Go

1996 Oldsmobile Silhouette

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 279 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.6/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    8.5/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.9/10
    Styling
    8.6/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

Okay, comfy vehicle

By on Tuesday, January 26, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Okay, so I love my van, but seriously, I am on the third transmission and second engine, in just 212,000 miles. GM transmissions are awful, expensive to work on. When it's on the road, very comfortable, can't beat it for road trips, but hard to forget the almost $6,000 in repairs in the last few years. (first trans. van was still under warranty) Awesome gas mileage, better than any new van out there. Not sure I would ever buy another GM product though, too bad Oldsmobiles are extinct anyway."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Started Great...

By on Monday, November 30, 2009

10 4.0
overall rating 4 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
4/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
5/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
6/10

"We got this car a while ago, and it was great. Over time it became one of the biggest holes in our checkbook ever. In the past few months we've lost a couple thousand on repairs alone."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Too many engine repairs

By on Saturday, April 5, 2008

10 2.0
overall rating 2 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
2/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
3/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"140,000 miles and it's finally over (head gasket blew). Two lower intake manifod gasket replacemnts ($850 repair- once at 24,000 and again at 85,000). Water pump, tie rods, two cd players, master and slave brake cylinders, handles break, interior parts crumble. No wonder they no longer make this."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great minivan!

By on Friday, February 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"My 2001 Oldsmobile Silhouette has bee a great minivan! It takes on us on many road trips out of state for athletics and has always been comfortable for the whole family on these trips. It's been dependable and reliable with no major repair needs."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I wouldn't buy another one

By on Friday, January 4, 2008

10 3.0
overall rating 3 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
3/10
Value
4/10
Reliability
2/10
Quality
2/10
Performance
2/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"We have had nothing but problems from almost the start with this van. We bought a '99 a year ago. It has 111000 miles on it now. The fuel pump went out, the ac went out, the head gasket & intake manifold gasket went bad on it. Now the power door has stopped working. I am getting rid of it ASAP. I do not recommend this van to anyone."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Oldsmobile Silhouette near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.