Advertisement

Why ads?
Popular at KBB.com
  • 10 Best SUVs Under $25,000
  • 10 Best AWD Cars & SUVs Under $25,000
  • The 40 MPG Cars of 2014
  • 10 Best Sedans Under $25,000
Go

2008 Subaru Impreza

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.7
Out of 10

Based on 298 Ratings for the 2008 - 2011 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.1/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.7/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next

Good car except the manual transmission

By on Friday, February 13, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "This is a good quality car that's fun to drive."

Cons: "The hard shifting manual transmission."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 3

"I've had this car for 6+ years, 65k miles without any major mechanical issues. It performs well and delivers approx. 23 city, 26 highway mpg. The biggest issue with this car is the manual transmission, it was hard shifting from the time I got it and has gotten somewhat worse over time. I have taken it in for this issue twice and was told that nothing could be done. Actually the service rep suggested that I could double clutch when I shifted. And their head mechanic finally did offer the statement that Subaru didn't have the most "refined" manual transmissions. He did say that they are better now. Since this has been the worst shifting car that I have ever owned, with the exception of a Ford Pinto, I will not have another Subaru with a manual transmission."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Very Reliable and Economic

By on Friday, December 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great price New and still holds its value"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Over 4 years old {2010} and not one single bad issue or problem. 25000+ miles. Always starts and runs beautifuly!Great all weather car."

17 people out of 32 found this review helpful

great car

By on Tuesday, November 18, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 118,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Cons: "have 2 buy 4 tires at a time"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car has ben great hade to-do some engine work.W- pump/ timing belt"

6 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Best all-around family friendly sports car

By on Tuesday, October 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 65,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "fun to drive, versatile"

Cons: "lack of some comfort/luxury features"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"There is truly no comparison. What other car can I put two car seats in the back, two bikes on the roof, two dogs in the hatch and still have so much fun driving... Nothing. It's amazing how many people want to race at red lights and then I roll down the window and they see my kiddos in the back seat. Best purchase ever."

13 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Good solid small car but limited in cargo space.

By on Saturday, October 25, 2014

I owned and sold this car
Reason: needed bigger vehicle w/ trunk

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Price was good and OK in town and on road."

Cons: "A little small for travel purposes; overall nice."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"I really enjoyed this small 4-door hatchback. Very good in Denver's snow and cold weather. Needed a little more clearance for snow and ice to be rated great. Car was comfortable, and apportioned OK. A little noisy on the highway. Transmission versatility was handy in the snow. Disappointed in the stero system. My Legacy has a much better stero system. Room for 4 adults, but with 4 adults really cut into get up and go. Overall, enjoyed this vehicle. First Subaru I bought and would recommend them for cold weather climate with snow and icy roads."

7 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Very nice sporty vehicle

By on Wednesday, September 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 53,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, beautiful exterior design"

Cons: "Needs a better interior package. Very 90's."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Love the design and features. Could use a major upgrade technology wise as everything is very basic."

9 people out of 17 found this review helpful

A lot of car for the money.

By on Monday, September 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4WD, room for people and cargo, standard features."

Cons: "maintenance cost."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is a sensible, all season, roomy car ahead of its class."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I love my ride

By on Monday, August 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Dependable transportation."

Cons: "None to speak of."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I's a Subaru."

11 people out of 24 found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned

By on Thursday, July 24, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 52,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great value, hugs the road"

Cons: "Overdrive kicks in too soon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car is still great after 7 years! My dealership is great, the car is as close to maintenance free as possible. All wheel drive wonderful."

13 people out of 23 found this review helpful

Solid transportation.

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 50,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "4-wheel drive; reliability"

Cons: "Outdated 4-speed transmission."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"The Subaru Imprezza has been a reliable car for four people. The seats are comfortable on long trips and the luggage area is spacious with the aspect of a small wagon. I chose the Imprezza because I wanted a four-wheel-drive car, not an SUV, because of better driving dynamics. The design is good with a few quirks: the 4-speed automatic was outdated when the car was new, and the motor sticks out so far ahead of the wheels that the front bumper scrapes parking barriers. Mileage is 20-22 in town and 26-28 on the road. I have no hesitation in recommending this car."

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

Solid Commuter Car, but Noisy

By on Thursday, July 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,080

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "All wheel drive!"

Cons: "Rattles, rattles, rattles"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I drive this car every day as a commuter. I average 26 MPG and travel the majority of the time on the highway. I have had no major mechanical issues since I bought the car in November 2009. The only thing I don't like about this and every other Subaru I own (currently 3), is that it is a noisy car on the highway. After about the first year, the car developed a series of annoying rattles. I have gone to great lengths to identify, locate, and eliminate the noises and have had some success. Even with the noises I have no regrets buying this car. I have definately gotten my money's worth. I am the only person on my block that wasn't stranded during the blizzard we had in 2010! That has to be worth something."

