Go

2004 Scion xA

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.3
Out of 10

Based on 310 Ratings for the 2004 - 2006 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.3/10
  • Reliability
    9.7/10
    Performance
    9.0/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next

2004 xA Base

By on Thursday, June 12, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
5/10

"Ride This car handles like a dream and has great pick-up for what it is. For passing I often click the OD off to get that lower gear torque and extra revs in miami to palm beach I95 North traffic. It parks anywhere and visibility is satisfactory. Asmentioned before this car revs very high. About 3k for 60mph and about 4k+ at 80mph. The noise can be a bit much at times. But its not unbearable. Remember this is a $10k sub-compact import. Gas Milage I drive this car at least 110 miles/day Monday through Saturday. Or about 660-700 miles a week. This is roughly 97% Highway miles. If I keep it at 65 - 70 I can get 35+ mpgs. at 80 - 90+ Its closer to 30 nd I have never averaged less than 30. This car will go 100+ mph confidently but is very noisy at 90+. Interior Bigger and more comfortable than it looks. An armrest would make the comfort 100x better. The lack of cruise control is also a minus consdering the type of driving I do. Exterior Subjective.I think it looks nice. After market customization makes them look alot better. The egg shape styling makes it unaffected when passing semis on the highway. Quality I bought this car on Jan 31, 2007 with 18,000 miles on it and put 15,000 on it from then till June 12, 2008. The first week I had it the passenger power window motor burned out and had to be replaced. This past week (6.12.2008) It had noise coming from the front end. Turns out it was the wheel bearings. The driver side power window motor burned up at the same time. I have a rental now as its in the shop.I have had no other problems with this car. It has never stalled and even after putting 15k on in 6 months it handles and drives the same. Service Experience. My wife took the car to the dealer for the wheel noise. First they told her that the defect was caused by an accident and the certified warranty would not cover it. After talking to the dealer and explaining that if it was in an accident it was before I had it and that they sold it to me liek that they changed their mind. I went through substantial grief straightening them out on this and am very disappointed with Toyota Service. Current Impression Despite the poor quality on the power window motors and poor service experience at Toyota I would still recomend this ride to anyone who needs competent, economical transport. Ill drive this thing till the wheels fall off. I wonder if I can put 300,000 on it."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Great little commuter car

By on Tuesday, February 2, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 72,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great mpg 33 currently 60/40 highway city."

Cons: "Little short on HP but will do"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I really enjoy this car, seats could be better but can't ask to much. Down on horsepower but that's why I bought it to save on gas. I just have to get use to it and so far I would do it again, my wife had previously owned an 09 xD so I knew for a commuter this would work out great. Plus this is the easiest car ever to change the oil. I'm training Girl Scouts how to change oil on this car. They need to know."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Simply the best!

By on Monday, January 2, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 150,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Great gas mileage, roomier than it looks!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I absolutely loved this car! I sadly lost it in an accident of which I walked away from w/o a scratch to myself. The car took the hit and protected me. Prior to the accident the only major things I had to do to the car were maintenance services. I changed the alternator belt and the main belt at 150k. I would suggest to do it a little earlier as it did start making a noise when first started at around 120k. Changing both those belts out at the dealership cost around $270. I spent about $85-95 a tire at Sears, oil changes every 5-7k miles, spent $400 changing the front brakes and rotors in year 4 of owning it. Changed my brakes out for the first time in year 3 at Just brakes all 4 wheels were done. Due to the poor pad quality at Just Brakes I had to change out the disc brakes the following year at an independent mechanic. The rear disc brakes bought in year 3 were still in working condition until the accident a week ago and were not needing to be changed just yet. All in all I loved that car! Great on gas mileage! I drove it to Georgia, Arizona all over Texas and never had an issue with the car. Truly a joy to drive! It looks small but if you throw the back seats down you can fit a full size mattress! That's how I moved my college apartment. I'd recommend this car to EVERYONE!!!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Love this car

By on Saturday, February 28, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Love my xA! Incredibly reliable. Not the best with hills immediately after a cold start, but it is tolerable. Super-easy entry and exit, says my 85-year-old father. Braking distance is amazingly short; probably saved my life on many occasions. My real-world mpg is usually 33.5 to 34.5."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great Commuter Car & More

By on Monday, April 7, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I've owned this car for over three years and since then I haven't had any complaints. I did own a Saturn before, I had so many problems with it. This car has been so good I'm surprised with it's performance. First, it is a communter car. Great gas mileage, excellent reliability. I've driven over 90,000 miles without any problems. I also have a child and can drive with no major issues. Space may be an issue for some who are reliant on brining everything with them. With this car you have to "budget" what you need which can be an issue for some with kids. Then again, it's cheaper than driving a huge SUV (The Xb may be a better choice for those people.) Still you can fold the seats down for a LOT of room. Plus you can get a roof rack for the car and transport other items that way. The other thing I liked about this car is that everything came with it. Power Locks/Windows/Steering, ABS, AM/FM Stereo CD/MP3 system. This was my first Automatic car, and I'm not really bothered by the RPMs on the highway. It does ride a little rougher than a sedan or SUV may, but that's because of the size on both accounts. The really big thing for me is that as I've owned this car, it's stayed at the value of my payments! Which is great. When I traded in my old car the value was over $1000 less than what I owed on it. So far this car has stayed even with what I owe on it. So should I want to trade it in, I can get the same amount of money on my loan! Pros: Great Gas Milage (At least 30+MPG) Reliable Fully Loaded (Virtually) Compact Easy to drive and park Great room for the size Cons: If you have more than one child it may be a little crampt. (Try the Xb in that case) If you drive an SUV it takes a little getting used to, but not a bad car to switch to."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 62 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Scion xA near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.