ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 638 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next

Good 4x4 vehicle, poor gas mileage

By on Wednesday, February 20, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have a 1999 LE pathfinder with automatic remote start. Everything works perfect and low maintenance. It runs great and is very roomy. It is so quiet that one can not tell how fast you are going. I live in VA and lately we have been getting lot of gusty winds and during these times the vehicle is so stable that it is surprising at times. The only complaint I have is that it gives poor gas mileage, but oh well it is an SUV."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Past 250,000 mile mark and still going strong..

By on Monday, September 26, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 255,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Won't have to worry about another car for 15yrs"

Cons: "a little slow on the "get up and go"."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Bought this car new in late 1999 for $30,000. After 5000mi they found something wrong with the engine and immediately pulled it out and put a new engine in. Didn't cost me a penny. When it had about 200,000miles the transmission would not go in reverse. Had a rebuilt one put in and so far and 55,000miles later , still going strong. That cost me 1800.00 bucks. Never had a problem with the maxima engine. I've had this vehicle for 16 yrs, cross country trips, numerous san diego trips from s.f., and always super reliable. Always do the old change at 5k, and timing belt at 90k. If you can find one with low miles , I'd buy it. They last a long time..."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

1999 Nissan Pathfinder SE Limited

By on Wednesday, August 3, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 197,900

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Reliable, Low Maintenence"

Cons: "A/C Doesn't Work"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"My dad bought this Pathfinder in August of 2006 with 80,000 miles on it. He only planned on keeping the truck until he paid it off, however, it just keeps running. It is an extremely reliable SUV. The only problems we have had with the Truck is that we have had the exhaust replaced twice and the Park Neutral Switch is causing a Service Engine Light. This car is great and even at almost 20, it is more reliable than some of my friends cars that are 10-15 years newer."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

I love this Pathfinder

By on Thursday, August 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 200,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It is a tank I've had 3 wrecks and it still ran GREAT. It go's VERY good in the snow,rain. I love the Pathfinder if you ever get a chance to own one you will love it too"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Best Year for this SUV

By on Sunday, January 15, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 198,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Comfortable, great in snow, never lets me down"

Cons: "Windshields are prone to damage. Be happy w/ 18mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I've put over 180,000 miles on this rig since 2003. Changed the fluids, changed the tires. Couple of years ago I put about $1,500 into it to bring it up to speed on maintenance. Car has never let me down. Only issues have been the rear wiper is touchy, the windshield is prone to cracks and I need to reconnect the left speakers. Love the interior and heated mirrors. Seating is great. Engine is really strong. Tranny has been great, while I'm on my 3rd for my Accord. After 2003, Nissan started making changes and my friends with new models notice the interior isn't as nice or as comfortable and the 2003 engine/tranny are much better. I get between 17 - 19 mph overall. 19-21 on hwy if you keep your foot out of it. I work my SUVs hard and I'm hoping to get another 100,000 miles out of the Pathfinder."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

love it, bought it new, rear window break light

By on Sunday, December 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"rear window break light fell loose this week. This is the 1st repair ever required, replaced belts when they started squeaking, new brakes and rotors only veryyyyyyyy reliable car, had it 10 years plan on keeping it at least 10 more"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

has never left me stranded at anytime

By on Friday, October 21, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 230,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "excellant daily driver easy to drive and maintain"

Cons: "gas mileage but in 1996 gas was a dollar a gal."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This has been a reliable vehicle since I have owned it since 2006 I have put 130000 miles on it since buying it and have driven it everywhere even on long trips. Never any mechanical problems just replaced my starter and battery but if you maintain it they run for ever. It been a very good vechicle so thats why I stuck with nissan and bought a 08 Nissan Titan which is awesome."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Friday, December 5, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"This suv has been great. The only problem I have had were the O2 sensors and the CD player. The cd player was replaced once in warrantee and it is now acting up again. So now I just used the radio. Overall, it is a good reliable vehicle. I would serious look at the another Nissan when I am in the market for another suv."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

my gold 98 pathfinder

By on Tuesday, November 25, 2008

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"This has been a great car. Reliable as heck, with no maintenance surprises in 91k miles and 9 years of ownership. Smooth and quiet which I like. Multi adjustable leather seats make it extra comfortable. Only complaint is it is a little short on HP."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Reliable

By on Thursday, May 22, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I still own my 97 Pathfinder, got it with only 500 hundred miles. It has a little over 102,000 mile now and still running strong. Major work that I had done was replacement of the sway bars, clutch replacement..... Other than that, regular maintence...oil change, tune ups ect.. The side step bars rust underneath...to me it looked a sight, so had them removed. Besides that, very reliable, and it feels great not to have car payments!!!! looking to put on 100,000 more miles!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 64 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.