Go

1999 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 314 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next

Surprisingly good car

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,550

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very handy compact suv with all wheel drive."

Cons: "Some early problems with brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 12 years and I have been pleasantly surprised at what a good car it has turned out to be. Little extras much appreciated, as with heated front seats, electric digital compass in mirror. Very good handling for such a high box, excellent visibility, headroom front and back. So much in a compact car, shorter than average compact sedan. With 5 speed manual get 25-28 mpg, with low 30's traveling out of state where fuel has more energy (not oxyginated). Recommend increasing tires one size for additional stability."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "zippy,fun to drive,easy to park,lots of cargo room"

Cons: "oil fltr hard toget to,raised ctr console wd b nic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family has/has had 8 subarus in our lifetime and we all love them! they're zippy and fun to drive, very easy to park and have lots of cargo space. the fuel economy is also a . on the downside, we do our own oil changes and the oil filter on my 2010 forester is a challenge to get to. also a raised center console/arm rest would be nice. All in all, we're a happy Subaru family."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Durable, consistent, and safe

By on Tuesday, March 9, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought our 2001 Forester because of AWD and winter suitability; it now has 225,000 and still going strong. We put high mileage on all our vehicles (Audi, Subaru) and the Forester had the least amount of maintenance needs. Catalytic converter replacement at 170K has been biggest expense outside of timing belt replacement at 100K intervals. Has handled exceptionally well in wet and snow, still gets ~ 25 mpg with highway driving. Probably the best car for the money I've ever owned."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Forester is well worth the money!

By on Thursday, September 17, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Bought my 2002 Forester brand new and have put on 162000 miles on it since bought brand new over eight years ago. Still runs almost as good as brand new. Definitely recommend the Forester to anyone considering buying a solid pre-owned vehicle."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE

By on Friday, August 14, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 1999 Forester now has 198000 miles on it and has never left me stranded. Still has original clutch and struts. Gets 27-30 mpg. I put cv joints in myself one time and that's been the only repair other than regular maintenance. Most reliable car I have ever owned. Also own a 2004 Forester XT."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 63 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement