To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Nissan Altima

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.5
Out of 10

Based on 495 Ratings for the 1998 - 2001 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.9/10
    Quality
    8.8/10
  • Reliability
    9.1/10
    Performance
    8.7/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 40 41 42 ... 99 | Next

The Best Car

By on Friday, August 7, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"This has been the best car I have ever owned and I'm 68 years young. I have spent so little in repairs over the years. I have owned this car from day one..I hate to give it up, but time for something new."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

economical performance

By on Monday, March 30, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have put over 130,000 miles on this car at highway speeds and in congested traffic, with the standard 5 speed transmission you have full control of the vehicles performance. I pass when I am ready to pass and I slow down when I am ready to. never have to replace brakes, still in good condition becouse I rarely have to use them. I am impressed with the performance of this 4 cylinder and 5 speed combination. good gas millage and roomy for this 4 door sedan. dash is set up good, it's like having a sports car and family car all in one package."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

LOVE MY ALTIMA

By on Wednesday, August 6, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my altima. It handles wonderfully. I love the manual transmisson when I want to get up and go. My children spend a lot of time in the backseat,and are very comfortable. We do several major road trips a year, and i drove it 19 hours straight this summer with no problems. I bought this car with 17,000 miles, and never had any problems until about two years ago(140,000 miles), when I began putting a lot of maitenience repairs into it. At 165,000 it needs a new transmission, so I am going to buy a new altima. This car has ben rode hard, and put away wet, and has always been there for me. Average about 28mpg. Goodbye, I will miss you!"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

First 5 years ok, down hill from there

By on Thursday, January 3, 2008

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
6/10

"first year, all four window motors went bad one by one, at least under warranty. a couple years after that the 6-disc in dash cd-changer died for no apparent reason, and judging by the number of dead clarion in dash cd changers from nissans on ebay must be a common thing. At just before the 140,000 miles, the struts and air conditioner had to be replaced. Overall i guess it averages out ok, no major repairs before then so maybe just get rid of when you hit 125,000 or so and you'll be ok :)"

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great Car

By on Tuesday, July 10, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned this car since it was new and it has been great. I've changed the oil regularly and it has been completely trouble free with no visits to the shop for repairs in six years."

3 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 ... 40 41 42 ... 99 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Nissan Altima near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.