Go

1999 Subaru Forester

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.6
Out of 10

Based on 317 Ratings for the 1998 - 2003 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.8/10
    Quality
    8.7/10
  • Reliability
    8.9/10
    Performance
    8.8/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next

The Best All Around Vehicle Ever

By on Friday, January 25, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I get close to 30mpg on the highway and with the all wheel drive I still go more places than my friends do with their big 4x4s. It handles really good in the snow. In fact I drove it out on the lake to go ice fishing. I got close to getting stuck a couple times, but when you are motoring through up to 2 feet of snow I was very impressed!!! I've owned two fullsized trucks and a jeep before this forester and I still go through the woods and snow like I used to. This car is the BEST overal buy on the market period."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Versatility Quality Cost Efficient Work Horse

By on Saturday, June 11, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 156,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Low maintenance. Safe in All Weather"

Cons: "Wee bit of coaxing over steep steep mountains"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is a safe, dependable, cost effective, vehicle. I have 156k on it and it runs like a top! Replaced front seat-belts when they would no longer pull out and retract properly. This car is amazing. Hope to keep driving her forever!!"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Saved my sons life!!!

By on Thursday, September 2, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned this car since 2001, always reliable no major issues, just routine maintenace. My son recieved his license in June. It just took a glace away from the road (no cell phone or texting) and he hit a telephone pole. The pole broke in two and the car was totaled. All he had was brusing and a sprained ankle. The Forester took all the brunt and goes to show that it is well built and a safe vehicel. Time to buy another one."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Bought Subaru saved on insurance Bought used saved

By on Sunday, July 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 98,074

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Good Price Used, Saves on Insurance"

Cons: "`03 is outdated and used Love the 2010 allweather"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"Subaru`s have been very very Good for me, We have mom`s 1991, have leased an 06 Tribecca saved on insurance, leased then bought an 09 Forester, (insurance on two cars less than our daughters 2002 Maxima) Bought this 03 in April as a back up for the 1991 both have less than 100K so still young. In May the 09 was destroyed in a head-on, just purchased a 10 used of course. If you only need room for five consider a Forester. (note) we had a Toyota for a rental WORST CAR EVER poor handling and cannot see out rear window !!! no wonder Toyota drivers always ride their brakes!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Good family car

By on Wednesday, July 7, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"I bought this car just over a year and a half ago when we decided to have our second child and it is great for that purpose. I have 2 car seats (1 toddler seat and 1 infant seat) and usually an 80lb dog in the car. My only issue is the passenger seat has to be closer to the dash than most people like because I cannot fit the infant seat behind my seat (and I'm only 5'6"), the back seat needs to be further back. I have also had to replace both O2 sensors and a CV shaft but since I bought it with 119K, that's not a big deal. That said, it's good in the snow, gets good gas mileage, and handles really well, I enjoy driving this car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great College Car

By on Tuesday, October 19, 2010

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"Got this car to commute everyday, around 10 miles, to college. This car is an absolute beast, I took it offroading, drove it in heavy Michigan snow, rain and mud. The Subie never lost a step, started on a dime and pumped AC or heat quickly. Only problems I had was with the overhead clock (busted), the seats aren't comfortable (who cares) and I replaced the stock tires with Kelly all terrains. 104K miles so far. Red Forester S."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

I LOVE my Subaru. Pushing 200K miles !

By on Wednesday, March 14, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 180,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "fun to drive, RELIABLE, STURDY, WELL BUILT and .."

Cons: "none I can think of, except tires all 4 go at once"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Of course I would recommend this car! My parents owned a 1992 Subaru and love it - its still in use! Glad I bought this Forester!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Just keeps on running

By on Friday, February 17, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 190,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Reliable, agile in traffic, easy maintenance"

Cons: "Slow from a stop, a rougher ride than most sedans"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My 2001 Forester was all factory original at 170,000 (other than expected maintenance like battery replacement, etc), and now at 190,000 I just had the head gaskets replaced. The dealer basically gave me the bad news: I'll probably only get another 100,000 miles on the engine. It is amazing how far you can go with defensive driving habits (car is accident-free) and routine maintenance. These old Foresters are pretty slow from a start, but it is a perfect vehicle for snowy winters, and like the ads say, it has a high resale value if ever you decide to sell. With that in mind, this one is already claimed by my teenager, so I'll be shopping for another Subaru before too long."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Surprisingly good car

By on Friday, January 13, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 196,550

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Very handy compact suv with all wheel drive."

Cons: "Some early problems with brakes"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 12 years and I have been pleasantly surprised at what a good car it has turned out to be. Little extras much appreciated, as with heated front seats, electric digital compass in mirror. Very good handling for such a high box, excellent visibility, headroom front and back. So much in a compact car, shorter than average compact sedan. With 5 speed manual get 25-28 mpg, with low 30's traveling out of state where fuel has more energy (not oxyginated). Recommend increasing tires one size for additional stability."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love it

By on Tuesday, December 20, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 164,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "zippy,fun to drive,easy to park,lots of cargo room"

Cons: "oil fltr hard toget to,raised ctr console wd b nic"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My family has/has had 8 subarus in our lifetime and we all love them! they're zippy and fun to drive, very easy to park and have lots of cargo space. the fuel economy is also a . on the downside, we do our own oil changes and the oil filter on my 2010 forester is a challenge to get to. also a raised center console/arm rest would be nice. All in all, we're a happy Subaru family."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 32 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Subaru Forester near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.