Go

2006 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.5
Out of 10

Based on 915 Ratings for the 2003 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.5/10
    Quality
    9.6/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.5/10
  • Comfort
    9.3/10
    Styling
    9.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 92 | Next

great SUV

By on Thursday, August 11, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 129,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned the 2005 4 runner since 2008. It now has around 130k miles on it and still runs great. I have only had to replace the battery on tires since I have owned it for over 8 years. This is the best car ever!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Vehicle I Have Ever Owned!

By on Tuesday, July 21, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun, strong, reliable."

Cons: "Kind of hard to handle in extreme wind."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've owned my 4runner for 9 years and can honestly say, "its been GREAT!" I've had no repairs. The only thing I've changed are the tires, wiper blades and break pads. It's strong and durable on and off road. I've driven it under conditions of ice and snow, extreme heat, through the desert sand and two tracking in the woods. It's amazing! The only drawback that I have found is it is a vehicle that must be "held onto" in extreme wind. Highly recommended to anyone who is looking for something extremely reliable."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Truck Ever: Will Drop From Under Me :)

By on Monday, January 26, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great Truck....great mileage..."

Cons: "None..."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I brought my 4runner with about 40,000 miles on it in 2007, so it was used but was a lease so all of the maintenance was by the dealer. I have had zero issues with this truck and only had to replace the exhaust which was costly but over the years that I have had it, which eventually paid for itself. I have taken great care maintenance of this truck and believe that you take care of your automobile it will work and take care of you too :0) I am from a family of Toyota owners and had my first one 1999 new Toyota Corolla and put 200,000 miles and gave it to my unlce and she (grey daisy was her name) is still running great and now my 4runner is doing the same. I will always have a Toyota in my driveway and swear by the brand too :) Thanks Toyota!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

95,000 trouble free miles so far!

By on Friday, March 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Reliable, Safe, Stable"

Cons: "Gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I normally keep a car 4 to 5 years. This vehicle I will keep as long as it is still trouble free. It does everything well. Comfortable on the highway, solid and safe in snow or mud and easy to maneuver in the city. The selectable 4 wheel drive is so handy and convenient with shift on the fly. I have the sport version and the seats are a comfortable as many higher end vehicles I have driven. It is a little high for short drivers. The only thing that has failed in 95,000 was 1 coil pack. It was easy to repair and not real expensive. I wish Toyota had not changed the body style. I do not like the newer, larger 4 runner and would not consider one to replace this one. I have the V-6 and it has plenty of power and gets 18 mpg in combined driving( Exactly what the sticker said)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best 4 Runner I have owned 2007 Sport Utility V8

By on Thursday, January 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to Drive, With lots of power! Great offroad"

Cons: "No heated seats or Navi System"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I purchased the 2007 4 runner with the Sport package, sunroof, running boards and most important the 4.7 V8. This vehicle has super power for towing or just going to the mountains. Great off road capabilities. Use it all the time in Colorado mountains and off road. I have had three prior 4 runners and this once beats them all hands down."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Overall fantastic vehicle

By on Saturday, September 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Safe and very well built"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I purchased the 2006 4Runner brand-new for our daughter. She has had it and I watch over the maintenance. Just routine maintenance, brakes at about 60,000 and it still is on the original set of tires, Michelin X-Terrain at 72,000 miles. I keep it waxed and the paint is still like new. The interior is perfect and has held up very well. We plan to keep it for many years."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Drive, Fun, Value

By on Sunday, January 30, 2011

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Drive it till the wheels fall off, this is by far the best vehicle I have ever owned. 180k Plus miles no problems, no worries"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

By on Tuesday, March 30, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've owned this car since buying new in 2003. I have 187,000 miles and only have had to repair normal wear and tear type stuff. It handles well in all weather. I was involved in a a major accident in 2004 and walked away uninjured. It was repaired like new. I can't believe that the 4Runner is still holding its value even with the high milage and damage repair. This is an awesome vehicle for anyone looking for reliable, safe, and fun transportation."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Possibly the best ever vehicle purchase.

By on Wednesday, June 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"We are now looking into selling our 03 4-runner for a 4 door sedan (BMW 325i - that's why I'm on this site). I wish we wern't, but it's the wife's, so it's her choice I guess :(. Our 03 runner now has nearly 80K on it, we,ve had it since 34K. I've changed the oil, sprk plugs, and had a squeky belt issue that was fixed with a Gatorbelt. Other than that, this 4runner has been nearly perfect. I look back and truly can't beleive we did nothing to it. We will be buying another one after Toyota decides to put the new body style out. Hopefully the reliability will remain the same on the newer generations. (BTW, I drive a 06 Taco with same results)"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Cant beat the reliability

By on Thursday, May 14, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"Most reliable auto I have ever owned. I am 300 miles away from 100,000 and still running strong."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 92 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.