To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Toyota Camry

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 1069 Ratings for the 1997 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.1/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next

Great car

By on Thursday, January 17, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 153,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "dependable"

Cons: "rear windshield wiper would be great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I just recently bought a 2001 model, after having a 2000 model since 2009. The 2000 has been great, very dependable for my daughter's first car. Now the younger daughter has a very similar vehicle. We are hoping to have as much success from this second one as from the first. It had a great initial checkup from our mechanic and we went ahead and got the timing belt and water pump changed out to prevent issues. They're good size vehicles for hauling people and stuff. Great on gas."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Fantastic Vehicle

By on Saturday, November 10, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car since it was new in 1996. The only problem that we have had is the clear coat has been coming off since about 6 years after purchase. The dealer had the section of the car that was loosing its clear coat. The painter said that the car had been painted before we bought it. We bought it new. However, he said that it is possible that the car was damaged in transit and the car had to be painted. That is the only problem in 14 years of ownership."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever owned after about 12.

By on Wednesday, July 11, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Kept in garage, 11 year old paint still shiney!"

Cons: "Low seat makes it hard to reach ATM."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Very quiet, smooth, and dependable. Car came from Michigan and was "under-coated." Changed the timing belt and related parts at 120,000 miles. Roomy trunk. Easy to use tire jack. Excellent heater and air-conditioner are both quick to reach good temperature in my white car. Both still original equipment. Cloth seating was very durable and easy to clean. Fold-down rear seat enabled me to load and carry several 2 x 6's and a ladder that ran from the dashboard and stuck out the trunk. Trunk needs tie-down anchors to keep it from banging when it can't be closed completely due to load. Windshield resisted several pings from rocks on the highway over the years without cracking."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Ride

By on Saturday, February 4, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 70,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "engine"

Cons: "power windows, room"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car was purchase for my mother which I inherited. Problem for this year was room for big driver but ok for mom size. After ten plus years electic power windows going but engine still getting 22-23mpg with basic care. No major repairs needed."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

fabulous

By on Tuesday, January 24, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 308,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "It has 300,000 miles on it. What else?"

Cons: "It is finally getting old"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"have over 300,000 city miles on this car and only now is it starting to need more frequent maintenance. Have been very impressed with this car. Very comfortable, reliable and drivable. doesn't get much better than this"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Toyota Camry LE V6 1999

By on Monday, January 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 75,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Body, Engine, Transmission, Comfort, Reliablility,"

Cons: "Design and lack of technology compare 2 other cars"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable car in the world. I love its 3.0 liter engine. I had it serviced (changed the oil pan seal)after 13 years of use for the first time since 1999 last weekend.(after 13 years). Show me a car that can last this long. Jan 23, 2012"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Absolutely best car I have ever owned

By on Thursday, October 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 104,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We purchased the car new in '99. Prior to that I had a Maxima which was almost as good. I have owned many American cars and German cars. They all faded after 60K miles. This one has 104K miles and there is nothing wrong with it. I have never had a major problem, but have been rear ended twice-both drivers insured for which I am thankful. The interior is very good except for the carpet. I really have been very happy with this car. Where I live, it is probably the oldest since I am surrounded by Lexus, Cadillac and Mercedes SUVs. I will keep it as long as it keeps running. Needless to say, I am more than satisfied with its performance. That is saying a lot since I was raised in Detroit."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Best vehicle I've ever owned

By on Sunday, August 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 133,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Purchased this car new and have done regular oil changes and replaced tires a necessary and the drive belt. She just keeps on running along with all the accesories."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

wonderful vehicle

By on Monday, April 26, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Had it since I bought it new - almost ten years old and it never has had a problem at this point. I did keep up with maintenance over the years, never had an accident or even a dent in the car. Very reliable, best I have ever had, over 200,000 and counting on it"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

So Great, But I'm Tired of It

By on Monday, September 28, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"It keeps running........I kept thinking it would break so I never upgraded to a CD Player. Love the car, but ready for a change-12 years is a long time"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

aewsome car

By on Friday, September 25, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I have 212K car still going strong very smooth"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

best car i had

By on Saturday, September 19, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have had this car for ten years and it is the best car that i have hadand i will not part with this car i love it"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

