ZIP code
To save a ZIP code, allow your browser to accept cookies.

Enter Your ZIP Code

ZIP Code:
Save
ZIP Code Lookup

Why do we need your ZIP code?

Kelley Blue Book® Values and pricing are based in part on transactions in your area. Your ZIP code also helps us find local deals and highlight other available offers.

Advertisement
Please enter a valid 5-digit ZIP code.
Go

2000 Mercury Cougar

Style:

Consumer Reviews & Ratings

Overall Rating
7.4
Out of 10

Based on 421 Ratings for the 1999 - 2002 models.

Review this car
more rating details
  • Value
    7.8/10
    Quality
    7.7/10
  • Reliability
    7.8/10
    Performance
    8.0/10
  • Comfort
    7.7/10
    Styling
    8.5/10
Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 85 | Next

Cougar

By on Monday, January 7, 2008

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
7/10

"Great Car, only complaint is the trunk doesn't always pop open on the first attempt. Great Engine and fun steering."

4 people out of 4 found this review helpful

Great value

By on Thursday, December 20, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
8/10

"I've had my 2001 Cougar for 4.5 years now. It's the best car for the money I've ever had, even thought it's one of the cheapest. It now has 68000 miles and I haven't had any problems with it. 2.5L V6 lacks some punch, but it's okay. I also like the styling. I don't think I could have bought a better car with the money I paid."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

no complaints

By on Saturday, December 8, 2007

10 10.0
overall rating 10 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
10/10
Value
10/10
Reliability
10/10
Quality
10/10
Performance
10/10
Styling
10/10
Comfort
10/10

"Fun car to drive! The only problem I have had with mine is a wheel bearing started to go out, but it was cheap to fix. I get 30-38 MPG, and the 4 cyl. with 5-speed transmission still provides plenty of power. Nicest car I have ever owned."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Very good vehicle

By on Saturday, December 8, 2007

10 8.0
overall rating 8 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
8/10
Value
9/10
Reliability
9/10
Quality
8/10
Performance
8/10
Styling
9/10
Comfort
8/10

"I have owned my 99 4cyl 5spd for 5 years and it has been great so far. I bought it used with 49500 and it has only 68700 on it now. I have a work van so I don't have to drive it to work. I have not really done anything to car accept front and rear brakes. Besides a pwr window switch sticking sometimes I have not had any problems with the car. The car gets good mpg's and handles the road great. Not really the fastest car from a start but runs great at higher speeds--at least to me. The 4cyl engine runs great and has no problems and I'm really hard on at times. I would recommend this car to anyone who needs some basic yet sporty transportion."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Decent Vehicle

By on Wednesday, December 5, 2007

10 6.0
overall rating 6 of 10rating details

Reviewer Ratings

Overall Rating
6/10
Value
6/10
Reliability
7/10
Quality
7/10
Performance
7/10
Styling
8/10
Comfort
6/10

"I have owned my 2001 Mercury Cougar C2 for the better part of a year and I'm very satisfied. I bought the car in a rush situation (needed a car to get to work and school) and expected a lot less. I just recently went over 100,000 miles and the performance still hasn't ceased to amaze me. The car looks great (get compliments all the time - from friends and even anonymous ladies), runs good (love the power for a 2001 with over 100,000 miles) and doesn't cost much to maintain."

3 people out of 3 found this review helpful

Sort Reviews by: 
Per Page:  5 | 10 | 25
Previous | 1 2 3 ... 85 | Next
Find Deals Near You vehicles for sale matching Mercury Cougar near Honolulu. See local deals
Advertisement
Thanks for Supporting
Kelley Blue Book.
We deliver up-to-date car values, expert reviews and unbiased reporting at no
cost to you. To do this, we display ads from only trusted automotive partners.

To continue on our site, simply turn off your ad blocker and refresh the page.