Go

1994 Toyota 4Runner

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.3
Out of 10

Based on 220 Ratings for the 1992 - 1995 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.8/10
    Performance
    8.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next

92 4Runner

By on Tuesday, October 30, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Honestly this is a awesome truck! I bought mine from a guy who had obviously never driven it off-road and always babied it in virtually perfect shape 150K on it not running for $2500. It had been sitting on the side of the guys house covered and under a carport for a few years not running cause it would crank but not start. I drained the tank and used the 3-4gal that was in it in my lawn mower, replaced the bad fuel pump, put a new fuel filter, new battery, 2 fuses and I've been driving it since and it now has almost 400K on it. I just follow the manufacturers maintenance schedule and it's been a great truck!"

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

Great SUV fun to drive

By on Wednesday, July 25, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 246,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "4x4 5speed mpg"

Cons: "does not have enough power"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"this has been a great truck, mine is lifted with 31" tires and for the most part gets decent gas around 19mpg the 4x4 works great both on and off the road!! I did have to put in a new timing belt but it only cost me like $500 so I could not complain!!"

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

There really is no comparable car out there

By on Saturday, November 19, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 366,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "good offroad"

Cons: "not a racecar, but drinks gas like one. cupholders"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"When i bought this 4runner i was worried because it had 340,000 miles on it. But it was exactly what i was looking for, espcially considering my 2500 dollar price max. It has started right up every time i've needed it. The 4x4 works great, only time i was stuck i was high centered and i have taller tires on my 4runner so i think that says something about how well it does. I'll go on forever about the reliability, comfort and style/cool factor that is the 4runner so i'l try to focus on the few cons it has. #1, it is gutless; i get beat by hybrids/compacts off the line, let alone maneuvering in traffic. #2 the gas mileage should be higher considering the lack of power. #3 the cup holders are too small (they are low tech too but i like that, they work great for small drinks, and never break). I must say that the range of the 4runner is relatively low and i don't think you could get 300miles out of one tank but that fits into the category of low mileage i think. it does tow a little and low range is deceptively low and really maximizes the torque. It handles well off-road and on ice. I've put 25k miles on it (in 1.5years) so i think iv got a pretty good idea of the kind of car it is. The best thing for under $10,000, and one quarter the price!"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

17 Years of dependability

By on Monday, November 7, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Body style - comfortable - nice drive - dependable"

Cons: "Gas mileage bad - engine power - safety issue"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My odometer is just over 65,000 miles. NO, it did not 'turn'. Original owner! R/T to work 2.2 miles, now retired. Most mileage was of course trips, at usually 1,000 miles or more. I bought the whole pkg, incl 4-door, roof rack, running boards, great sound system, leather. People ask me to sell, nope. Love the tawny brown color. I can afford a new car, this SUV makes me ask why. To explain that AND give the reader (Hi!) what you need, I'll do this PRO/CON. PROS: I enjoy driving it. Quality workmanship - Few parts have failed - Beautifully designed, so it still looks 'new'. Tho' smaller than today's, 5 passengers ride comfortably, and storage is good after flipping the back seats down. Height is good for seeing traffic ahead on the freeway, which I see as a must. My leather upholstery holds up very well. I have a great factory sound system; good speakers in back. Sun roof is fantastic. Big, with a sliding shade. I've had no problems with the engine or drive train. It always passes smog. I did replace all tires at around 50K miles. 4WD is great; though I don't offroad regularly I compare to my old 4x4 Jeep, and as long as you watch clearance closely and avoid stuff that will scrape the paint, etc., it's great for some off-roading. CONS: Terrible gas mileage is the common complaint. Best I ever got was driving 70 mph, long trip, straight flat road = 16 mpg. City? fuggitaboutit. 12, sometimes 10. Engine power is great once you get up to speed, and the road is flat. It quickly bogs down on hills, even 'empty'; if a road hog slows you down you'll never get your speed back up as long as you are climbing. I think I hate this the most. Except maybe safety. No airbags, only standard across the chest"

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

one of the best suv ever owned

By on Friday, September 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 10,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "confort,easy and fun to drive"

Cons: "cup holder is in wrong place, just above radio oth"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"other than putting in brakes and fixing the rear window so it would go down this 4 runner started and i had no major problems. i would recommend this to people."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 44 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Toyota 4Runner near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.