Go

2002 Mercury Mountaineer

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.7
Out of 10

Based on 351 Ratings for the 2001 - 2005 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.9/10
    Quality
    8.0/10
  • Reliability
    8.2/10
    Performance
    8.2/10
  • Comfort
    8.5/10
    Styling
    8.4/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next

Great winter driving vehicle

By on Wednesday, September 17, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 215,500

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
7/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
6/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
7/10
Comfort
7/10

Pros: "Great handling, and MPG's"

Cons: "No heated seats"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 8

Prepping to sell!!!

"AWD works great on this vehicle. Have had no major issues with it. AC and Heat get the job done nicely. Only down side is the leather seats that don't have heated seats. Takes a while for seats to warm up in winter. MPG's are great. Averaging right around 20mpg right now."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Prepping to sell!!!

Great Ride!

By on Tuesday, July 8, 2008

10 9.0
overall rating 9 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
9/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
9/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"I own a 2002 Mercury Mountaineer. I bought it with 12,000 miles on it. It now has 160,000 on it. I average around 17 miles/gallon and drive an hour to work each day. It would be nice if it got better gas mileage, but it's been a great car! I would definitely recommend this SUV. I have heard of people having transmission troubles but it seems like it depends on how you drive it. Mine has had mostly highway miles and it's been an awesome car. Great condition after 160,000 miles."

10 people out of 10 found this review helpful

Not thrilled with the Mountaineer

By on Thursday, April 4, 2013

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 108,000

10 5.0
overall rating 5 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
5/10
Value
3/10
Reliability
3/10
Quality
4/10
Performance
6/10
Styling
2/10
Comfort
2/10

Pros: "Looked great on the inside (when new)"

Cons: "Expensive repairs, too small for the mpg"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 1

"I have owned my Mountaineer for 7 years. The seats have been ridiculously uncomfortable for both my wife and me (5'8 and 6'4). The upholstery is nearly impossible to keep clean (sport cloth). Maintenance issues have been aggravating: numerous wheel bearings going out under 100,000 miles. Now just over 100,000 miles $4,000 in suspension work needed, plus rear differential gone bad for $1,300. Stay away unless the owner can give you proof of these expensive repairs."

8 people out of 8 found this review helpful

A solid SUV

By on Tuesday, November 29, 2011

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 105,000

10 7.0
overall rating 7 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
7/10
Value
8/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

Pros: "Value - good function and luxury for the price"

Cons: "No power port in rear. rear seats hard to flip"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 10

"I like my Mountaineer. I wish I had opted for the 4WD but the traction control and anti-slip are a good trade off for better gas mileage. It's very comfortable and I love the heated seats. I have the Premier version. It's a solid truck and I hope to have it for years to come."

6 people out of 6 found this review helpful

This is the easiest car to drive.

By on Sunday, February 23, 2014

I own this car - My approximate mileage is 96,000

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
8/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

Cons: "poor gas mileage"

Likely to recommend this car? (1-10): 7

"My grandson took his driving test in this car - it is so easy to drive. The turning radius is awesome. It's rather big and the gas mileage isn't too good since it is a V8. Hence, great pick up when entering the freeway. It's a great car."

5 people out of 5 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 71 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Mountaineer near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.