To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

1998 Mitsubishi Eclipse

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.0
Out of 10

Based on 392 Ratings for the 1995 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.3/10
  • Reliability
    8.3/10
    Performance
    8.6/10
  • Comfort
    8.1/10
    Styling
    8.8/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next

fun cheap car

By on Thursday, November 17, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 145,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
6/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
5/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "good looking, head turner"

Cons: "bad gas mileage for it being a 4 cylinder engine"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"this car does have its problems but if you have the money to restore it, it can be a great car to have!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

ONE VERY HAPPY OWNER!

By on Friday, February 1, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

"I love my 99 GSX Eclipse! A breeze to drive. Handles like it's on rails! And it looks fantastic... I love the "whale tail" spoiler in the back. I'm always getting stopped at lights to be asked what kind of car it is, what year and whether or not I like it. I respond that it is a blast to drive and that I love it. The back seat is for insurance purposes only to lower premiums. My dogs sit back there when we travel. But the hatchback is very functional and I've been able to haul furniture and LOTS of groceries in it. The car handles like a dream. Smooth ride, comfortable interior with controls in easy reach. Love the moon-roof and never have the inside cover on. I like the light and airy feeling of the open roof on sunny warm days or just the glass window in rainy or cold weather. I also love my all-wheel drive! The car responds quickly, is extremely stable, and handles well even on snowy roads that keep other drivers at home. I also love the way the car performs on cruise control for highway driving with minimal traffic. I just sit back and relax and enjoy the scenery going by. Almost like having autopilot! Maintenance has been normal with very few repairs needed. With over 100K miles on my car now, I had the seals replaced earlier this year but otherwise, nothing major needed for the life of the car. I still get 21-25 MPG in city and about 30 MPG on highway. I've taken good care of my little car since I originally bought it in 1999. I plan to keep my Eclipse until it gives up on me. I am truly a VERY HAPPY owner!"

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

i love my eclipse and it rocks.

By on Wednesday, December 14, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 114,124

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
6/10
Comfort
5/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"these cars have so much potential and i wouldnt give mine up for anything.... this is the second one i have owned and i would own a dozen more if i had the chance too.."

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

DSM Legacy

By on Tuesday, October 25, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 102,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"It's an awesome car. Once you put I put my FP Green in my dsm it just blew my friend's couped up 370 off the road. 10.89@128 1/4 :)"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Great First Car

By on Monday, November 1, 2010

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I got this car when I was 17 and have had it for over 7 years now. This car will last long as long as you give it gas and oil. It is so fun and easy to drive, i couldnt have asked for a better first car. This is also my favorite body style of the eclipse. It is a very sharp and sporty looking car. Now im older and looking for something newer and bigger but I would definitley recomend this car to a new driver!"

2 people out of 2 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 79 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mitsubishi Eclipse near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.