2 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Performance Value

By on Sunday, July 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 51,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
Not Rated
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Fair Price and extremely fun to drive"

Cons: "Cabin quality need improvement, road noise"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"As the title states, this car is a great value for the performance it has to offer. It has great handling capabilities and will not hesitate to reach high speeds. The ride comfort is very smooth, sometimes its hard to know how fast your actually going without looking at the speedometer. Gas mileage could be better but, when you buy a small turbo vehicle I am sure gas mileage is not a concern. interior is comfortable and spacious for a smaller vehicle. Quality of the interior is fair enough. Road noise in the cabin does get to be annoying when driving on the highway. Sound system and radio needs quality and clarity improvement. Overall the car is good enough to handle everyday task and driving, of course improvements can be made. The low price leaves a lot of room for personal customization. Dealer options are very nice but also very pricey. I am satisfied with the car, I am actually looking to trade in for a newer model in the near future."

1 person out of 1 found this review helpful

Only thing good is it's all wheel drive feature.

By on Tuesday, July 08, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 47,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "all wheel drive and the price"

Cons: "gas mileage, styling, comfort, technology"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"This car is my 2nd Impreza my first being a 2008. I had this car for 3 years now and it has been back for the following repairs: caliper sticking causing the cars brakes on the left front side to jam up causing the car to be pulled toward on coming traffic. A bad wheeling bearing. The car looks generic and can be lost in a parking lot due to it's drab plain looks. The interior is cheaply made compared to other vehicles in it's class.It is behind other car mfg. in technology by at least 5 years or more. It's gas mileage is pathetic compared to other cars of this size. My 2008 had the same engine and got 30 -32 MPG I hardly see 25 MPG in this one. As I stated in the summary the only good part is the all wheel drive feature."

1 person out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car: fun, versatile, reliable

By on Sunday, June 22, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 83,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "acceleration, exterior styling, AWD/traction"

Cons: "no lumbar support"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"I love this car. I am a fairly active person who does a lot of freeway driving and mountain driving. While the impreza won't take you into anything more than gravel, it'll do a whole lot else, and it does it well. The engine is jewel. Great acceleration, torque, and umpff when you want it; so fun to drive. Overall I got 25mpg for my combined and usually hit 30mpg on the highway. The AWD drive system is great. Never have I felt insecure in this car. whether it was snow, hail, LA traffic, twisty mountain roads, mud, or me being a clueless driver, this car never lost traction. The interior is nice; good layout and functionality. I had a leather wrapped steering wheel and controls; which were very handy. The basic sound system isn't great, but works. Seats are alright for comfort, not alright for 3+ hours. I have always been shocked how much I can fit in this car. Although the hatchback would be nice, moving throughout college wasnt an issue. The exterior styling is my favorite. I am constantly asked if I have a beemer due to the pearl paint and aggressive styling. I have never been embarrassed to give my date a ride in this thing. Good reliability. At 83k and going strong!"

13 people out of 19 found this review helpful

2008 WRX STi : Best Car I have owned

By on Saturday, June 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 28,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Quick Acceleration, sharp handling, reliable, FUN"

Cons: "Paint chips easily"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Let me say first, Ive owned 2 other vehicles in my lifetime. A 2001 BMW 330ci, and a 2011 mustang gt 5.0, and hands down this is my favorite car. Ive owned this car for roughly 2 years now, and roughly 12,000 miles. In this short span, this car has seen driven me through blizzards, up dirt roads, and through heavy rain storms, and never once made me feel incapable of making it there. The awd system is amazing and the DCCD the STI comes with is amazing. This car still brings a smile to my face every morning when I start it(maybe its the Invidia exhuast with that beautiful boxer motor). And the best part, everything is built to last. I have two dogs, am an avid snowboarder and cyclist and one would have no clue by looking at the interior of this car. The seats and inside of the doors are flawless, and this is after many a trip. If I were to find one flaw with this car, and this is me really being nit picky, it is the paint. I dont know why, but boy oh boy, the paint chips easily. If I had any advise to a new subaru owner, it is to get the front of the car covered in a clear bra."

5 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Generic looking and behind times

By on Friday, June 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 45,000

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
3/10

Pros: "fair price for an all wheel drive car."

