ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2000 Oldsmobile Alero

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.1
Out of 10

Based on 827 Ratings for the 1999 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.5/10
    Quality
    7.4/10
  • Reliability
    7.7/10
    Performance
    7.8/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 166 | Next

Should have passed on it....

By on Thursday, September 6, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Basically, the car has been a good one for me, minus the major repairs that this car is known for (intake gasket problem, brakes/rotors, multi-function switch, power windows, wheel hubs). I bought mine about a week before Olds said they were shutting down the brand (Sep. '00), and I probably wouldn't have purchased it if I had known. It's been hard finding parts that aren't exorbitantly priced through GM. Did the major intake gasket repair, which nobody should do voluntarily on an engine. Had the brake/rotor problems and all the associated repairs and constant replacement of said parts. I will probably drive it until it dies, mainly because it was the first car I bought new and I don't believe in continual repairs on a supposedly quality vehicle. I would definitely not buy a used one. The GLS with the 16" wheels runs great in snow and on pavement, but you're out of luck if you drive into wet grass, mud, or off a solid surface. Good luck if you have one or are thinking of purchasing a used one!"

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

wished they stilled made these cars

By on Sunday, September 23, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 100,087

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "v-6 about 20 mpg, great proforamce. confortable"

Cons: "dont make after 2006"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i have had this car for 8 yrs have driven 100,000 no problems. just maintaince. still passes smog. would buy another one."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Love, love, love this car!

By on Sunday, December 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 252,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "responsive steering, keeps control when stopping"

Cons: "plastic parts in power windows break"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought it used over 10 yrs. ago"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Dependable Daily Driver, electonics need help

By on Wednesday, December 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,500

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "motor, accceleration"

Cons: "window motors, electronics"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"We've had an Olds Alero for 12 years, and use it as a 3rd car around our house. The car itself drives great and the 6 cyl. engine provides good power for this size of a car. Our only complaint during our ownership is the electronics. We have numerous electronic problems with the car, from ALL 4 windows not working or motor going out (a consistant problem for this car I've found out), to cruise control going out, dials not working, etc. Except for the $1000 or so I've spent on things I would think should always work, we've enjoyed the car. It's a dependable car to have around."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

The most reliable vehicke we have ever owned.

By on Friday, November 11, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 117,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The most reliable vehicke we have ever owned. The gas milage could be a little better both highway and city. It's a little tight inside and a bit small for a childs car seat. Drives very well and has always ran outstandingly for my wife and I."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 166 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Oldsmobile Alero near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.