To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 495 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next

Great value for money

By on Sunday, February 16, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,200

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

Pros: "Reliable, gas saver, great overall value for $."

Cons: "Interior and exterior design could be better."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

My altima GLE (the work horse)

"This is a straight forward kinda car, how you treat it is how it'll treat you in return. I've had mine for seven years now and it has NEVER! NOT ONCE left me stranded. Super reliable, Super solid, it's looks won't get you noticed but with its lack of problems you won't care. Look at it like this... Less money spent fixing it leaves more money in YOUR pocket for other things. Two thumbs way up for this little car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

My altima GLE (the work horse)

I drive this vehicle 100 miles daily.

By on Sunday, January 20, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 177,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "very reliable car"

Cons: "seats are to low for taller drivers"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 9

"This vehicle currently has 177,000 miles and still running excellent. Everything is still stock / original and works including the cold a/c. I will continue to drive it until the engine will not work anymore. i would love to buy a 2013 altima and keep it as long as my 1999 Altima."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

BEST CAR EVER

By on Monday, December 12, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 58,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Peppy, RELIABLE, comfortable, great handling"

Cons: "Back a bit high-if short, backing may be difficult"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Although it's now considered an older car, you'd never know it! It's been extremely good value for the money, hasn't needed any repairs--only routine maintenance, and is still cute/looks great!! It's also only a 4-cyl engine, but again, you would never know it! This car is very "peppy" and responsive and handles very, very nicely. Even my parents, who both drive luxury cars (Mercedes and BMWs) are impressed by my car whenever they drive it. If you're looking for a cute, reliable, easy-to-care for car--look no further! Seriously!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Never been better

By on Sunday, December 4, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 275,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I have had this car for 10 years. I have lived in her, taken her everywhere,and always relied on her. there has never been a question in my mind whether I would make it somewhere or not. This is the most dependable car! I am at 275000 Miles now and only this year starting to have to replace something like a oxygen sensor. This is a great car for your money and will last your forever."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Amazing car

By on Saturday, November 26, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 135,000

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Fast, easy to drive, steers great, lots of space"

Cons: "Minor annoying issues"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"The car runs great, the problems that is does have are usually minor. Mine only has 135,000 miles on it. I bought it used and replaced the radiator because it cracked. That was the only serious issue I've had. The other issues I have had include the windows (the motor getting stuck), the air conditioner went out and I am waiting to replace the compressor, the O2 sensors are having an issue, and I have had issues with the security system. All issues are simply annoyances and have nothing to do with the operation of the vehicle. It's SO fast and picks up speed really nicely. I definitely do not regret this investment. It's beautiful and I love it!"

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Great car

By on Monday, October 31, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 181,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "very reliable and fun to drive"

Cons: "None"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Have only had to replace the alternator after 132,000 miles. Good fuel mileage, never had to service the A/C! Still runs great. No regrets buying this car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

love this car!

By on Tuesday, August 30, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 205,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "easy to get around in and quick handling"

Cons: "locks stopped working a while back. 2 of the 4 doors need to be locked manually now."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"Even with 205,000 miles on it, this car has been very reliable. It drives very smoothly and is even great in the snow, for a small car. I would recommend this car to younger drivers especially because of the reliability and excessive wear and tear you can put on this car. Not the fastest car out there, but it gets you where you need to go, of course with minor part replacements here and there."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Best Car Ever!

By on Friday, July 10, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned my 98 Altima for 11 years now and I have nothing but good things to say about it. I have 142,000 miles on it and I have never had any problems. I am about to buy a new car and I am really sad to see this car go."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Awesome Car

By on Saturday, May 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"I've had no trouble at all with my 1999 Nissan Altima GXE, other than replacing my brake pads. The seats are perfect for your back. It's roomy and trouble free. It's just a really awesome non-luxury car. It's the best car I have ever owned. The trunk is big. Inside it heats up and cools down pretty fast. The back seats fold down so you can load long extended items in the trunk. The engine is not loud. Well, the speakers in the back window are really lousy though on mine unless the original owner had asked to install the premium sound as one of the options."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

great vehicle

By on Saturday, February 28, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"excellent quality, runs great, never any problems. I've had the car for a year, all I've done is change the oil, oil filter, and my air filter. the car drives like a champ, atleast 25 miles per gallon. This altima handles well even at high rate of speed."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 50 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.