Go

1999 Mercury Sable

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.9
Out of 10

Based on 324 Ratings for the 1996 - 1999 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    8.3/10
    Quality
    8.2/10
  • Reliability
    8.4/10
    Performance
    8.4/10
  • Comfort
    8.6/10
    Styling
    8.1/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next

Very Reliable

By on Monday, March 10, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
9/10

"Purchased this 2000 Sable LS new in December of 1999 - now have 209,000 miles on it. Very dependable - reliable - nice driving car - changed oil/rotated tires every 5000 miles. Starting to need major repairs (need new front axles, low coolant light in on steady- pleanty of coolant) no complaints hope to have this much success with next car."

11 people out of 11 found this review helpful

solid performer

By on Wednesday, February 27, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
9/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
10/10

""I bought my 1997 sable in 2006, as a second vehicle for my son. . It has started without any problems on these cold mornings and the heater works awesome. It's roomy and comfortable and the ride is smooth. I was surprised at all the technical engineering that went into the car such as struts in the rear gives it a real solid road hugging feal. Inside is very quiet...cant hear the motor purring. Lots of power from the 3.0l v6 even at 2 valves. Very responsive steering. I would definitely buy another sable!""

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Good Cars with bad Trans

By on Sunday, February 8, 2009

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
5/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
9/10

"I have owned two '99 sables. one was perfect through 150,000 till I sold it, and the other had a transmission problem at 115,000 miles. 2nd gear started shifting hard. Headlight lens get dull and work poorly. other than that I like the car."

9 people out of 9 found this review helpful

Long lasting, durable and not expensive to own.

By on Wednesday, March 30, 2011

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"Have owned vehicle for 11 of it's 12 years. Other than standard maintenance ( tires, brakes, and shocks) have not really spent a ton of money on it."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Best Car I've ever owned

By on Monday, October 13, 2008

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I bought my 1996 Sable in 1999 with 25,000 miles on it. I had it for 9 years then the motor failed last week with 230,003 miles. I got more than my money's worth. It serve me for 7 years and my college age son for 2. My largest maintenance was replacing the alternator about 2 yrs ago. Plenty of room. I have a tall family (5'10" +) never felt cramped. Smooth ride. 26mpg avg. Hope newer models are as good."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 65 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Sable near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.