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I love this car. Equal to my 1992 Camray that I had for 15yrs that had 285,000 miles on it when I sold it. This car has over 205000 and I have no doubt that it will reach 300,000 and then some. With a set of studs for the winter it becomes a tank that can handle anything Idaho winters can throw at us. Great utility and dependable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I can't believe that it has only been 10 years

By on Saturday, March 2, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 112,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Perfect"

Cons: "Haven't found anything except gas milage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This vehicle has been the first car I've driven and owned. I have never loved something so much and I can't believe that it has been only 10 years. It feels like just yesterday I was driving it off the lot, back when quality vehicles were populous. I love it and I would tell anyone if they could find one to buy it. It has started every day since we took it off the lot whether it was -20 or 110 outside. My family and I take it out to our camp which is extremely rural and it does awesome. The uni-body frame curves and moves to every bump to make it as there were none. I think I should've been pulled over a numerous amount of times considering that it rides SO smooth. I like to focus on the high points that it has mainly because I am an inquisitive person and I haven't found anything. This car is truly the best vehicle for all situations from a first time driver(because it's so easy to learn anything on) or a family with maybe 3 kids and 2 dogs. It was made for the long haul and I'm proud to say I own one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I have owned

By on Saturday, December 8, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great reliability and durability."

Cons: "Gas mileage is fair"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchaesed the Highlander new in 2002 and opted for the V6, 4WD model. It has a "moon roof" and the driver's seat is a power seat with a separate lumbar control for support of the spine, in my opinion a nice feature. My wife has back issues and notices the difference whenever she is in a different vehicle. In terms of reliability and quality, the best vehicle I have owned. That is saying a lot since I tend to buy Toyota cars and have gotten 200,000 miles or more out of most I have owned The Highlander has had exactly one problem in the almost 13 years we have owned it. The control knob that controls the mixture of heat and cold coming into the cabin broke about three years ago It was about $700 to fix because it is electronic and not manual. Other than that, we have only needed to do normal maintenance. We have taken the Highlander on several long trips and it has been comfortable and reliable. I highly recommend getting the V6, especially if you want to do some towing. And of course, for towing, the towing package is best. The gas mileage is not great, but about where i figured it would be when we bought it. On trips we get 25 or so MPH, and around town about 20."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Incredibly Reliable!

By on Monday, December 3, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "reliability, solid manufacture/assembly, gas milea"

Cons: "interior layout could be better, mud flaps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this used with 19k miles in 2003(?). Most reliable machine I've ever owned! Great value, solid performance, easy handling. Only selling it now with 200k miles because I bought a 4x4 pickup. This would be a tremendous option for buyers on a budget, who don't want to become a mechanic's best customer!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i love my toyota!!!!!

By on Monday, August 20, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "reliability,comfort and power"

Cons: "room in the interior"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned many cars and truck loved some and hated others, But I can honestly say I love my truck. It handles like a car,pulls like a truck and has the speed and pep of a sports car.it lacks a bit in room with the third row seating in use other than that i love it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I absolutely love this truck!

By on Saturday, August 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 77,488

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great on fuel, reasonable to maintain, great buy"

Cons: "No 3rd row seating"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I traded a Jeep Liberty for this vehicle. Although I liked the Liberty, I love the Highlander. It's great on fuel, has great storage space, reponds quick to accelaration, and is very dependable. I haven't had any issues with it in the 2 years that I've owned it. Maintenance is reasonable. The rear seats fold down for additional storage. I love the cargo cover that conceals any valuables in the back. I travel often and take lots of luggage with no difficulty. The Highlander holds its value well. Lots of cup holders. I can't say enough about the Highlander. I JUST LOVE THIS TRUCK!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellant results on many trips.

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 71,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellant utility and fun to drive. Very reliable"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Good trip car, even on poor roads or mud or snow. Just the right size, not too big or too small. Good gas mileage in town or on highway."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Well worth the MSRP

By on Thursday, January 26, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 167,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Highly reliable, great power, great mid-size suv"

Cons: "Not your gas-sipping hybrid, but a powered hybrid"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our 2006 Highlander Hybrid continues to handle like a brand new vehicle at 167,000 miles. The vehicle has been serviced per the manufacturer's schedule and has never been less than dependable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dependable but not very comfortable

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 82,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "Good view-feel safer sitting higher than most cars"

Cons: "Rides like a brick-harsh cramped ride-overpriced"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 5

"Bought this car used in 2008 and put 55,000 on it in 3.5 years. Great transmission shift points=excellent pick-up and cruise at low RPM so engine should last well BEYOND 100,000 miles! Outstanding high-beam headlights provides excellent night illumination. Factory tires exceptionally-annoyingly-noisy! Much quieter w. Michelins. Comfort, well...it rides like a brick! VERY HARSH-ride...feel every crack in the highway. Definitely can't say it is any better mechanically than any other car I've owned, American or Japanese! Middle"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I have ever owned

By on Saturday, December 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Great car, my favoite and I have a 2002 M/B CLK 430 convertible, but the Highlander is more comfortable on a long trip. When the time comes I will certainly by another Highlander, or maybe a 4-Runner."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Good reliable vehicle with low maintainence

By on Saturday, November 5, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable and low maintainence"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Own this vehicle for last 11 years. Love it. Only maintainence done is tires (2 times), exhaust recently after 10 years, and battery after 10 years. Other than regular service - had to get couple sensors replaced but I had extended warranty so the service was covered. Overall a good value."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Most reliable car ever owned

