Go

2012 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 268 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

Really great little vehicle

By on Sunday, November 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for shorter folk; lots of storage areas"

Cons: "Bad base radio, not for large families"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I like my little car. Got new, 30K miles and no mechanical problems. Great car for short folk (I'm 5'2") with driver and steering wheel adjusts. TV ad with lady and all the kids and their stuff? Uh, no... With grandson's car seat, there's room for one small adult in back seat, no more. Not a car for someone with lots of kids and stuff. I didn't want moonroof but it came with. It leaked badly. Turned in, got rental, fixed in 3 days. Radio is NOT good. I get better mileage than advertised: 24 in town, 27 or better highway."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

a dependable car with one major flaw

By on Friday, September 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "strong motor, tons of room, great visibility"

Cons: "Headgasket failure, punk gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My '09 Forester is easily the best car I've ever owned. Great outward visiblity, user friendly controls, roomy seating, a strong engine, and lots of cargo room are its high points. It's been my daily driver for seven years. The one hiccup--and it's a big one--was the early failure of the headgaskets. This was a known issue with Subaru's EJ25 boxer engine for many years, although I didn't expect it to happen so soon--at 60K miles. It's an expensive repair: 2100 dollars. Having had the HG's replaced, the Suby is back to its dependable self. Hope to drive it another three or four years."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Under powered for mountain roads.

By on Wednesday, September 14, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,750

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
3/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

Pros: "Like the way it handles."

Cons: "Hoped it would hold its value better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 2

"Over priced. Did not get the average miles/gallon as advertised. Did not hold its value as advertised."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

a trusted, comfortable workhorse

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and trustworthy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It takes us where we want to go when we want to go. With all the snow we get in northern New York, this vehicle is critical. And we have driven to Oklahoma and back, comfortably, 3 times. It gets terrific gas mileage even when loaded down with people, pets and cargo."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Great visibility, 4WD the best, comfortable

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great in all kinds of weather, visibility great"

Cons: "Check engine light!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I got this car when it was 1 year old with 85,000 miles. My local dealer said it was a good buy. It had been owned by a corp., probably driven by sales personnel. Upkeep and maintenance was recorded and done on time. I like the car. But... I have 114000 miles on it now, the check engine light is on. The computer says its the catalytic converter. I've done a cleaning treatment three times and the light continues to come back on. I just replaced all 4 brakes for $684 which kills me since I want to sell it real soon. I doubt I'll get my money back. Strange that I took it to a Subaru dealer Wednesday to have the brake lines checked (on a recall) and when I got it back they told me about the brakes. I declined to have them do them and had my own guy work on them. I never had a problem till Subaru had the car. Coincidence? Probably."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.