Go

2009 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 266 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next

Really great little vehicle

By on Sunday, November 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for shorter folk; lots of storage areas"

Cons: "Bad base radio, not for large families"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I like my little car. Got new, 30K miles and no mechanical problems. Great car for short folk (I'm 5'2") with driver and steering wheel adjusts. TV ad with lady and all the kids and their stuff? Uh, no... With grandson's car seat, there's room for one small adult in back seat, no more. Not a car for someone with lots of kids and stuff. I didn't want moonroof but it came with. It leaked badly. Turned in, got rental, fixed in 3 days. Radio is NOT good. I get better mileage than advertised: 24 in town, 27 or better highway."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

a trusted, comfortable workhorse

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and trustworthy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It takes us where we want to go when we want to go. With all the snow we get in northern New York, this vehicle is critical. And we have driven to Oklahoma and back, comfortably, 3 times. It gets terrific gas mileage even when loaded down with people, pets and cargo."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great visibility, 4WD the best, comfortable

By on Thursday, August 28, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great in all kinds of weather, visibility great"

Cons: "Check engine light!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"I got this car when it was 1 year old with 85,000 miles. My local dealer said it was a good buy. It had been owned by a corp., probably driven by sales personnel. Upkeep and maintenance was recorded and done on time. I like the car. But... I have 114000 miles on it now, the check engine light is on. The computer says its the catalytic converter. I've done a cleaning treatment three times and the light continues to come back on. I just replaced all 4 brakes for $684 which kills me since I want to sell it real soon. I doubt I'll get my money back. Strange that I took it to a Subaru dealer Wednesday to have the brake lines checked (on a recall) and when I got it back they told me about the brakes. I declined to have them do them and had my own guy work on them. I never had a problem till Subaru had the car. Coincidence? Probably."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First Car Purchase

By on Wednesday, August 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handles great, roomy, comfort, travel friendly"

Cons: "maintenance expense"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the first vehicle I purchased on my own. While nervous about making such a big investment, I'm happy to say that my Forester has not let me down one bit! Because I commute about 80 miles (round-trip) to work every day the oil change/maintenance expenses are more than I'd really like, but even when it's close to being due it still runs like a champ. Great gas mileage for an SUV, espeically on the highway. First long distance trip (KS to Vegas), a plane ticket cost about the same as gas. At least by driving I got to stop and experience some things I wanted to along the way! Also, has tons of leg room that makes travelling a breeze. Handled well through the mountains and this winter in some crazy blizzard conditions. Plenty of cup holders and storage compartments. If there's one thing I hate about some cars is the lack of these features! While I don't keep a ton of stuff in my car, I need cup holders, place to put insurance, or keep things we tend to need (like pens, tire pressure checker thing, cd holder)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

A GREAT Car

By on Tuesday, April 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 35,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything--especially handling in bad weather."

Cons: "Need keyless start."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Our second Forester. Live in snow country--it just keeps going--and no chains for us when chains are required on the Pass for non-AWD/4WD. It's comfortable, a pleasure to drive. We leave the back seats down unless we have passengers so there's room for all the extra stuff we keep in the car and the dogs. We average about 23-24 mpg in winter and 26-27 in summer and a year's average of 25 mpg with mostly highway driving but lots of hills that suck up the gas. Our next car will be a Forester."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 54 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement