To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2004 Saab 9-5

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 416 Ratings for the 1999 - 2009 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.6/10
    Quality
    7.8/10
  • Reliability
    7.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 84 | Next

Maybe the best car I've ever owned.

By on Saturday, September 24, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 67,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fun to drive, great MPG (see my review), impressive ride for a small car, nice creature comforts"

Cons: "Poor visibility when backing and front seat arm rests are not real comfy."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Who says Germans are the best engineers? This car has a fabulous combination of luxury, economy, utility and sporty features without any of the quirks typical of other Euro cars. I love the overall design and performance of this car. I have used (and LOVE) all four driving modes: normal, winter, sport and manual. [Pure engineering genius!] I get much better MPG than average: 30 MPG highway and around 20 MPG city. (Good maintenance and driving habits?) The only complaints I have are the rather significant amount of rear blind spots and the poorly positioned front seat arm rests. Overall: Saabs are pricey, but worth it. Get an extended warranty, though. It will pay for itself with just one semi-major repair. After owning this Saab for the past 18 months, I don't want to drive anything but a Saab."

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

a classy wagon

By on Wednesday, August 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "fun to drive, multipurpose car"

Cons: "turbo lag"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"the best looking wagon,fast turbo engine, classy and roomy interior,superb sound system,very fun to drive,highly recommended.I know some people look down on saabs,there is no reason what so ever..."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Love this car.

By on Friday, December 9, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 213,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Cargo room, handling in snow, comfort, style"

Cons: "they dont make them anymore."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had my 2000 Gary Fisher editon since 162k. Im currently at 213k and have spent a meere 500.00 in repairs. ( exhuast manifold studs) Its such a fantastic car. I tow with it, load stuff on it, in it, get 25mpg consistantly, and its a very nice ride. Im shooting for 300k."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car for the going market price range.

By on Thursday, November 10, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 125,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Turbo engine, sport"

Cons: "Lacks cup holders for rear passangers."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 15 months and put a lot of miles on it (30,000). I change the oil religiously every 5000 with full synthetic, rotate the tire and so on. The handling and comfort of the car is nice especially on long trips. I havn't had any major issues at all. I believe as long as you are consistant with the maintenance and care for you investment, it will last. If your buying used trying to make sure the the previous owner hasn't abused it before you got it. Don't diss a brand after you have bought an old used beat-up car. Saab has some great engineering and is doing even better with current model vehicles. I may sound bias but I don't work in the auto industry at all. I have researched Saabs and they seem to hold up very well. There are a lot more older Saabs on the road today thana most people know. I think if your looking for a used car for great comfort, performance, and some luxuarys, and are sold at low prices compared to their initial investments, Saab is one to look at."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Good car for the price but average quality

By on Thursday, March 20, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 85,000

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Confort, room, feature, power"

Cons: "Quality, Gas MPG"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 6

"Got this 2000 9-5 SE wagon, 1 year ago, used with 71000 miles on it. first day, I changed the 4 tires which improve greatly the ride by eliminating some noises and vibrations and had the timing belt done on the V6($550) . I like the confort, room, power and all features it had. However I did have to perform some typical repairs for those Saabs. First I had to replace the engine mounts (Fronts), fix the blower motor (New brushes), fix the relay for the High beams (to solder a connector in it) and repaired the subwoofer in the trunk (new edge repair kit). As of today, I still have a strong noise in the transmission (wheels bearing?!) after a visit a repair shop, they said it might be from the transmission or CV joint. So there's some flaws on the quality. My car had only 71000 miles and luckily the heater core had been change by the previous owner because that's another 9-5's weakness.MPG= avg.20 So be careful on those issues and avoid this car if your not into mechanic."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 84 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Saab 9-5 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.