To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1999 Nissan Sentra

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 233 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.7/10
    Quality
    8.5/10
  • Reliability
    9.0/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    7.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next

Excellent starter car.

By on Wednesday, March 10, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

"I got my '98 Nissan Sentra in 2002. It's survived deers, ditches, berms and parking garage girders. It has been an exceedingly reliable vehicle, has great gas mileage a decent interior and modest cargo room. I am very happy with this car. Its only flaws are, moderate road noise, the interior will fog up if you are not continually fiddling with the defroster and poor acceleration. Which is probably the biggest flaw. If I died in this car it would be because I could not accelerate while merging. But.. This poor acceleration is perfect for learning drivers and should prevent any sort of (successful) racing unless your child is a gearhead. Thus, Excellent starter car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best investment, by far!

By on Wednesday, September 30, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"This is the first and only car I've ever purchased/owned. I purchased this 1996 model with less than 9,000 miles back in 1997 and it's still going strong (2009). It won't take anyone off the line, but it wasn't a slouch on the Autobahn either. Whether driving in the city (e.g., D.C.) or highway, she's consistently stayed between 35 to 40 mpg, saving me hundreds of dollars on gas every year. Over the past 12 years, I've only had to make minor repairs like replacing the brakes and tuning up the transmission. By far, the greatest investment I've made in my life!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

A Winner

By on Monday, August 24, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car in 1999 with 35,000 miles I now have 181,000 miles on it and the motor runs like the day i bought it.regular routine maintenace.It's a fantastic car.I had a Ford tempo before this that I bought new.It was at the dealers for repairs more times than it was in my driveway.Thanks Nissan."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Car for the Money

By on Sunday, August 9, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought this car off the lot for $12K in 1997. Since then I have had only to replace:alternator, wheel bearing on the left side and both drive axles. Did I mention I have 183K miles on it!!! This car was a gem. It regularly gets 40 mpg plus on the highway with the A/C on going 75mph. Nissan hit the target on this one. The only draw back is that it's not the most comfortable car in the world but I don't want to sound like I'm complaining. I would buy another Nissan tomorrow if I needed a new car."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Owned for 8 years

By on Monday, June 22, 2009

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Has been a great car. Very reliable, still getting over 30 MPG. Drove to and from Canada in 2008."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Nissan Sentra 1997

By on Saturday, June 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Excellent value, great gas milage"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

86 years old best ever

By on Thursday, December 4, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"owned since jan.2000.bought new as a 1999 hold over.never had a prolem.best car with the most extras ever owned .plus good gas millage"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Bed Rock

By on Monday, August 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
4/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
8/10

"Fred Flinstone can accelerate faster,and his feet are probably more attracive. However the MPG and mechanical reliability is amazing. I have 173,xxx miles and cannot remember the last time I took it in for repairs."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Excellent Car!!!

By on Thursday, January 17, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love this car. My wife bought it used 4 yrs. ago. It has been great to us. She bought a new car, and I could not trade the Sentra in. I am considering selling it, but it is hard to knowing how reliable this little car is. If your a power nut, this is not for you. If you want great gas mileage, you should consider a Sentra. I get 35-40 mpg and the car is 13 yrs. old!!!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

great first car

By on Wednesday, January 9, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

"The Sentra is a great first car! Very easy to learn how to drive in a sentra. The MPG is fantastic at 39MPG. There is not any performance in this set up, but just a enough pep in it to keep a begining driver excited."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 24 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Sentra near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.