By on Saturday, September 29, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Overall a very good car. Some minor issues with the interior quality. Veneer finish cracked/bubbled from heat. Cloth on seat is coming loose at some seems. Some hesitation when running the AC and need to accelerate quickly. Other then that it is a reliable, sharp looking vehicle."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Monday, September 3, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Great Car. We have never had a single problem with it. All we have to do is change the oil every three months and fill it up with gas. The inside is roomy, everything is very comfortable, etc. It can be a little gutless at times (we own the 4 cyl automatic), but at the same time it gets 28 mpg or better, even with 80,000 miles and being 6-7 years old so I consider it an even trade. I am sold on Toyota, I have owned a Honda, a Nissan, A Mazda, and a Toyota, and I believe that Toyota delivers the most car for the least amount of money."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

love my toyota

By on Friday, August 24, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"i have been driving camry's since 1987. i have loved every minute of it. I have always found them to be reliable, dependable. and with the exception of two, i have always used the same lot. This is definately the car i want my soon to be driving daughter to have."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

My second Camry

By on Thursday, July 12, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"This was my second Camry-each had over 150,000 miles when I sold them. My brother bought the first one from me and put another 100,000 miles on it-no lie! It's a great car-very reliable."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

most reliable vehicle I ever owned

By on Saturday, August 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 187,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "comfort reliability"

Cons: "needs a little more acceleration"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Had 11000 on the ODO when I got it in 1999. Has 187000 now. One repair at 183000 was the only repair. Had I followed scheduled maintenance[replace fuel filter and O2 sensor] there would have been no failures at all!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

w/regular maint will run forever.

By on Monday, April 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 161,010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great cruiser in town or on the highway."

Cons: "Flimsey rear cup holders."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The Camry LE is stylish & excellent for it's value and reliability. Bought used w/110K, ..have put over 50K miles in 2 yrs, n would trust her to run another 250K easy! With reg tune-ups and oil chngs, they run forever. ..plenty of leg rm for tall people. Rear seat is more comfortable for passengers than the new '13 Lincoln Twncar limo. The new Camry's have stayed true to their spaciousness. Great cruiser in town or on the highway."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this car

By on Monday, March 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Safe, Reliable, Strong, Good Value"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This car is the best. I love it, and I'm very attached to it. It's safe, reliable, and powerful. It's a very smooth ride, and I just love it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Awesome reliability

By on Thursday, September 5, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 330,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great reliability despite negect"

Cons: "can't shut headlights off when car is running"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We bought this 2000 Camry used in 2000 with 12000 miles. We now have 330,000 miles in spite of my not taking good care of it (oil changes 6,000 - 10,000 miles and have let it get a couple of quarts low a few times). We changed the timing belt at about 175,000, new struts at about 220,000 and front motor mounts at about 280,000. It continues to run strong in spite of my neglect."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1999 Camry BUY THIS CAR

By on Wednesday, May 22, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 195,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fuel Economy, Reliability, Smooth Ride"

Cons: "Car bottoms out easy on speed bumps"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this with 140k on it. Just sold it at 195k. Commuted daily with it 40 miles round trip and used it as a delivery vehicle part-time. I drove this car very, hard, did routine maintenance most of the time. The car never failed to start in 5 years and nothing failed and never needed any parts except brake pads. Ride was smooth and quiet, power and fuel economy was excellent. I especially loved the ventilation and AC which was ice cold and powerful. The layout of the instrument gauges are excellent and easy to read. I have driven 2004 and 2013 Camrys and the 1999 was much better to drive. The quality of the plastics, the radio and seating was much better than the 2004 Camry I now have. I WISH I never sold it."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A very practical reliable and fun to drive car

By on Saturday, May 18, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 179,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "comfortable to drive. Feels like a lexus es 300"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I bought it used and I am very pleased whit it's service. Even with so much mileage it runs softly and has a nice suspension. The original radio sounds very good, too."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Huge value for the money

By on Thursday, May 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 183,520

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Love this CAR!"

Cons: "183,000 miles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Wonderful car. Purchased used with 27k miles in May 1999. Absolutely love this car. Reliability is unmatched in my experience. Never has left me stranded; gets major props for that! Great gas mileage and cost of maintenance is extremely budget friendly. Ride is extremely comfortable. Compared to 2012 Camry, I would not trade mine for a new model. 2012 Camry has ruined the Brand for us devoted Camry-lovers. It is stiff and rides hard and jarring. Hurts me all over driving it for 30 minutes. My next car will have to be an older model Camry, or another car model entirely!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, January 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 210,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Dependable."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"So my mom actually owns this car but I have been driving it for the past 2 years. Was bought with about 80miles about 5 years ago. Still running great even tho it's over 200miles. Drive it from OC to LA and back. Not bad gas mileage either. Great car but I want my own now :P"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best vehicle ever

By on Friday, December 21, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 140,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I owned this car for awhile it is great and reliable, always you can trust her wither in town or on highways"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 43 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota Camry near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.