To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2009 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 271 Ratings for the 2009 - 2013 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.1/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.3/10
  • Comfort
    8.0/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next

a dependable car with one major flaw

By on Friday, September 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "strong motor, tons of room, great visibility"

Cons: "Headgasket failure, punk gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"My '09 Forester is easily the best car I've ever owned. Great outward visiblity, user friendly controls, roomy seating, a strong engine, and lots of cargo room are its high points. It's been my daily driver for seven years. The one hiccup--and it's a big one--was the early failure of the headgaskets. This was a known issue with Subaru's EJ25 boxer engine for many years, although I didn't expect it to happen so soon--at 60K miles. It's an expensive repair: 2100 dollars. Having had the HG's replaced, the Suby is back to its dependable self. Hope to drive it another three or four years."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Really great little vehicle

By on Sunday, November 18, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 31,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great for shorter folk; lots of storage areas"

Cons: "Bad base radio, not for large families"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

"I like my little car. Got new, 30K miles and no mechanical problems. Great car for short folk (I'm 5'2") with driver and steering wheel adjusts. TV ad with lady and all the kids and their stuff? Uh, no... With grandson's car seat, there's room for one small adult in back seat, no more. Not a car for someone with lots of kids and stuff. I didn't want moonroof but it came with. It leaked badly. Turned in, got rental, fixed in 3 days. Radio is NOT good. I get better mileage than advertised: 24 in town, 27 or better highway."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

a trusted, comfortable workhorse

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 27,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable and trustworthy to drive"

Cons: "none"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It takes us where we want to go when we want to go. With all the snow we get in northern New York, this vehicle is critical. And we have driven to Oklahoma and back, comfortably, 3 times. It gets terrific gas mileage even when loaded down with people, pets and cargo."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Hard working, versatile, reliable vehicle

By on Tuesday, March 14, 2017

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,500

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Safe, reliable, a great SPORT UTILITY vehicle"

Cons: "If you like sleek and stylish, not your SUV"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is my second Subaru Forester, and its as good as my first one. Its why Im ready to buy a third one. I live in predominantly rural, hilly, snowy Chautauqua County, NY where 150+ inches of snow is par for most winters, and this SUV is probably the best you will find for winter driving in this area. Its also great at taking you off-road even if its not rated as an off-road vehicle. I drive it regularly on logging/gas well access roads and on mowed trails on my rural property as well as on the unpaved roads in state forest lands. Ive even driven it down to creek beds and across fields. Just watch your ground clearance! As a typical Subi, this Forester, like my previous one, never has had any mechanical/electronics issue. All those Subaru commercials do not lie!"

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First Car Purchase

By on Wednesday, August 21, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 44,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
Not Rated
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "handles great, roomy, comfort, travel friendly"

Cons: "maintenance expense"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This is the first vehicle I purchased on my own. While nervous about making such a big investment, I'm happy to say that my Forester has not let me down one bit! Because I commute about 80 miles (round-trip) to work every day the oil change/maintenance expenses are more than I'd really like, but even when it's close to being due it still runs like a champ. Great gas mileage for an SUV, espeically on the highway. First long distance trip (KS to Vegas), a plane ticket cost about the same as gas. At least by driving I got to stop and experience some things I wanted to along the way! Also, has tons of leg room that makes travelling a breeze. Handled well through the mountains and this winter in some crazy blizzard conditions. Plenty of cup holders and storage compartments. If there's one thing I hate about some cars is the lack of these features! While I don't keep a ton of stuff in my car, I need cup holders, place to put insurance, or keep things we tend to need (like pens, tire pressure checker thing, cd holder)."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 55 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.