To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2003 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.9
Out of 10

Based on 952 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    9.0/10
    Quality
    9.0/10
  • Reliability
    9.2/10
    Performance
    9.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.8/10
    Styling
    9.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 191 | Next

Reliable

By on Friday, February 15, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my V6 5-speed 00' GT in a dark red color for around $5k with hail damaged over a year ago. Since I haven't had any trouble with it. It had 60k miles when i purchased it, now its around 85k. Engine: The V6 is reliable and mine gets around 29mpg on long trips, 20-24mpg in town. If you are considering an engine, definetely get the V6, the 4-cylinder is completely under powered. I have heard from gear-heads that the pistons aren't built well in the V6. Transmission: My 5-speed seems to grind especially when cold. Shortly after purchasing it I had the tranny fluid changed and the mechanic notiched lots of metal flakes during the flush. After reading several other internet reviews, this is fairly common for the 5-speed when shifting. If you are considering on purchasing an Eclipse with the Sport-tronic do a little research and you'll find that this transmission is very troublesome so kindly point yourself towards the 5-speed, you won't regret it. Do some more research and you'll find that manual transmissions are much more sought-after in a sports car meaning that it will hold a better resale value. Interior: My interior is cloth and I love the black color. The center console is perfect, there is a 12v DC outlet in the center console and a hole for the wire to run out. My phone charger plugs in nicely and the wire hangs out near the seat for me to reach down and plug in my phone while driving. A second 12v outlet is available in plain view near the cigarrette astray. The only complaint about the center console is the drink holder is in your shifting radius. My dash has a crack in it (again, another common problem with these cars), the crack is barely noticeable, I thought it was a seam in the plastic. The rear hatch cover is my other complaint, it feels cheap and flimsy, so i just removed it. If you plan on carrying 4 adults comfortably this car does not, this is practically a 2-person car. I have sat friends in the back who are around 6' tall and they made friends with the hatch window and the back of thier coconut. One more noticeable defect in the interior is the trunk pop, the spring is undersized and you'll find yourself manually unlocking the trunk to open it. Overall, the interior has a sporty feel but may not remain soft and fluffy over every bump. My sunroof stopped operating last fall, but it only opens 2" so its not a big deal. The Stereo: The stock stereo has a very annoying security feature. When the stereo loses power you will have to enter a code to re-activate it. If you do not have that code you will be bringing it into the dealer and paying a fee. If you don't feel like paying that fee: Pull off the plastic cover on the stereo console (2 screws), have a pen and paper handy and write down the serial number on the side of the stereo deck. Call, or go to the dealer and ask them for the number, by giving them the serial number it generates the code with a piece of software the Mitsubishi dealer only has. Most dealers will not give you that code over the phone so you may want to go in face-to-face and ask. Anyhow, the moral of the story is to replace the stock stereo. Remember that this stereo is a double din (some retail outlets claim its a 1 1/2 din size). I personally found a nice double din DVD/Navigational system, and the stock 7-piece Infinity speaker system can handle around 300 watts just fine. The suspension: The suspension feels tight meaning you can feel every bump but have good control over the car. There are several upgrades if your not comfortable with the feel of the suspension. Stock shocks and struts are McPherson I believe. The steering radius is fairly wide. The wheels: I personally like the 17" alloy wheels with low-profile tires. I have heard complaints of the rims breaking but I have hit giant Minnesota pot holes and have not damaged anything. Have the oxidation cleaned off of your rims before the new tires are put on or you may have a tire leak like I did. Watch over your tire pressure during cold winters because the rim material seems to "flex" and let air loose. Overall: Get the V6 5-speed or you will regret it. This car IS NOT a powerhouse, that is more of an exageration because of the look and feel. I owned a Mustang 5.0 while owning this car and I have stepped out of this car and immediately stepped into my Mustang 5.0 and the Mustang felt much much faster. This car does definetely have some potential with future aftermarket releases (like a turbo, which is available now). A set of headers will break the bank ($1200+). If you are looking for a sporty winter driver car (like i was), and looking forward to driving your hot rod in the summer, this is a great winter sports car."

14 people out of 14 found this review helpful

Very good car's

By on Friday, June 12, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"These car's have a good review, read them... i, think KBB need's to go up on value on these car's. these are good car's...."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Best Choice for Starter Vehicle

By on Tuesday, May 25, 2010

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
8/10

"I bought my 2002 eclipse new for college graduation, drove it a few years in the Atlanta heat, and 6 years in the Chicago snow. I'm terrible at keeping up with anything more than an oil change. Up until this year, I had never replaced anything other than some tires or a battery. At 85k I replaced an engine coil, got a tune up, new belt, water pump and that's only because the car seemed to ride a little rough and after 8 years of doing nothing I was scared of it breaking down. So about $1000 in repairs over 8 years, I really can't complain. And people, its not built for comfort, its built to make you look good, its sporty not a minivan."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

Great car, GT is so much better than the old 4-cyl

By on Saturday, June 13, 2009

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"The one you want is the 5-speed GT with the 3 liter V6. Tons of power...mine has 166k miles and the engine pulls as hard and runs as smooth as the day I bought it. I drive it really hard and have never had to do ANYTHING on it except brakes and clutch."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

250,000 miles and still going strong

By on Sunday, September 1, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 250,030

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I reached the 250,000 mile mark on my 2003 Mitsu Eclipse Spyder today. The car still rides excellent. Regular maintenance is the key to the car's life span. I plan on keeping this car until the doors come off."

7 people out of 7 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 191 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mitsubishi Eclipse near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.