Cons: "feels cheap and not very comfortable, many returns"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 4

"The only good thing about this car is it has all wheel drive.Other than that you can lose it in a parking lot due to it's generic looks. It lacks behind in electronic technology by a good 5 years or more compared to even lower priced cars. This is the 2nd one I have owned only because we need all wheel drive in the winter here. Can't wait for the lease to end soon. When i get out of my Volvo S60 and get into the Subaru I really notice how cheap the Subaru feels. Also had to have many repairs done like sticking caliber, wheel bearing, broken suspension, ect. all within the first 2 and 1/2 years"

2009 impreza 2.5i base/ great car

By on Monday, May 19, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 55,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "amazing in any weather condition"

Cons: "bit small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i bought this car October of 2011. i loved the car from the moment i first turned the key. i was 18 when i bought the car and im now 20. its the longest i have owned any vehicle. but i have to say that subaru love is real. i live in wisconsin so a car that can handle the snow, mud and gravel roads is a must. this car take every single thing you throw at it. i cant say i often drove my car nicely. the car has plenty of power for being naturally aspirated. the car handled the snow and ice amazingly. i never got stuck. in fact a few times i pulled trucks out of the ditch. just over all amazing car"

9 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Zippy compact, great road handling, good headroom

By on Tuesday, May 06, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 19,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Better than advertised freeway MPG, 30-35 MPG"

Cons: "Metro driving, stop and go, short hop 20-22 MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Solid handling at freeway speeds no matter what the weather. I get between 30-35 MPG on rolling freeways. Stop and go metro city driving is a different story at 20-22 MPG. The car has great headroom, but the legroom/knee room is tight for 6'4" person. Small trunk, but still fits golf clubs or suitcases for travel."

3 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Subaru for life

By on Monday, May 05, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 66,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great handling, easy acceleration, AWD"

Cons: "Ground clearance, sub par radio"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've had this car for 6 years and not one complaint. She still drives like she just left the dealer and hasn't needed a single repair other than typical maintenance visits. Subaru makes a quality car that will last and last. I debate constantly about getting a newer model but I haven't found a single reason to give up mine yet. She's got plenty of pickup and accelerates easily which is helpful in busy areas when you need to get onto a fast moving highway. The all wheel drive makes winters on the east coast more manageable. The only grievance I have ( and it's a minor one) is that I wish this car weren't so low to the ground. Potholes can do a number and I have to be weary of puddles in the flood prone areas. But this is an issue all standard cars will encounter. Ground clearance is a must have on my next vehicle. Overall, I love this car and I could never own another brand again. I'm a subaru trekker for life."

Did not live up to expectations

By on Thursday, March 27, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 95,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
4/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Great Price"

Cons: "Radio was poor in quality and I replaced it."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"I have had to replace the radiator and get the valve cover gaskets replaced. It is a lower priced car for a reason, but I would have thought that the Subaru name plate would give me more confidence than it has."

3 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car no repairs except brakes after 98k

By on Thursday, February 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "quality craftmanship"

Cons: "trunk is a little small"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I am a mechanical engineer. I believe subaru builds the best cars on the road. The symmetrical all wheel drive is special if you have somebody explain it to you. Besides the audi quattro nothing comes close in traction for a car."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

7 years of fun trouble free driving

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 103,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Plows through snow with decent power"

Cons: "Seat comfort could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Impreza i after moving to a house at the top of a hill that my beloved Civic could not climb in winter. Seven years and 103k miles later, I still love it and recommend it to anyone. The AWD alone is great but Subaru packs every feature you need into the base model: AC, cruise, power everything and fold down seats. It's peppy, handles great and gets about 28mpg in my rural commute. Most important, it plows through snow which is the main reason I bought it."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Handles great with two small negatives

By on Friday, February 14, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 25,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "wonderful to drive"

Cons: "not the best mileage and tough to get in & out of"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Looks good, runs well with minimum attention and handles like a sports car. I have two problems with the car: The gas mileage is not great, averaging only 22 mpg overall. The second problem is only for me. I am a big guy who has done damage to his back and getting in and out of this sucker is uncomfortable for me"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Hands down the best car I've ever owned

By on Tuesday, February 04, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 39,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "practical, safe and FUN"

Cons: "radio could be better"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"After driving in the snow and ice that shut down Atl, I am a believer. The car held the road, got where we needed to go with no drama,I loved it in good weather, I ADORE it now!For the price? I'm not sure you can find a better car. Safety features galore,AWD,and just plain FUN to drive!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Dream Machine

By on Friday, January 31, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 37,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Fun to drive "small race car""

Cons: "Not so great on fuel."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely love my 09 WRX. It is a very fun, exciting car for under 30k brand new. I paid 27k after taxes in June of 09. 3 Small modifications, and it's just as fast as an STI. Excellent in all weather. I have a dedicated set of winter tires, that I use from first snow to last. It's an absolute beast in the snow. Trucks follow me! All around great bang for your buck. Five seats, all with 3 point seatbelts, and enough cargo space for the family, groceries, and the family dog."

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 12 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Impreza near Honolulu. See local deals