To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2001 Mercury Sable

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
8.2
Out of 10

Based on 277 Ratings for the 2000 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.4/10
    Quality
    8.4/10
  • Reliability
    8.7/10
    Performance
    8.5/10
  • Comfort
    8.7/10
    Styling
    8.3/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next

Great car

By on Friday, July 17, 2009

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

"Ihad read that the Sable had a great safety record-today I found out the was true! Iwas t-boned on the drivers side. The other cars front end was totally smashed and although I had some damage, it was minimum in comparison. I was not injured nor were my two grand kids in the back seat!"

28 people out of 28 found this review helpful

In over 30 years driving, this is the best car.

By on Monday, January 13, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 160,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "drives like a Lincoln, love it."

Cons: "I cannot think of anything I would change."

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"bought car because I wanted one of the last Salbles with this body. I have done very little to keep it on the road. Oil Changes, battery, tires, alignment, and rotors being turned, that is all I have done. Replaced wheel bearings at 163k miles (big surprise), but other than that, this car has been amazing to me. Won't use any oil, and never fails to get me where I need to be."

12 people out of 12 found this review helpful

I really love my car, but I now travel for nursing

By on Saturday, September 22, 2012

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 59,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

Pros: "Excellent in any weather!"

Cons: "22 mi to a gallon"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I need better milage, more economic"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

Good value to purchase

By on Thursday, July 2, 2009

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
5/10
Comfort
5/10

"Overall i give it C plus (77%). I like the spacious trunk and access, daytime running lights, interior dash, performance in takeoff and freeway, A/C is Wow cold!, great cruise vehicle at 2,000 r.p.m. Michigan Roads nothing but potholes and Mercury sable handles great. Got Kids? This vehicle have all safety features of safety in belts, clips, and door locks, windows. plus 5 star crash test. Now the Dislike: I traded my 2006 f-150 supercrew for sable for fuel efficiency: I'm getting 15.5 m.p.g. on sable and I drive SLOW with cruise control (My truck 11 m.p.g) At 68,000 miles at cold start- it takes 3 seconds to crank engine at 70 degree's, it hesitates and runs (Cleaned Idle Air Control) fixed problem. I Hate, oh I Hate rear vehicle suspension sags down without weight, with weight looks awful , Value of vehicle depreciates five times lower than Honda accord, I'm 6'2 and leg room not so great, i have leg cramps and back pain if i sat over 10 minutes. Climate Control and Radio is one piece, So if you want to upgrade your radio - not happening. I recommend this vehicle to anyone under 5'10 height. I got mine at great deal for $3,000 four years old (6/1/2009) I should not be complaining. The good news the SOHC Vulcan engines with well maintain last over 200,000 miles Ive read in article, however, the transmission not so great. thanks"

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

perfect for an affordable luxuary car.

By on Tuesday, September 24, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 87,000

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
9/10

Pros: "perfect family, or sporty ride"

Cons: "no indash C.D. player"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"i love this car. i bought it from my grandma a few months ago, and every since I've owned it i stay impressed. This car has the best in class rating for safety. GREAT gas mileage. looks clean and sporty with the sunroof. the 24valve 3.0 liter v6 has all the power you'll ever need. the premium sound system(JLaudio) has an awesome sound, no need for upgrades in this department. the wheels are perfectly sized for excellent stability, and control when bad weather hits or you just wanna show off to your friends. well i really hope that you give this car a shot. you will NOT be disappointed Thankyou"

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 56 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Sable near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.