Go

1996 Nissan Pathfinder

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 637 Ratings for the 1996 - 2004 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.1/10
    Quality
    9.2/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    8.9/10
  • Comfort
    9.0/10
    Styling
    9.0/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 ... 128 | Next

Loved and babied this car till engine failed

By on Thursday, August 11, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 115,000

10 1.0
overall rating 1 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
1/10
Value
1/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
1/10
Performance
1/10
Styling
1/10
Comfort
1/10

Pros: "great vehicle for a while"

Cons: "Engine blows up"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"After babying this car which I loved for years, I had only 115000 miles on it when a design flaw caused the engine to fail. Nissan had recalled 2.5 liter engines with the same issue but never recalled the 3.5's which had the same issue. search for Nissan 3.5 power valve screw - the screws drop out of the intake into the piston and destroy the engine. If you are looking at one of these used - don't."

11 people out of 12 found this review helpful

174,574 miles and counting!

By on Wednesday, October 9, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 174

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great value!"

Cons: "Center of weight too high."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This car has only cosmetic and wear and tear damages from long term use, but when we talk about engine and transmission it will last forever. If you own one you know what I mean. This car acts like it doesn't understand aging, literally. As long as you keep changing all those fluids the life of a Pathfinder will keep extending until who knows when. I will volunteer my car to see how many miles you can get out of it. I have decided I'm keeping it forever. That's how satisfied I am about this vehicle. - Roberto Addarich"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Simply one of the Best vehicles ever made

By on Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 371,500

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
5/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Dependable and easy to Maintain"

Cons: "Better gas mileage would be great"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought my Pathfinder new in 1998 with only 3 miles on it. It has far exceeded my expectations. I have over 371,000 original one Owner miles on it, and it still runs strong. I've invested time and money in keeping the maintenance up. I'm hoping to reach my goal of getting over 400,000 miles on it. I can't justify getting rid of my Pathfinder considering all the the major components on the vehicle are less than year old. I'm looking forward to many more miles in my Pathfinder."

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

217,000 Miles and Still Going!

By on Sunday, July 3, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 217,492

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Reliable, Fun to Drive"

Cons: "Needs Tougher Suspension to handle off roading"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Owned since 1997 since buying it from a dealer that had it as their Program car. Have I meticulously maintained it? Probably the first 4 or so years but since then? Not as well as it should have been. This car has been everywhere... mountains, skiing, cross country, off roading... everywhere... and now coming up on 218,000 miles. I need a new timing belt (should be replaced every 110,000 miles) and I've got some issues now such as a leaky front axle and leaky rack"

10 people out of 11 found this review helpful

THE BEST CAR EVER, EVEN AFTER 5 OUTSTANDING MAXIMA

By on Monday, January 18, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 270,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "RELIABLE, CONVENIENT, UNBEATABLE VALUE - DURABLE"

Cons: "GAS MILEAGE COMPARED TO NEW MODELS"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"IN 14 YEARS, IT ONLY REQUIRED 2 TUNE-UPS! TOTALLY RELIABLE. BOSE SOUND SYSTEM, HUGE STORAGE:REAR SEATS COLLAPSE TO CREATE A FULL STORAGE COMPARTMENT. FRONT SEATS TOTALLY RECLINE TO FORM CHAISE LOUNGES WITH THE REAR SEATS SO THAT YOU CAN VIEW THE FLIP-DOWN VIDEO SCREEN WITH WIRELESS HEADSET. INCREDIBLY CONVENIENT FOR ALL FAMILY NEEDS. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS CAR BUT WITH NEW CAR GAS MILEAGE & MY LONG COMMUTES, IT'S TIME TO GET - HMMM.... - ANOTHER NISSAN! I DROVE 5 MAXIMAS IN A ROW - EACH TO 280,000 MILES. THEY HAVE MY LOYALTY FOR LIFE. AFTER DRIVING FINICKY JAGUAR, CUMBERSOME (BUT STRONG!) VOLVO, UNRELIABLE FORD & CHEVY, NISSAN IS THE WAY TO GO!!!!!!!"

9 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 31 32 33 ... 128 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Pathfinder near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.