By on Wednesday, September 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 152,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "reliable, roomy and comfortable, handles easily and has adequate power"

Cons: "no cons"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am the second owner having bought the car with 30,000 miles. It now has 152,000 miles. Didn't need plugs until 108,000 miles. Other than oil changes and standard brake pads I have done nothing to the vehicle. For a 2003 4wd vehicle it gets an average (city and road)of 21 mpg---not bad for a vehicle of this size. I have used it to haul and find it a great all around vehicle for personal use as well. It is extremely reliable and I would gladly recommend it to my Mother In Law if she wanted another vehicle!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Would buy again in a heartbeat

By on Sunday, October 26, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have had my highlander since November of 2002 and it has now been out of warranty for a year, and I'm not nervous at all. This is the most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. I used to buy a new car every 2/3 years but see no reason to replace my still perfect vehicle. Other than normal maintenance, I haven't had to spend any money on it (knock on wood). It's amazing what you find you can put into it, it doesn't look as though it will hold some things, but there is always a way. And the gas mileage is not breaking my wallet any more than a car would. It's comfortable to ride in and has great pick up and go. My only issue I had was the factory tires which I replaced in year 4. Other than that, I'm figuring this is happily ever after. I would recommend this vehicle to any and won't replace mine until it dies. And when it does, I sure hope they are still making them, because that's what I would replace it with."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great vehicle

By on Sunday, April 6, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased 2003 Limited about 3 years ago. Have put 75,000 miles on the vehicle, including several long cross country trips. It has never requried anything but routine maintenance. Comfortable ride. Very reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

2007 Highlander Hybrid 4wd

By on Monday, January 7, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"One of the smoothest cars I have ever driven. It is also one of the most responsive suv,s I have driven. The Highlander at 268hp easily outperforms the 1999 Tahoe (250hp) it replaced. Average fuel mileage, climbing the 18% grades here, of 25mph is twice that of the Chevy. All this and 4wd, I'm one happy camper!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best SUV

By on Friday, January 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Wonderful gas mileage.. Toyota rocks.. 05 with 45K mi. and no problems what so ever.."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I've Ever Owned.

By on Monday, December 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Even after 134,000 miles, my Highlander Limited returns over 26 steady-state mpg while traveling at 75 mph on California's Interstate and Freeway system. Plenty of power for getting on the freeway, and plenty of power for passing. It's quiet, comfortable, and only on it's 2nd set of replacement tires since the originals wore out at 55,000 miles. The traction/skid control chip gave out at 110,000 miles, and I had minor problems with the A/C, but they were repaired satisfactorily, so I have no complaints whatsoever. Good, good car. Best new car I've ever owned."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

More repairs than expected.

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"At 45,000 miles, just short of owning the car 4 years I had to put $1200 in repairs. I had to replace a engine sensor, the drive belt, and a complete brake job. I don't like the gearing of the 4 cylinder engine (its hard to accelerate smoothly, the car wants to jump forward). I replaced the tires after 3 years and about 34,000 miles. The original tires didn't get good traction. I get good gas millage around town (22 mpg when not running the AC or doing winter warm ups). The car is great at hauling and a comfortable car to travel in. I like the size."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent, If Boring

By on Thursday, November 29, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"In typical Toyota tradition, the Highlander is a practical, well-thought-out, impeccably assembled appliance which will neither offend nor excite anyone. It's substantially reliable, gets decent gas mileage given its heft and barn-door aerodynamics, and is great for your average suburban parent. That being said, it's boring as a toaster. I neither look forward to driving it nor avoid driving it, it's just there."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Favorite Purchase Ever

By on Thursday, October 25, 2007

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I researched vehicles for a year before buying my 2002 Highlander Limited. In the first 3 mo. after purchase, I put 10K miles on it driving back and forth to Denver. I was amazed at the smooth, comfortable ride and effortless handeling. Very cold AC and stereo system was amazing. Mileage was good even at 70 and 75 mph. about 80 plus miles more per tank than last SUV. It truely rides and performs like a luxury car. I would highly recommend this vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car I have ever owned

By on Friday, October 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We purchased this car after coming back from living overseas. We were looking for a vehicle that wasn't a gas guzzler, but one that would also be able to comfortably seat my hubby and myself, our two girls and a friend for each of them. We have found that the Highlander (with the third row seat) fits the bill. We have been extremely happy with this purchase and would definitely consider getting another one. In three years our oldest will be driving and this car can go to her and I will get the newer model! Love it!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

WHAT A CAR!

By on Saturday, September 29, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"My 2002 Highlander has been the most wonderful car that I've ever owned. At the time that I bought it I was looking at a Pathfinder also. I had not even heard of Highlanders at that time. The Highlander rode as smooth and comfortable as a nice car - can't say the same for the Pathfinder. I get the oil changed regularly and filters, keep good tires on it and have had ZERO problems in the 6 years I've had it. GREAT CAR!!!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Classiest SUV

By on Friday, September 7, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Classy, roomy, sturdy good-looking suv. A bit noisy, (like a truck) but very reliable and comfortable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Solid performer

By on Saturday, August 18, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Needs ability to turn off air vents independently. If air is on, everyones vents are on, which is annoying to sensitive people."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 35 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Highlander near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.