Go

2002 Saab 9-3

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 238 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.2/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.0/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next

OMGosh!!!!

By on Friday, October 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Everything! Find out for yourself!!"

Cons: "The parts are hard to find? No they aren't!! LOL!"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Truthfully, besides the fact that SAAB went out of business, if you ever have a technical problem or an electrical problem you can go to foreign car mechanic or a BMW mechanic. Besides that.. this is the best car I have ever had! It's super fast and it feels like your cruising so be very careful with speeding. You have to be a great driver the handle this baby. I hit the curves so smoothly at 70. The brakes are fantastic! When it comes to maintenance parts new or even used are good. With all of my cars, even this one, I go to Lacey's Used Auto Parts in Newark, NJ. I choose them over Auto Zone, Advanced Auto Parts, and sometimes even my mechanic. I watch them collect the parts and clean them to prepare them for my car. Anyway, I love this car!!"

15 people out of 15 found this review helpful

Cool convertible

By on Thursday, April 5, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 110,666

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Luxury car with class and a little different"

Cons: "Saab has gone out of business"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"This car is great for any weather. The convertible top down it looks great and feels great. Top up and it is quiet as a sedan with good AC and heat system. The leather upholstery is comfortable and rich looking. Performance and acceleration are amazing for a 2 liter car. Must be the turbo!"

13 people out of 13 found this review helpful

Enigmatic

By on Saturday, September 8, 2007

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"A Saab is a Saab is a Saab." Saabs are wonderful, yet can be horribly infuriating. I'd never recommend buying a new one, they are too overpriced due to their high repair costs. Yet their steep depreciation makes a used one a steal. I bought a '01 9-3 in '03 with 32k miles for $13500- an original $32000 sticker price. Try doing that with a BMW. It's now '07 and the odo has spun to 140k. I've had my fair share of mechanical problems to be sure: failed turbo, catalytic converter, water pump, sensors, electrical, etc... But when I consider the drive quality, the superb gas mileage, performance, versatility of the car and match it with original sticker price; it's been a wonderful companion."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Friday, January 11, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 120,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "all good"

Cons: "Newer models get better gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is the 4th Saab that I had owned and this was the best! The turbo charge really made you "hold on to your hats". The leather interior, sound system, heated seats, tons of cargo space with the hatch back, dependability--all reasons to own this Saab. Truly a luxury car but has the capacity to load up (when you need it) like a full-sized truck. Also timeless in design--although it is now 13 yrs old, it still looks as modern as the newest models."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Super Value Used

By on Wednesday, November 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 88,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value as a used car."

Cons: "Requires full synthetic oil."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have owned this car for 7 years. It has required minimal repairs. Very reliable, great mix of power(turbo) and gas mileage (32-35 MPG highway). Hatch/Trunk is super huge. Seats in Saabs are some of the best made, sit in one for a few hours and you will feel the difference. Excellent for driving in snow. Saabs are also very safe cars, when this design first came out, it was one of the safest cars in its class. Google Saab colisions to find photos of these cars after hitting moose, rolling over, or getting smashed by other cars. They stay intact and often can be driven away. Build quality and durability are very good for a car in its price range, with proper care this car will go 300K miles or more. I know of many that have. Working on these cars is not as complicated as many people would like you to beleive, changing oil, filters, spark plugs, belts, etc. is very straight forward. No timing belts to snap, there is a timing chain that typically lasts 200K miles. Parts can be more expensive than domestic car parts, but are typically higher quality and last longer. Down sides: The chassis and suspension design was quite old by the time the 2001 model year was made, so handling is not up to par with more modern day alternatives 10 years newer, still it is as good or better than most cars from 2001. If buying one of these used, make sure prior owner did regular oil changes with a quality synthetic oil like Mobil 1. Otherwise the engine, like many european turbo charged engines, is prone to oil sludge build up."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 48 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Saab 9-3 near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.