To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2012 Nissan NV3500 HD Cargo

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
9.6
Out of 10

Based on 19 Ratings for the 2012 - 2017 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.6/10
    Quality
    9.4/10
  • Reliability
    9.3/10
    Performance
    9.7/10
  • Comfort
    9.5/10
    Styling
    9.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next

Great value, but not fancy

By on Wednesday, March 9, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 11,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Great price, very easy to drive"

Cons: "few options, leather seats are disappointing"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"We have a 2015 that I drive everyday. Really like the car. Gas mileage averages 15mpg, but I commute on the interstate (at or over 70)every day. The ride and seating options are great. My husband has a truck that is the same length, and it is much more difficult to turn and navigate than the NV--the front and rear sonar along with the rear camera and huge side windows really help to ensure that you have a clear view whether backing up, changing lanes, or squeezing into a tight spot. I wish there were more options to choose from--like automatic headlights and motorized sliding door. I have had headlights that you can set to automatically come on at night for over 10 years--not even an option on the NV3500. The sliding door is quite heavy. Our children are young, and we don't allow them to try to open the door, as our driveway is steep and if the door is not latched in the open position, can fall back on them. They are not strong enough to stop the door once it begins moving forward. :-( The leather seats are a bit of a disappointment. They are a pretty low grade leather--not at all like the leather in their Altimas. Recently, the leather on the driver and front passenger seats began to discolor--like they were picking up the color from the dark pants that I have to wear to work. At only 5 months old, that is not expected. Hopefully, that will be resolved."

18 people out of 21 found this review helpful

Hands down the best large van for a large family!

By on Wednesday, December 23, 2015

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 12,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Everything, best full-sized van on the market."

Cons: "Rear visibility"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"This is our second NV. Our first was a 2013 NV SV which we had for two years and 38k miles. We wanted to upgrade to the 2015 SL for the leather seats and the 100k mile bumper-to-bumper warranty. I was astounded at the trade-in value of our 2013. Additionally, the dealer had our 2013 on their lot for a grand total of 1 day before they sold it - the day it went on their Web site it was sold. We love the 2015 more then our first 2013. Previous to the NV we had a 2011 Chevy Express 2500. Additionally, we have rented a 2014 Ford Transit while on vacation. In my opinion, neither of these vans are even in the same class as the NV. The NV wins in: 1. Size and space 2. Interior features and comforts 3. Technology 4. Warranty 5. Ride comfort 6. Looks 7. Power and towing ease Regarding item 1, The NV is huge. Tons of head room, leg room, etc. With the size though comes some issues. Don't try to fit in most parking garages and plan on parking toward the back of the lot at your local Walmart. When we rented that large Ford Transit for 12 days in 2014, once we returned to the airport and got back in our NV I felt like a midget. Item 2, interior features and comforts. All kinds of cup holders, power outlets and map pockets. While the Ford and Chevy's feel like their only purpose is to cart people back and forth from the airport to the hotel the NV feels like it is meant for a family to drive around town or on vacation in. Now this doesn't mean it has the same level of amenities as say a Toyota minivan but compared to the other vans in this segment it is the clear winner. Item 3, technology. Back-up camera (an absolute must as the rear-view mirror is nothing more than a windshield ornament due to the rear seat head rests), GPS, bluetooth, speaker phone. Again, not comparing the NV to a fancy SUV but compared to the other vans in this segment it has the best tech. Item 4, Warranty. It's not even a fair competition. 100k bumper-to-bumper come on now! We have yet to use the warranty on our 2015 with 12k miles. On the 2013 we had the van in twice for a rattly sliding side door (which seems to be a common issue). Also, the bumper bolts on the chrome bumper were starting to rust and causing rust streaks on the bumper. The front bumper was replaced twice for this. Item 5, Ride comfort. Again, not comparing the NV to a Cadillac but instead to the other full size vans. The ride is not even close. The ride on our Chevy 3500 was like sitting on a skate board down a rode with pot holes at 35 MPH. The Ford we rented was much, much better but still felt like a big truck. The NV rides very nice. No longer do I have to warn the family when we are getting ready to go down a bumpy road. Item 6 Looks. I love, love, love the look of our NV. We have a black SL with chrome wheels and bumpers and tinted windows. When it is all shined up in the summer it looks like a Secret Service or SWAT van. I also like that there are so few on the road and it gets attention. Recently we were 70 miles from home and saw a fried of ours who lived in that town sitting at a stop light next to us. She recognized us from a distance as soon as she saw our van. As far as looks, be prepared for gawkers. I would say that weekly, at the gas station or at the store, someone asks 'what the heck is that'. Finally, Power and towing ease. The Nissan never, ever fells like it is lacking power. We have a 7000 lb 32 foot travel trailer that we pull. With our Chevy, which had a Vortec 6.0L, you knew the trailer was back there. With the NV, I have actually found myself checking my mirrors to make sure I didn't lose the trailer. The NV has power to spare even when pulling a heavy trailer. In summary, my wife and our eight children love this van. It is hard for me to think of any negative comments. Obviously, it could be less expensive or have more tech but when doing an apples to apples comparison of the direct competition it is hard to find even one thing Chevy or Ford does better. If the NV is in your price range I would not even waste my time at the Chevy or Ford dealer!!!"

28 people out of 33 found this review helpful

Love it!

By on Wednesday, February 3, 2016

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 62,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "price reliability fun to drive"

Cons: "side door heavy with nose down"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought mine as a RV conversion and it is everything that I could want. I have the eight cylender version, it is fast maneuverable and so far no problems at 60,000 miles. At first when I saw it I thought it looked funny with that nose sticking out. But it is nice not having a huge cover inside the cab.Engine compartment is huge and if you need to work on it has lots of room to get around in. seating is comfortable and having camera screen in dash is great. Only minor negative is that side door is heavy and if you park nose down can be a bear to open. It is a great vehicle and great buy. Have shown my conversion more than 200 times"

21 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Very comfortable and very good work van.

By on Saturday, May 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 43,796

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "Ride and room"

Cons: "gas mileage...loaded need v8"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I brought my V6 hightop used with 36,000 miles. Empty I got about 18 mpg. Since I have loaded the van with my tools and equipment. I am now getting 13 mpg. This van is the best work van I have owned. The ride is smoothe and firm. I have a lot of leg room and head room in my van. The V6 is strong and qiuet. The only thing I wish for was a v8."

24 people out of 30 found this review helpful

Very very nicely done Nissan. This is a hit

By on Wednesday, January 16, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 18,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
1/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "work friendly,smart, comfortable"

Cons: "transmission shifts a lot around 50 kph"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I bought this 2 weeks ago used and drove it 1500kms home and just love it.It has 25000km and works like a charm. For work I haul around 1500pounds of stuff and the V6 works very well and is ample power. On the highway I got 18mpg and my combined now is showing about 16. Nissan have done a great job making sure of a convenient, comfortable and smart work truck with their amazing back doors and side sliding door. Inside everything is nicely done with grab handles to power outlets to tye downs and lots of compartments which I find great.I have a 2007 Chevy Express 2500 which is going for sale and good bye. If Chevy and Ford don't wake up the NV is going to kick their butt. There is no comparison in the boxes and comfort of the Nissan to the Chevy. I did not rate the reliability as I just purchased it but the previous owner said there were no issues whatsoever with it."

20 people out of 25 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan NV3500 HD Cargo near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.